Jan and Topper
Member Since 2013
I'm trying to find out if I should increase or decrease the insulin dose.
My cat Topper was diagnosed with diabetes 9 months ago. Several years ago I had another diabetic cat, I home tested him but this time , with Topper, I didn't feel up to it. I'm old, not well, can't see well,can't hear well, can't think, can't figure things out. I decided to just have the vet take care of it. I've gone through 4 vets, spent thousands of dollars I'm struggling to pay off and Topper is a mess. I'm on a low fixed income and have no more money to spend and I'm crying my eyes out. This is my last attempt to save Topper.
I was taking Topper in to be curved and dose adjustment every 10-14 days. All of the vets wanted to raise the dose by 1 unit at a time. I refused and raised by .25u. According to the vets this is what *I* did to mess Topper up.
Last Fall he had a UTI that required two rounds of antibiotic. His bg was dropping so his dose was lowered. He went from 3.5u to 2u. The infection cleared up and his bg started coming up again. His dose was slowly increased again. Someone gave me a Bayer meter and test strips so I could test him but my hands don't work well and Topper faught the testing and I didn't test.
His dose got up to 4.25u twice daily, he was not "right", I had someone help me test and his bg was PS 320 +3 296 +7 294 +9 316. Other cycles were similar with no real movement.
Vet said he was getting too much insulin and to reduce dose to 3.75. Did that, I saw little change in numbers then he dropped from a PS 315 to +6 70. Vet said to lower dose to 3.25.
Bg has been this on 3.25:
4/3 PMPS 254 +6 285
4/4 AMPS 318 +5 229 PMPS 362 +6 316
4/5 AMPS 326 +6 224 PMPS 338 +5.5 174
4/6 AMPS 333 +5.5 391 PMPS 303 +6 240
4/7 AMPS 311 +6 305 PMPS 338 +5.5 251
4/8 AMPS 325 +7 300 PMPS 305 +6 285
4/9 AMPS 351 +5 290 PMPS 385 +6 351
4/10 AMPS 385 +6 351 PMPS 331 +6 270
4/11 AMPS 420 +6 281 PMPS 349 +5.5 285
4/12 AMPS 325 +6 299
I realize I am supposed to start a "Spreadsheet" but I'm exhausted, I can't do it right now. I don't understand ANY of this computer stuff, and the computer I'm using belongs to someone who told me I should come here to FDMB and the computer is rickety and doesn't work right.
I'm so desparate to get help for Topper, I thought maybe if I posted someone could help me know what to do.
I have so few of his bg numbers.
I had someone here with me and we did a curve on Topper yesterday.
Before I post the curve here I have to explain that I went out to buy test strips for the Bayer meter but I cannot afford them. I saw on FDMB that the Relion meters seem to be popular, so I went and bought a "Prime". I'm comparing it to the Bayer "Contour" and the numbers are really different. I did on two occassions in the past check the Bayer result against the lab result of Topper's bg and they were very close. So I'm really confused about the difference between the Bayer and Relion! I understand there is varience in bg numbers even if you test with the same meter twice in a row, but the varience I'm getting between the Bayer and Relion seems a lot. SO I am including the results of the curve with both meters:
Bayer
PMPS 312
+2 289
+4 280
+6 272
+8 306
+10 339
AMPS 358
Relion
PMPS 262
+2 203
+4 175
+6 216
+8 209
+10 219
AMPS 239
Oh how I want to think the Relion is the correct one. I see people here buying meters and beginning testing with no mention of checking their meter against lab results. Maybe I should just use the Relion and not worry? I HAVE to use it because it's all I can afford. I'm so confused now.
The REASON I'm posting all of this is because I do not know if I should increase the dose, or possibly decrease it more. Can anyone tell anything at all from the information I have provided??? PLEASE. I can't lose Topper and I've got to get him out of these awful numbers I'm getting on the Bayer.
Background: Topper was a neutered stray I took in 6 years ago, he was abandoned by his people when they moved. He's around 9 years old. Since I've had him he's only been fed Fancy Feast Beef Feast Classic and Fancy Feast Chicken Feast Classic. No dry food. Bites of chicken at shot and test. This was the diet my other diabetic went on after diagnosis and I thought it might keep Topper from developing diabetes. He's been healthy except for the diabetes and UTI. He's gained a pound and a half since starting insulin and isn't losing it despite being fed less. He has Lantus insulin 3.25u 2x a day.
Thank you, Jan
Please help if you can.
My cat Topper was diagnosed with diabetes 9 months ago. Several years ago I had another diabetic cat, I home tested him but this time , with Topper, I didn't feel up to it. I'm old, not well, can't see well,can't hear well, can't think, can't figure things out. I decided to just have the vet take care of it. I've gone through 4 vets, spent thousands of dollars I'm struggling to pay off and Topper is a mess. I'm on a low fixed income and have no more money to spend and I'm crying my eyes out. This is my last attempt to save Topper.
I was taking Topper in to be curved and dose adjustment every 10-14 days. All of the vets wanted to raise the dose by 1 unit at a time. I refused and raised by .25u. According to the vets this is what *I* did to mess Topper up.
Last Fall he had a UTI that required two rounds of antibiotic. His bg was dropping so his dose was lowered. He went from 3.5u to 2u. The infection cleared up and his bg started coming up again. His dose was slowly increased again. Someone gave me a Bayer meter and test strips so I could test him but my hands don't work well and Topper faught the testing and I didn't test.
His dose got up to 4.25u twice daily, he was not "right", I had someone help me test and his bg was PS 320 +3 296 +7 294 +9 316. Other cycles were similar with no real movement.
Vet said he was getting too much insulin and to reduce dose to 3.75. Did that, I saw little change in numbers then he dropped from a PS 315 to +6 70. Vet said to lower dose to 3.25.
Bg has been this on 3.25:
4/3 PMPS 254 +6 285
4/4 AMPS 318 +5 229 PMPS 362 +6 316
4/5 AMPS 326 +6 224 PMPS 338 +5.5 174
4/6 AMPS 333 +5.5 391 PMPS 303 +6 240
4/7 AMPS 311 +6 305 PMPS 338 +5.5 251
4/8 AMPS 325 +7 300 PMPS 305 +6 285
4/9 AMPS 351 +5 290 PMPS 385 +6 351
4/10 AMPS 385 +6 351 PMPS 331 +6 270
4/11 AMPS 420 +6 281 PMPS 349 +5.5 285
4/12 AMPS 325 +6 299
I realize I am supposed to start a "Spreadsheet" but I'm exhausted, I can't do it right now. I don't understand ANY of this computer stuff, and the computer I'm using belongs to someone who told me I should come here to FDMB and the computer is rickety and doesn't work right.
I'm so desparate to get help for Topper, I thought maybe if I posted someone could help me know what to do.
I have so few of his bg numbers.
I had someone here with me and we did a curve on Topper yesterday.
Before I post the curve here I have to explain that I went out to buy test strips for the Bayer meter but I cannot afford them. I saw on FDMB that the Relion meters seem to be popular, so I went and bought a "Prime". I'm comparing it to the Bayer "Contour" and the numbers are really different. I did on two occassions in the past check the Bayer result against the lab result of Topper's bg and they were very close. So I'm really confused about the difference between the Bayer and Relion! I understand there is varience in bg numbers even if you test with the same meter twice in a row, but the varience I'm getting between the Bayer and Relion seems a lot. SO I am including the results of the curve with both meters:
Bayer
PMPS 312
+2 289
+4 280
+6 272
+8 306
+10 339
AMPS 358
Relion
PMPS 262
+2 203
+4 175
+6 216
+8 209
+10 219
AMPS 239
Oh how I want to think the Relion is the correct one. I see people here buying meters and beginning testing with no mention of checking their meter against lab results. Maybe I should just use the Relion and not worry? I HAVE to use it because it's all I can afford. I'm so confused now.
The REASON I'm posting all of this is because I do not know if I should increase the dose, or possibly decrease it more. Can anyone tell anything at all from the information I have provided??? PLEASE. I can't lose Topper and I've got to get him out of these awful numbers I'm getting on the Bayer.
Background: Topper was a neutered stray I took in 6 years ago, he was abandoned by his people when they moved. He's around 9 years old. Since I've had him he's only been fed Fancy Feast Beef Feast Classic and Fancy Feast Chicken Feast Classic. No dry food. Bites of chicken at shot and test. This was the diet my other diabetic went on after diagnosis and I thought it might keep Topper from developing diabetes. He's been healthy except for the diabetes and UTI. He's gained a pound and a half since starting insulin and isn't losing it despite being fed less. He has Lantus insulin 3.25u 2x a day.
Thank you, Jan
Please help if you can.