New and trying to figure things out

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Smokey & Sissy

Member Since 2020
Good evening all,

I learned yesterday that Smokey is diabetic. His reading in the vets office was 445, which I know is partly vet stress, but regardless, too high. My vet was very good about going over everything with me before I left on home monitoring BG and giving shots. I was in shock, so a lot of it was like a ball bouncing off a wall, it didn't stick. Thanks be to God my sister-in-love's mother had a diabetic cat and guided me to this message board and page. I've read a lot today, and I have seen references to a conversion for using a human glucose monitor (ReliOn Prime), as the vet provided (and I bought) the AlphaTrak monitor. At $1.00 a strip, and me using 2 and 3 strips at times, that's not going to be an economical option. (Although I'm sure I will get better.) Would someone kindly direct me to the aforementioned conversion??

Also, my vet prescribed 3 units of ProZinc after meals. Last night after Smokey ate, his reading was 292. This morning, it was 342. I gave him 1 unit last night and 2 units this morning. My vet did not want me to start the curve until next Sunday. So, this week, I'm winging it because I am SCARED TOO DEATH of giving him too much insulin and him going too low. Any and all advice is appreciated and welcome.

TIA - DD
 
Hello and welcome

Hi Smokey, you will have many friends here


There is no conversion between the Alphatrak and our ordinary human meters.
We only have this showing the blood glucose spectra which is good to learn for you too http://www.felinediabetes.com/bg-convert.htm
On your Alphatrak it is hypo if under 70.

Ok, so, just to clarify, if AlphaTrak reads 100 then the human meter will read 100? (I think that's what I'm understanding.) Thank you so much for the quick response!!
 
There is no conversion chart or article or document that lists the difference between a pet specific meter like the Alphatrak and a human meter like the Relion Prime. You simply pick one meter to use, I suggest you pick the meter with the lower cost of test strips, and that would be the Relion Prime.

Then you tell your vet, you are using a meter you can afford, and he/she will have to get used to that fact.

The link that Ann pointed you to, is to convert measurements from metric to the US readings and vice versa.
The US uses mg/dL for measuring blood glucose. Canada and much of Europe uses mmol/L. Multiple the mmol number by 18 to get the US mg/dL number.

Ok, so, just to clarify, if AlphaTrak reads 100 then the human meter will read 100? (I think that's what I'm understanding.)
No, that's not how it works. There is little relationship between a pet meter and a human meter. 100 on 1 type will NOT be 100 on the other type.

Pet meters read higher, at higher numbers than a human meter would read. Pet meters read closer to human meters at lower numbers. They will never be the same. They give you a "range" to be concerned about, to help interpret what the insulin is doing for your cat.

Too high is too high, no matter what type of meter you use. Too low is too low, no matter what type of meter you use. You adjust the insulin per a protocol, and over time those BG levels should get better.
 
Last edited:
I think starting with 3 units of insulin is too much
I would start with 1 unit in the morning and 1 unit at night, at least until you know what the insulin is doing to the blood sugars.
I don't agree with what your vet said about not starting a curve until next Sunday.....does that also include not testing at all now?

You need to be testing before EVERY SHOT to make sure it is safe to give the insulin. Then you need to be testing during the cycle to see how low the dose is taking Smokey. This is the only way you will know if you have the correct dose...or too much...or too little.

Also are you feeding at other times of the day apart from before the insulin dose?

I would use a human meter. The Alphatrak is expensive to run.

Here is a useful link for new members
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Keep asking lots of questions:)
 
I think starting with 3 units of insulin is too much
I would start with 1 unit in the morning and 1 unit at night, at least until you know what the insulin is doing to the blood sugars.
I don't agree with what your vet said about not starting a curve until next Sunday.....does that also include not testing at all now?

You need to be testing before EVERY SHOT to make sure it is safe to give the insulin. Then you need to be testing during the cycle to see how low the dose is taking Smokey. This is the only way you will know if you have the correct dose...or too much...or too little.

Also are you feeding at other times of the day apart from before the insulin dose?

I would use a human meter. The Alphatrak is expensive to run.

Here is a useful link for new members
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Keep asking lots of questions:)
I have spoken to my go-to person (that turned me on to this site) and I haven't given him 3 units yet. I gave 1u last night (he was at 292), 2u this morning (he was at 342), and 1 unit tonight (he was at 217). I've given him kibble this morning (because that's all I had) and made a Walmart run for some FF classic. Gave him a can when I got home and he ate almost all of it. Gave him another can tonight and he ate 2/3 of it. He ate maybe 2-3 pieces this evening? He was much less interested and I'm glad honestly. His numbers being considerably lower make me feel better tonight. Because last night was rough for this kitty momma.
There is no conversion chart or article or document that lists the difference between a pet specific meter like the Alphatrak and a human meter like the Relion Prime. You simply pick one meter to use, I suggest you pick the meter with the lower cost of test strips, and that would be the Relion Prime.

Then you tell your vet, you are using a meter you can afford, and he/she will have to get used to that fact.

The link that Ann pointed you to, is to convert measurements from metric to the US readings and vice versa.
The US uses mg/dL for measuring blood glucose. Canada and much of Europe uses mmol/L. Multiple the mmol number by 18 to get the US mg/dL number.


No, that's not how it works. There is little relationship between a pet meter and a human meter. 100 on 1 type will NOT be 100 on the other type.

Pet meters read higher, at higher numbers than a human meter would read. Pet meters read closer to human meters at lower numbers. They will never be the same. They give you a "range" to be concerned about, to help interpret what the insulin is doing for your cat.

Too high is too high, no matter what type of meter you use. Too low is too low, no matter what type of meter you use. You adjust the insulin per a protocol, and over time those BG levels should get better.
Thank you so much for the clarification. I'm all for using 1) what's cheaper, & 2) what's more easily accessed. (Like if I run low/out at an inopportune time) The ReliOn will be my meter of choice.
 
The low carb FF cans will lower the blood sugars because the dry food is much higher carbs so be aware of that as you swap over the food. The insulin dose needs adjusting down as you transfer over to the low carb.
It is best to be testing as you do that so you know where you are with the BG levels.
Definitely doing the testing. And I think I failed to mention earlier, my vet wanted to wait a week to see how he responds to the changes...e.g. testing, food, & insulin. If it is best to do the curve sooner, rather than later, I am definitely not opposed.
 
If you are testing before every shot and at least once during the cycles that is enough. Don't forget the pm cycle too ....cats often drop lower at night so getting a before bed test is very important. If that test is lower than the preshot than the cycle will most likely be active andyou may need to set the alarm to test later to see the BG hadn't dropped too low.

If you set up a Spreadsheet and enter the BGs that is very helpful.
Instruction here
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
 
W
If you are testing before every shot and at least once during the cycles that is enough. Don't forget the pm cycle too ....cats often drop lower at night so getting a before bed test is very important. If that test is lower than the preshot than the cycle will most likely be active andyou may need to set the alarm to test later to see the BG hadn't dropped too low.

If you set up a Spreadsheet and enter the BGs that is very helpful.
Instruction here
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
Will work on that tomorrow!! Thank you!!
 
Looking forward to seeing the spreadsheet when you get it set up. There is a great template that you copy so you do not have to "reinvent the wheel" so to speak.

To reply to a post, you do not have to click on the "Reply" button at the end of the post. You may simply start typing in the text box at the end of the thread.

Sending you some big hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Diabetes is a very manageable and treatable disease. There is a lot to learn, but you have found a great group of people that will help you. Our common thread is that we have all had diabetic cats, and have learned so much from this group. We are "paying it forward" and helping the next group of people as they learn to help their diabetic cat.

My best advice? Do something for you. Do something for a few minutes to help relieve the stress. Do some deep breathing exercises or some yoga or take a walk outside. Me, I'm looking at a little brown bat, napping the day away underneath one of my porch screens, between the screen and the fascia, tucked away safe for the day.

Go tuck yourself away for a few minutes, to refresh yourself and rejuvenate your spirits and your soul.
 
Welcome to FDMB!

It sounds like your SIL's mom is a wonderful resource and please thank her for us for sending you here! You may want to take a look at the dosing information on the Prozinc board. It's fine to post on this board, especially since you're still getting oriented. There's information about Prozinc and it's use in the sticky notes at the top of the board that you may find helpful.
 
I am not sure what my SIL's mom's handle is, but her name is Laura and she had a sugar cat named Oreo. She has been a Godsend. Truly. I got the spreadsheet set up this am and it is now attached to the signature. This is going to be a challenge for me as my job requires extensive travel. (Well, not right now with COVID wreaking havoc, but in 'normal' circumstances I am gone M-Th each week.) On the advise of my MIL (I've claimed her for a long time) I am going to talk to one of the vet techs to see if they could come to my home (for a fee ;)) to test, monitor and feed Smokey.
 
Ok, let's see what the PMPS gives you for an evening pre-shot.
We usually don't recommend that new people shoot if the BG is <200.
As you gain experience and know how your cat does on insulin, and how low the dose takes Smokey Joe, that threshold number can be lowered.

For the Prozinc ISG, that threshold number is 150.
You might want to print out and study the Sticky PROZINC DOSING METHODS
 
I definitely would not shoot him if it was still at 140-150. As you can see from his spreadsheet, I have only shot when it was 200s and 300s. That's where the MIL helped tremendously. I did shoot him with 1 u when he was at 217, and I asked if she thought I should. She did, so I did. My biggest fear is shooting him and him going too low.
 
My biggest fear is shooting him and him going too low.
That's why you home test, to catch those lows. 3 days of home testing, with only the pre-shots and 1 mid-cycle test is not enough information to know how low the insulin takes Smokey Joe.

A "before bed" test in the PMPS cycle, can be really helpful. Many cats drop lower at night, then bounce back up in the morning to high numbers, because they have dropped lower than their bodies are used to.

As you gather more test data, you can definitely lower that pre-shot decision threshold to 150.
There is also the technique of stalling, giving a token dose, or skipping the shot entirely.
Read the Prozinc dosing protocols to learn more about those techniques, and a whole lot more.
Sticky PROZINC DOSING METHODS
 
I have read the dosing protocols, and I'll be honest, I've read so much this weekend, it's like my brain has gone on lockdown and is refusing to absorb any more. And I so appreciate the "go do something for yourself", unfortunately, because of COVID, that didn't happen. We are on stay at home orders and, with that, and the diabetes diagnosis on Friday evening, I'm spent. Hopefully, tonight will bring rest.
 
Decided to do our first curve today. I am thrilled with the results (see his spreadsheet), but left wondering why today, of all days, is it staying in these "acceptable" ranges. Some things I did differently, changed up our testing "position". First one this morning performed how I've been doing it, hold him down, prick, test, release. The rest I left him where he was and used my fingernail to either scratch off the scab (a couple of times), & pricked the others. Would testing stress make the numbers elevated? (And I washed my hands before and after the tests...washing them raw as it is!!). Thanks in advance for guidance or just suggestions. ❤️ Oh!! And how often should a curve be performed?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top