Jade_Leah
Member Since 2024
My 12 year old cat was diagnosed with diabetes about a year ago. We had her on Bexacat for 9 months but it caused her to have chronic diarrhea and eventually stopped regulating her blood glucose. About a month and a half ago we made the switch the insulin and bumped up the dose by a unit weekly until we were at 6 units but she still wasn't regulated. Last week I asked for a dull blood panel (the last having been done in August when she suddenly was peeing on my bed and couch and ended up having a UTI) and when the results came back last Friday it showed quite elevated kidney values. I was horrified and she ended up in the emergency hospital for 3 days for testing an IV fluids amongst other things. They were able to bring her kidney levels down, but she then plateaued, which told us this would be a chronic kidney issue. Her pancreas also looked off (despite never having symptoms of pancreatitus). All of this led us to guess that those issues were causing her body to resist the insulin. While on the IV fluids her insulin worked for the first time ever, even to the point that she became hypoglycemic after one dose, so they took it down to 3 units from 6. Since coming home her blood glucose has been high again, which led me to asking her regular vet for a another blood panel and he also bumped her insulin back up to 4 units. I was petrified that her values had skyrocketed, leading to the insulin not working again, but while a bit more elevated since the last test, they are were not dire. I saw an internal medicine specialist who works for the hospital she was in on Monday. Her kidney values were actually a tiny bit better than what I'd seen the previous week. After the hospital stay I was sent home with 2x 2 ml daily aluminum hydroxide that she despises as well as some "take as needed" pain and nausea drugs. The specialist changed this to 2x 1ml daily and I got it componded into a chicken flavor. There has only been one day since she came home from the hospital that her BG has been decent and it is honestly getting worse as time goes on, even as we increase the dose of insulin. The specialist had me do an at home glucose curve and based on those results he had me up the dose to 4.5 units. It hasn't helped and as of this morning her BG was at 602. Her regular vet suggested another at home curve today, and which I am going to do, and an increase to 5 units, but the high number is terrifying me. She is still eating and drinking and being pretty normal for an older kitty with the issues she has. What is the protocol for BG this high? I had initially posted on Reddit asking for help in juggling diabetes and kidney disease and they suggested this forum. I'm sorry if this isn't a 911 situation, but the 600 reading are horrifying me.

