Dawn and Jessie
Member Since 2014
Hi everyone! First post but lurking a little while. Jessie is my extra sweet kitty. He is 11 years old. Diagnosed end of July. Before I started him on insulin I wanted to change food to only canned. So now all the cats eat fancy feast or friskies. I took him back to the vet 3 weeks after taking away their dry food. He was still high at 500 so we started the insulin. Vet never said anything about home testing so I took it upon myself and went to walmart to get the lantus and picked up a relion confirm meter. First home test was Saturday evening August 23. He was 220 so I gave him the 1u shot. The next morning he would not let me test him so I gave him the 1u shot anyways. Bad decision cause he dropped to 36 by 4pm. Gave him some high carb food and his numbers raised the rest of night. Anyways I stuck with the 1u for the week until friday when I decided he was going to low so I decreased dose to .5. That seemed to work. Here are his numbers since friday.
Friday amps 237 gave .5
+3 85
+5 73
+7 69
+9 109
Pmps 225 gave .5
Saturday amps 293 gave .5
+2 140
+7 85
Pmps 145 so skipped shot
Sunday amps 142 skipped again
Pmps 154 skipped again
Monday amps 83 skipped shot
Pmps 128 skipped again
Today (Tuesday) amps 75 skipped again
3 pm test 85
He hasn't had insulin since Saturday morning since his numbers were good. Im very confused. Can he go into remission in a week?? Thanks for any info you can offer
Dawn and Jessie
Friday amps 237 gave .5
+3 85
+5 73
+7 69
+9 109
Pmps 225 gave .5
Saturday amps 293 gave .5
+2 140
+7 85
Pmps 145 so skipped shot
Sunday amps 142 skipped again
Pmps 154 skipped again
Monday amps 83 skipped shot
Pmps 128 skipped again
Today (Tuesday) amps 75 skipped again
3 pm test 85
He hasn't had insulin since Saturday morning since his numbers were good. Im very confused. Can he go into remission in a week?? Thanks for any info you can offer
Dawn and Jessie