New and trying to interpret BSL numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
New to feline diabetes: Ripley is on day 3 of treatment (Lantus, 2U twice a day) and I've seen a significant drop in her BSL. I tested for her first nadir today: 60; tonight's preshot level was 112, so I fed her, and retested an hour later (199). So I decreased her dose to 1.5U.

I plan on doing a mini curve tomorrow, and my vet instructed to do a full curve after a week of beginning treatment. I know it'll get easier to interpret her numbers, plus I'm sure I'll feel more confident soon; but this is still overwhelming nonetheless, especially when it comes to knowing when to adjust her dose.

I guess I don't have a specific question -- I just don't want to make any mistakes, and I appreciate any feedback.

(I'm currently working on her spreadsheet.)
 
Just wanted to say 'hi'. I'm fairly new to this (1 month in) but I know that the prefered route is to start slow, ie. a low dose - generally 1u or less twice a day.
For the 1st 2 weeks I just took random tests - just to build up data - as well as the amps and pmps of course.

Read everything you can on the stickies - particularly what to do in case of a hypo. After only 3 days of Lantus, she won't have built up the 'depot' (cumulative insulin in the blood) yet and so the numbers may keep getting lower.

If you don't get any of the more experienced users responding, post on the Lantus Tight Regulation board and ask for dose advice.

Welcome!

Denise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top