Josie & Ripley (GA)
Member Since 2012
New to feline diabetes: Ripley is on day 3 of treatment (Lantus, 2U twice a day) and I've seen a significant drop in her BSL. I tested for her first nadir today: 60; tonight's preshot level was 112, so I fed her, and retested an hour later (199). So I decreased her dose to 1.5U.
I plan on doing a mini curve tomorrow, and my vet instructed to do a full curve after a week of beginning treatment. I know it'll get easier to interpret her numbers, plus I'm sure I'll feel more confident soon; but this is still overwhelming nonetheless, especially when it comes to knowing when to adjust her dose.
I guess I don't have a specific question -- I just don't want to make any mistakes, and I appreciate any feedback.
(I'm currently working on her spreadsheet.)
I plan on doing a mini curve tomorrow, and my vet instructed to do a full curve after a week of beginning treatment. I know it'll get easier to interpret her numbers, plus I'm sure I'll feel more confident soon; but this is still overwhelming nonetheless, especially when it comes to knowing when to adjust her dose.
I guess I don't have a specific question -- I just don't want to make any mistakes, and I appreciate any feedback.
(I'm currently working on her spreadsheet.)