New and Learning

Status
Not open for further replies.

4_Fritz

Member Since 2021
Hi there!
my Cat fritz was diagnosed with FD on Monday (Aug23), That day his BG was 27, and the vet said it should be more around the 5-6 range. So he gave him a shot of insulin, handed me a can of cat food and a booklet explaining FD and sent me home asking me to come back the next day so they could go over everything with me.

Tuesday I went back, they took blood to do a complete everything else was good. All his numbers were fine, just the high BG. So they showed me how to give the insulin. they were very helpful, explained the needle and measurements, gave me a test needle and some saline solution so I could draw it up and practice a few times on a pillow they had there. Went over the food, and said this next week is about getting him regulated, to give him 2 units of the Lantus with his meal every 12 hours and suggested leaving out the dry for about the 6 hour mark. Then made me an appointment to come back this up coming Wednesday(Sept 1) to check his BG.
They also gave me a bag of saline and needles for practice purposes when I have to show my partner or if someone has to watch him while we are away.

So far everything is going ok I guess, he takes a needle no problem, sits very well and barely acknowledges it. he still seems VERY hungry, inhales his wet food and seems to want more. I leave the dry out (vet told me to do so) but he must not be a big fan of it cause he'll only graze on it hours later after staring at me for a long period of time realizing I wont budge and give him more wet. And when he does eat the dry its a very small amount.

All of this is very overwhelming, I looked through a couple of the intro forums just to get a feel of this page etc. the charts and BG numbers and lingo is alot to take in. But I think since its all so new I'm still processing the news and the changes. So please be patient with me.

I'd like to get a BG meter to test his blood but I am just concerned about the # of times of day I am seeing some people take the reading. The vet told me they would show me how, but this 1st week they just wanted me to focus on the insulin and new diet. When I left the vet I was thinking to myself how would I know if the amount of insulin is right if his whole diet is changed over night. Prior to the FD diagnosis I've always had a pretty good routine feeding him wet food at 430pm & 430am ( I used a time release pet feeder). Giving him a handful of dry twice a day to graze on. When I told the vet I feed him Fancy feast, and have for almost his whole life, they told me it was too rich... but now I am seeing that fancy feast pate is what lots of people feed their diabetic cat. So I am kinda confused. I've stuck to the seafood flavors though, maybe those arent the right pate ones?

I already feel so bad for him having to take him back and forth to the vet, he's had accidents both times, so then I have to bath him too which he doesn't love but is actually pretty patient. So I know I am gonna feel absolute horrible pricking him multiple times a day on top of giving him his needle.
I know all this takes time to adjust and to work, but he's just not himself the last couple weeks and its so heart breaking. I just want to make sure he's ok. I thought after a few days he'd start to come back but he still seems off. He's lethargic, pretty much just gets up to eat or use the litter. Drinking quite a bit of water, however he's always drank a decent amount. Won't drink out of bowl so I keep 2 glasses of fresh water out, he prefers the one on the window sill( there's a chair he climbs to get up there). But his back legs have been pretty weak so he has to pause a bit for each jump. He's also still has his bathroom routine which is 2 pees and 1 poop. but the volume of the pee is quite a bit more.

But yeah, I'm confused about the food. I just want to make sure he's eating the right stuff. Cause to me the vet stuff has carbs and ingredients like wheat gluten, soy and corn. and he wasn't getting that in his wet before. And then the BG monitors, from what I can see people used human ones and just convert?

Sorry I know that was super long winded and very all over the place.
 
Welcome to FDMB! This is possibly the best place you never wanted to be.

First, you're not being long winded or all over the place. Pretty much everyone who lands here is so relieved that this place exists that all of the information just tumbles out.

Meters and home testing: Ignore your vet and go out and get a meter. The sooner. you get comfortable with home testing the safer it is for Fritz. Knowing how your cat is responding to insulin is key to getting your cat regulated and keeping him safe. I'm guessing you're in Canada. There aren't as many inexpensive strips that are available -- Walmart, here in the US has a meter with inexpensive strips. I'm tagging one of our Moderators who's from BC -- @Wendy&Neko . We have lots of information on home testing, along with videos. (Just click on the bolded text for the link.) This information on meters may be a bit dated, but there is a link for information for Canadians. I know some of the drug stores do offer specials -- Wendy will know.

The minimum amount of tests you need to take is four -- a test before each shot and at least one test during the AM and PM cycles. In the last year or so, there have been glue on sensors that allow people to get as many tests as they want. It's likely that's why you're seeing some spreadsheets with lots of test data. I've been around here a long time and I was a testaholic. I also had a cat who's response to insulin was challenging. You test as much as you need or want to but 4 tests per day is the minimum.

Food: It sounds like the vet may have suggested a prescription diabetic food. Alternatively, some vets have their favorite foods. You are correct, though. You want your diabetic cat on a low carbohydrate diet. We consider low carb (LC) to be less than 10% carb although most people feed their cat in the 5% range. Fancy Feast pate style food falls in that category. (We don't encourage a diet solely of fish though given that it can have a lot of mercury). This is a link to a website on feline nutrition. On that page is a chart that contains a listing of canned cat foods and their nutritional information -- including the amount of carbs. (The carb values are not on the cans or most of the manufacturers' websites.) I would not make any changes in food until you're able to test.

Lantus: We are more conservative with regard to a starting dose of insulin. We generally start cats on 1.0u at each shot time. Because you're feeding what seems to be a higher carb food, the insulin may not be making a dent. In addition, Lantus is a depot insulin. It takes roughly a week for the insulin depot to stabilize and for Lantus to start working. We have an insulin support group devoted to Lantus. You may want to take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the page to get more information on the insulin you're using.

Getting started: If it's not abundantly clear, we have links for everything. There's one link for helping us to help you.There are instructions for setting up your signature (so we don't keep asking you the same questions over and over again) and Fritz's spreadsheet. The spreadsheet (SS) is how you can track his progress and how we can follow along and offer input. The post also has information on hypoglycemia and an assortment of instructions you'll likely find useful.

Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge and are happy to help.
 
Last edited:
Welcome Fritz is adorable
I am not fbravo-meter
but we have many members here from Canada
I did a search on our site and found this human meter
https://diabetesexpress.ca/products/bravo-meter

Most of us use human meter because the Alpha Trak Strips are too expensive
Just tell your vet you can't afford them
Our numbers are based on human meters In Canada the Freestyle Lite is a popular model, the company that originally made the AT also made it. So similar small blood drop needed. Bonus, the Freestyle is a lot cheaper! And available in most store pharmacies. Some people in the east buy at Shoppers Drug Mart and use the points. ,
Let me look for others
https://diabetesexpress.ca/products/bravo-meter
 
Last edited:
Also found this posted by a member


The cheapest option I know of in Canada is the Bravo meter, but it's only available online so you have to make sure you order strips early enough that you get them before you run out. It's a human meter, not a pet meter, but all our dosing methods were developed with human meters so we're very comfortable using them.


Also found this a member posted
In Canada most pharmacies will give a free meter when buying the test strips. I am in Winnipeg and the best price I can get for human meter strips ( they all seem to be around the same price) is Shopper's Drug Mart when using the senior's discount..every Thursday here...with 20% off regular price. Free Style Lite strips cost me $71 and every 5 weeks or so you can also get a bonus $10 Shopper's card, which brings the cost down to $61/100.


Found this also posted by another member

As for meters that are available in local stores, I believe Freestyle Lite strips are the cheapest available in Canada. There is a coupon on the website for a free meter.https://myfreestyle.ca/en/products/lite ...Just fudge the info as if Fritz is a human! :cat:
 
Sounds like Fritz might have neuropathy
This is what most of us use, One you get him better regulated his back legs should improve, you can start the methyl B-12 now
Just open up the capsule and put it in his wet food , always add water to his wet food
Plus it's tasteless
https://www.vitacost.com



14.49 for 100 capsules , give 1 a day
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6
Once you get her better regulated the Methyl B-12 will help
I saw a big improvement in about 2 months
Tyler is back to jumping on things and back to normal
 
Last edited:
Waving to you in The Peg from the middle of Ontario.

You've received a lot of information. Feline diabetes is a steep learning curve but becomes second nature quite quickly. And there are people around the world here who have done the research and live or have lived feline diabetes 24/7. We can help you every step.

I'm tagging @Wendy&Neko regarding the neuropathy. She used the New Roots brand of methylcobalamin which is available in Canada. The stuff you find in the drugstores and natural food stores contain sugar. Otherwise, you'll have to pay for shipping from the US.
Vitacost (currently out of stock)
Zobaline
 
For your signsture
Go all the way up top to you name tap on it and a drop box will appear , you will see the word signature, tap that and just add all your information about Chubba and hit save.
If you are still having trouble setting things up we can have someone help you just ask
Take a look at my signature all about Tyler

Add info we need to help you:
  • Caregiver & kitty's name
  • DX: Date
  • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
  • Name of your meter
  • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
  • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
  • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
  • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
  • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
 
he still seems VERY hungry, inhales his wet food and seems to want more. I leave the dry out (vet told me to do so) but he must not be a big fan of it cause he'll only graze on it hours later after staring at me for a long period of time realizing I wont budge and give him more wet. And when he does eat the dry its a very small amount.

Very few cats like or stick with the prescription food. Fancy Feast pates are just fine.
Unregulated diabetic cats cannot process their food properly. Go ahead and feed him some snacks through the cycle – just pick up any food 2 hours before the next shot so that the blood glucose measurement at shot time is not carb influenced. I believe there are extra containers in some of the timer feeders.

The only dry foods in Canada low enough in carbs are Dr Elsey's Clean Protein and Wysong Epigen 90.

Associating a treat with every test – freeze dried treats. The dog ones are the least expensive. You just need to crumble them a bit. They should only have one ingredient – freeze dried meat of one sort or another (no carbs).

Sorry if it seems we are overwhelming you with information.
 
Hi. I just want to welcome you and look forward to helping you on the lantus forum when. You are ready. There’s a lot to learn so be patient with yourself and ask questions.
 
Hello and welcome from the west coast.

Meters - I cheated and cross border shopped for mine. Not something you can do right now due to COVID. However, a couple other options that I've seen people use. There is a GE brand at Walmart that has quite cheap test strips. You go though the test strips, so it's important to find them low cost. Another option lots of Canadians have done is get a meter they like and shop for strips on eBay. If you buy the Bravo online, make sure you have lots of stock at home. The advantage to a meter from a store nearby is getting replacement strips quickly when you need them. Actually, having a back up meter with strips you can get locally is another option. As for meters, look for one with the smaller blood drop requirements will be easier on both of you. The Freestyle is one many people here use for that reason. I think you have London Drugs there? They often have sales for cheaper test strips and will throw in the meter for free.

As for testing, if you have a special treat they only get when testing, you'll find they soon learn to love testing! My Neko purred through it in no time. And if you home test, you greatly reduce the number of times you need to take the cat into the vet. Just send in the spreadsheet instead. At least for the first while. Then once my vet figured out I knew what I was doing and getting good help here, I stopped doing that.

This is the brand of methyl B12 I got, but not for neuropathy. Shipping costs of Zobaline to Canada is huge!
 
Welcome to FDMB! This is possibly the best place you never wanted to be.

First, you're not being long winded or all over the place. Pretty much everyone who lands here is so relieved that this place exists that all of the information just tumbles out.

Meters and home testing: Ignore your vet and go out and get a meter. The sooner. you get comfortable with home testing the safer it is for Fritz. Knowing how your cat is responding to insulin is key to getting your cat regulated and keeping him safe. I'm guessing you're in Canada. There aren't as many inexpensive strips that are available -- Walmart, here in the US has a meter with inexpensive strips. I'm tagging one of our Moderators who's from BC -- @Wendy&Neko . We have lots of information on home testing, along with videos. (Just click on the bolded text for the link.) This information on meters may be a bit dated, but there is a link for information for Canadians. I know some of the drug stores do offer specials -- Wendy will know.

The minimum amount of tests you need to take is four -- a test before each shot and at least one test during the AM and PM cycles. In the last year or so, there have been glue on sensors that allow people to get as many tests as they want. It's likely that's why you're seeing some spreadsheets with lots of test data. I've been around here a long time and I was a testaholic. I also had a cat who's response to insulin was challenging. You test as much as you need or want to but 4 tests per day is the minimum.

Food: It sounds like the vet may have suggested a prescription diabetic food. Alternatively, some vets have their favorite foods. You are correct, though. You want your diabetic cat on a low carbohydrate diet. We consider low carb (LC) to be less than 10% carb although most people feed their cat in the 5% range. Fancy Feast pate style food falls in that category. (We don't encourage a diet solely of fish though given that it can have a lot of mercury). This is a link to a website on feline nutrition. On that page is a chart that contains a listing of canned cat foods and their nutritional information -- including the amount of carbs. (The carb values are not on the cans or most of the manufacturers' websites.) I would not make any changes in food until you're able to test.

Lantus: We are more conservative with regard to a starting dose of insulin. We generally start cats on 1.0u at each shot time. Because you're feeding what seems to be a higher carb food, the insulin may not be making a dent. In addition, Lantus is a depot insulin. It takes roughly a week for the insulin depot to stabilize and for Lantus to start working. We have an insulin support group devoted to Lantus. You may want to take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the page to get more information on the insulin you're using.

Getting started: If it's not abundantly clear, we have links for everything. There's one link for helping us to help you.There are instructions for setting up your signature (so we don't keep asking you the same questions over and over again) and Fritz's spreadsheet. The spreadsheet (SS) is how you can track his progress and how we can follow along and offer input. The post also has information on hypoglycemia and an assortment of instructions you'll likely find useful.

Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge and are happy to help.

Thank you so much! :)
I went out and bought a BG monitor, so I have tested a few time in the last couple days (still need to set up the spread sheet). I followed the links and read/watched everything provided... but I was super nervous doing it so I wasn't very successful at 1st. tried 4 times with no success so I left it. tried the next day. The warm sock of rice I think helps a lot. I grabbed the Freestyle lite which was the 1st suggested to me (from Walmart here in Canada was free with purchase of test strip & Lancets $87.94) also the pharmacy tech was surprisingly knowledgeable about using it on cats and said it gives a very close read, she had worked at a vets office years ago. Also had some info about a raw diet that she knew had given people success in getting their cats into remission on. Said that if the food that the vet recommends is sold by the vet that there is kind of a conflict of interest since they profit off it. Just might not be what is necessarily right for my cat. I def don't want to bash my vet, they have been very kind and are very good with my cat. They took the time to show me how to give the insulin and wanted to be sure I was comfortable... (Mind you I did pay for that service lol). They have called to follow up and see how he is doing so I think they genuinely care.

As for his numbers, last Monday, a week ago (Aug 23) when I took him to the vet they said his BG was 28... and should be about 5-6.
Yesterday morning @9a.m., 2 hours after food & insulin his BG was 16.6.
Yesterday before his supper/dinner & insulin @7pm his BG was 20.4
Today, this morning right before his food and insulin @7am it was 19.6
Those readings are with the freestyle lite

Food, I'll have to grab some other varieties of the pate, the ingredients seem way better then the Diabetic food the vet sold me. but it doesn't have the vitamins the DB food has and I am noticing it has a higher amount of Phosphorus.. something i have never looked at before. Should that be a concern?

I see a few people have suggested the B12, so I will def look into that!

I still need to set up my signature. I did notice how everyone had the little bit of info at the bottom, so I filled out my info but it looks like it was in my bio section so I will correct that.

thank you to everyone that has taken the time to fill me in and welcome me & fritz! :)
Its so helpful and has made me feel less anxious.
 
Last edited:
Your pharmacist is absolutely right on everything she told you. Most here do feed either low carb wet or raw. A lower carb diet will lead to less insulin and some become diet controlled just with the switch. Kudos to you for moving so quickly.
 
For your signsture
Go all the way up top to you name tap on it and a drop box will appear , you will see the word signature, tap that and just add all your information about Chubba and hit save.
If you are still having trouble setting things up we can have someone help you just ask
Take a look at my signature all about Tyler

Add info we need to help you:
  • Caregiver & kitty's name
  • DX: Date
  • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
  • Name of your meter
  • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
  • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
  • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
  • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
  • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.

Hi there!
thank you so much for all the info. I ended up buying the Freestyle lite! And I will def look into buying that suggested b12, esp since its a sprinkle type one. I feel like I am already torturing the poor guy so much already I don't want to have to force feed him a pill too.

I think I did my signature is updated and mostly filled in with what you listed. I don't know some of those acronyms though. TR I am guessing is Tight Reg protocal but I only know that cause of other research I did. lol. what is SLGS, DKA and Acro? I had seen a post when I first joined with all of those listed/explained... but I can't seem to find it again.
 
Don't worry about the meaning of Acro, it is short for acromegaly, a secondary endocrine condition that some cats get and can have an impact on dosing. My girl had it. It's not something I'd consider that Fritz might have at this point.

Great job getting your first tests in! Lantus produces a downward curve shape of blood sugar numbers over the 12 hours, down over the first part, then back up again. We determine how to change the Lantus dose based on how low the dose is taking the cat, so if you could try some random tests in the 4 to 8 hour range after the shot, it'll help us figure out what is happening then.
 
I think I did my signature is updated and mostly filled in with what you listed. I don't know some of those acronyms though. TR I am guessing is Tight Reg protocal but I only know that cause of other research I did. lol. what is SLGS, DKA and Acro? I had seen a post when I first joined with all of those listed/explained... but I can't seem to find it again.


Hi since you are feeding dry food also you have to go with the dosung method which is SLGS ( start low go slow)
Bhooma gave you the link above to read about it in post # 15

I see your spreadsheet has been set up, you now need to get tests in after AMPS and PMPS
I don't see a test for PMPS on 8-30?
You need to test around +4 and then +6. Same goes for the night cycle
We need to see how the insulin is working for Fritz and how low he's dropping
You need to scatter the test at different times
Maybe a +3. then + 5
+4 then + 7
Cats usually drop lower at night
If your +2 or +3 test is lower than your AMPS or PMPS it might be an active cycle so more testing would be needed

What is that 364 BG reading under the BG you did on 8-30?

+2. Means 2 hours after you gave insulin
+3. 3 hours after you gave insulin
And so that on
 
Last edited:
Hi since you are feeding dry food also you have to go with the dosung method which is SLGS ( start low go slow)
Bhooma gave you the link above to read about it in post # 15

I see your spreadsheet has been set up, you now need to get tests in after AMPS and PMPS
I don't see a test for PMPS on 8-30?
You need to test around +4 and then +6. Same goes for the night cycle
We need to see how the insulin is working for Fritz and how low he's dropping
You need to scatter the test at different times
Maybe a +3. then + 5
+4 then + 7
Cats usually drop lower at night
If your +2 or +3 test is lower than your AMPS or PMPS it might be an active cycle so more testing would be needed

What is that 364 BG reading under the BG you did on 8-30?

+2. Means 2 hours after you gave insulin
+3. 3 hours after you gave insulin
And so that on

Yep, the link bhooma gave was exactly what I was looking for, perfect! I'm slowly learning all the lingo etc.

oooooh ok, gotcha! Sorry, I wasn't sure where to put the 6 hour ones, I see what you mean now! I had put the 6 hour ones in the remarks
I have gone in and corrected it, I added his number the day his was diagnosed too. Just so I have it on record.
lol, geez. I was wondering what those +1,+2 etc was in the chart and it prob told me that in the chart info page... I have a bad habit of skimming instruction.
I think I have it fixed and entered properly now.
So yesterday I tested him 3 times.
7am before his breakfast and insulin 19.6
1:20pm roughly 6 hours later 20.2 (the 364 you asked about)
7pm before his dinner which was 20.1

I'd like to take him completely off the dry, the 1st couple days it was about 1\4 cup cause The vet recommended I leave some dry out for the 6 hour mark when his glucose levels would dip..(?) But right now its not that much dry I almost give it to him more like a treat, less than a palmful....which in units I dunno might be a bit more than a tablespoon of dry. Now as I am typing I am realizing its prob best if I actually measure with a cup.

tomorrow will be his 1st full week on the 2 units of insulin every 12 hours. I also have an appointment at the vet so they can check his BG and see how everything is going. Yesterday his BG seemed to stay around the 20 mark. But this morning it was 15.3.. so that was nice to see, we will see what the rest of the day is like. And try to get a PMP at the 4 or +5.
 
I'd like to take him completely off the dry, the 1st couple days it was about 1\4 cup cause The vet recommended I leave some dry out for the 6 hour mark when his glucose levels would dip..(?) But right now its not that much dry I almost give it to him more like a treat, less than a handful.
I am pretty sure as long as Fritz is eating any dry food at all it has to be SLGS
I'll tag Bhooma
@Bandit's Mom to be sure

I can also check with Elise
@tiffmaxee in case Bhooma went to sleep she lives in India
A nice start for today
I thought the same thing you did about why +2 , +3 etc meant
 
Last edited:
Just looked at your spreadsheet the dates aren't there on the US tab
Plus why are there the same BG's there twice
Edit just looked again I see it's fixed

Don't forget to fill in the dose you gave today this morning
 
Just looked at your spreadsheet the dates aren't there on the US tab
Plus why are there the same BG's there twice

I dunno what happened, when I copy and pasted the number on the world one to adjust everything, the US one had errors all over.
I may have mess it up completely! everything is right on the World tab... I tried to correct it but I am not sure how you see it on your end.
 
I dunno what happened, when I copy and pasted the number on the world one to adjust everything, the US one had errors all over.
I may have mess it up completely! everything is right on the World tab... I tried to correct it but I am not sure how you see it on your end.
It looks good now on the US :cat: Don't forget to fill in how many units you gave Fritz this morning 2 units?
One more favor on your signature can you just add SLGS since he is still eating dry food
Good luck at the vets when you go
Fritz has such an precious face :cat:

You might want to re read about the dosing methods when you get a chance :cat:
SLGS is Start Low Go Slow - one of the two dosing protocols we follow here. The other being TR (Tight Regulation)
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
 
@Bandit's Mom
Hi Bhooma how come when you look at the US tab in her SS it just says Ref
What does Jen need to do so we can see the US numbers

I dunno what happened, when I copy and pasted the number on the world one to adjust everything, the US one had errors all over.
I may have mess it up completely! everything is right on the World tab... I tried to correct it but I am not sure how you see it on your end.

The SS looks okay to me now. Looks like you managed to fix it? @Diane Tyler's Mom does it look okay to you?
Jen, did Fritz get insulin between 8/24 and 8/28? Those dates aren't on the SS.
 
I'd like to take him completely off the dry, the 1st couple days it was about 1\4 cup cause The vet recommended I leave some dry out for the 6 hour mark when his glucose levels would dip..(?) But right now its not that much dry I almost give it to him more like a treat, less than a palmful....which in units I dunno might be a bit more than a tablespoon of dry. Now as I am typing I am realizing its prob best if I actually measure with a cup.

tomorrow will be his 1st full week on the 2 units of insulin every 12 hours. I also have an appointment at the vet so they can check his BG and see how everything is going. Yesterday his BG seemed to stay around the 20 mark. But this morning it was 15.3.. so that was nice to see, we will see what the rest of the day is like. And try to get a PMP at the 4 or +5.

If you can get him off the dry, you can follow the Tight Regulation protocol and can increase Fritz's dose faster and get him to better numbers sooner. However, before you make any changes to the dose, I would first see how he does without the dry food - since it high carb, just removal of the food could make a big positive difference to his numbers.

Since you are home testing, you don't really need to take him to the vet for curves. The tests done at the vet's could show elevated numbers due to stress. I am reasonably sure he will suggest an increase to 3U, which is not a good idea at all. Here we suggest increasing the dose by 0.25-0.5U. But you will need syringes to do that. Are you still giving insulin with a pen?

My recommendation would be to totally stop the dry. Get some tests during the day and even some at night (even if it is just one test before bed) to see where he lands without the high carbs and then take a call on the dose.
 
If you can get him off the dry, you can follow the Tight Regulation protocol and can increase Fritz's dose faster and get him to better numbers sooner. However, before you make any changes to the dose, I would first see how he does without the dry food - since it high carb, just removal of the food could make a big positive difference to his numbers.

Since you are home testing, you don't really need to take him to the vet for curves. The tests done at the vet's could show elevated numbers due to stress. I am reasonably sure he will suggest an increase to 3U, which is not a good idea at all. Here we suggest increasing the dose by 0.25-0.5U. But you will need syringes to do that. Are you still giving insulin with a pen?

My recommendation would be to totally stop the dry. Get some tests during the day and even some at night (even if it is just one test before bed) to see where he lands without the high carbs and then take a call on the dose.

he was getting insulin between those dates, but I did not have a BG monitor so I was not able to take any readings.

He’s been getting the 2 units every 12 hours since I took him to the vet last week when he was diagnosed. It’s administered with a needle. That’s all the vet showed me and supplied me with so I’ve been using a syringe since day one.
 
He’s been getting the 2 units every 12 hours since I took him to the vet last week when he was diagnosed. It’s administered with a needle. That’s all the vet showed me and supplied me with so I’ve been using a syringe since day one.
Do you have the syringes with half unit markings, like Bhooma said we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time makes it much easier when you need to adjust the dose
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:

49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg

You can get BD Ultra II syringes with half unit markings in Canada.
U-100 3/10cc, 31 G syringes with half unit marking were about $35/box at Safeway pharmacy (BD Ultrafine II purple and yellow box). Shop around,

Also found this
u-100 syringes with half unit markings from https://diabetesexpress.ca/. These ones, specifically:https://diabetesexpress.ca/collections/syringes/products/bd-ultrafine-ii-syringe-3-10cc-6mm-31g

I hope this helps
 
Last edited:
Could you add those dates to the spreadsheet and just put in the units given so we have dosing history? I can help you with doing that, if you'd like.

I went in and updated/added all the info I have.

Yeah the needles I have a whole unit increments. I will try to look into the .25 ones.

If I cut out the dry completely what is a good amount of wet food to feed him? and what would I use for a treat for after I take his BG, could it just be a spoonful of the wet food I give him?
And he seems to be a bit hungry about 5-6 hours after his insulin/meal.
Right now I give him only 1 can of the Fancy Feast pate for his meals every 12 hours, which I don't think would be enough if I eliminated the small bit of dry he snacks on.
 
If I cut out the dry completely what is a good amount of wet food to feed him? and what would I use for a treat for after I take his BG, could it just be a spoonful of the wet food I give him?
And he seems to be a bit hungry about 5-6 hours after his insulin/meal.
Right now I give him only 1 can of the Fancy Feast pate for his meals every 12 hours, which I don't think would be enough if I eliminated the small bit of dry he snacks on

I did a search on here and this is what I found one of our members gives
And yes you can give him about a spoonful of Fancy Feast Pate also
Go into any specialized pet food store, you will find tons of them. Look for treats that include just meat as the ingredients, either freeze dried, air dried or dehydrated. Purebites, Yappetizers, Sojos, Orijen, 1 Bite 2 Bite are some of the ones in my treat cupboard. I've even used some crumbled freeze dried raw pieces.
 
I also found this about treats that one of our members posted from Canada


in Canada you can find both Halo freeze dried treats, PureBites and PureSnacks, all 100% pure meat and very low carb and yummy.



Next time you're at a Walmart or Zellers, check out PureBites and PureSnacks, you may also use the doggy ones too - exactly the same thing, just has a dog pic on it. Doggy ones are a little bigger, just break them down to small bits for kitties.
Halo treats you'll find in pet stores. A little pricey but just as good.


Also Orijen He really likes them becuase it is not wet food and sort of resembles dry food that he really used to like,, -- apparently Orijen treats are only freeze dried meat only
 
And he seems to be a bit hungry about 5-6 hours after his insulin/meal.
Right now I give him only 1 can of the Fancy Feast pate for his meals every 12 hours, which I don't think would be enough if I eliminated the small bit of dry he snacks on.


A good starting point with food is 20 calories per pound of ideal weight. So if the cat weighs 10lbs but their ideal weight is 15, you'd want to start at 300 calories per day.
15x20= 300 calories per day
Weigh once a week and adjust as needed.

Most of us feed our own cats multiple mini-meals instead of 2-3 big ones. It's easier on the pancreas to deal with smaller, more frequent meals. The only time you don't want them eating is the 2 hours immediately before shot times so that when you test, you get a number that's not influenced by food.

I would feed Tyler his morning meal and then around +3 and +5 or +6 small meals about 1 tablespoon
You should always add some water to his wet food it will fill them up a little more and keep them hydrated
 
Last edited:
No tests today? It’s so important to get at least an amps and pmps. Then you need at least one more test each cycle minimum with TR. since you are currently feeding dry you will need a curve testing every 2 hours for 12 hours in 7 days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top