New and anxious

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heather&Harrison

Member Since 2021
Hi there this is my bengal Harrison, and we live in southern Ontario, Canada. I believe hes 12 but could be 1 or 2 years older, Ive only had him 8 years now. We got his diagnosis when trying to figure out why hes peeing outside the box every night. We started 1.5 units of caninslin on 12/25. Twice a day. I have since read that its more for dogs but Im okay working with it for now. He was treated for a uti 10 days before the 25th and since he hasn't been the same. And since insulin hes peeing during the day now. Im cleaning up 3 times a day. But he'll still use the box if Im watching him or just randomly. Is he telling me the insulin isn't good ? Is he feeling worse than before the uti? Hes lost lots of weight and he stopped purring like usual. Hes just not the same. So tonight I introduced PC pate and Im gonna transition till Im done with the diabetic dry food. Probably a month or more. We also have another fat cat bengal same age, female Nabi, so Im super keen getting them on the same diet and schedule. Hopefully I can help her, Shes actually fatter than him. Now I do want to start testing, very scared and confused with numbers. But my hubby and I discussed not purchasing anymore items until we find out in 3 weeks what the vets says. So right now I feel shouldn't go completely low carb wet food diet yet. I want to mention I'm still mixing a little blue buffalo weight management dry food also Im trying to use what I have, but am transitioning it out quickly. Will he ever behave like he use too? Purr like before ? I know I need spread sheets for 2021. Where can I print one? Whats most affordable but accurate meter and strip system I can get from Walmart, supercenter, or shoppers drug mart?? Are numbers different from human to pet.? Do I need to convert numbers if I use a human meter ? And what do you think the cat feels more, insulin shot or the test ? Ears need to learn to bleed? Whats the process feel like for them ?Ive read so much and am willing to do all the work necessary, but feel very overwhelmed, and anxious. Will he stop peeing outside the box ? Sorry for all the questions but I havent been able to sleep since starting all this research.
 
Hi Heather, I know that more experienced folks will chime in here to help you too, but I didn’t want your post to go unanswered for a while as I know how nerve-racking this is at the beginning and those sleepless nights worrying. You’re not alone and you’ve found the right spot! I’m in the States so don’t have all the same items/experiences as you and have not dealt with UTI issues with Howie. He was diagnosed in June and I joined here and started home testing in August. We spent much of the summer with him not feeling well, in and out of the vet weekly with different issues, etc. I can tell you I saw a turn-around this fall in him...purring and playing, softer fur, and the lap kittie I fell in love with.

The spreadsheet is easy to use on your computer or a tablet (or even your smart phone). I would keep it as the google sheet so folks on here trying to help you can refer to it to give you sound advice when they see it in your signature. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/. Please also set up your Signature so people can see at a glance your situation. I put the instructions at the bottom.

As for food recommendations, people on here say to not switch food to low carb all wet until you are testing at home as just switching to all wet food can drop BGs a lot. There are specific forums on here for insulin types that will help you figure out numbers and what to do. Rely on the folks in those forums who are moderators or ones who respond a lot. That’s what this site is for! Most people use human meters (ReliOn from Walmart is great) and that is what you will see referred to most often in terms of BG numbers on here. The Alpha Trak meters are super expensive for test strips ($50 for 50 vs $17.88 for 100 ReliOn strips). In my experience, Howie doesn’t even know I’m giving him his insulin. When getting ready to test him, you can do a search for videos on how to do the tests and finding the sweet spot on the ear. Lots of info on this site. Definitely use a warm rice sock or other means to warm up the ear before the poke. They develop more capillaries in their ears the more you test. Unless it’s feeding time, Howie lays in my lap a lot when I test him. TREATS are KEY. I hope this info helps! This forum has been a godsend for me and I hope you feel the same!

Setting up your Signature:
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


tap on your avatar where it says your name ,then hit profile page ,tap on that ,then go up to the very top, upper right hand side and tap on your name ,it will bring down a drop box, tap on signature, the signature will be under settings, tap on the signature then and you can start to add what I posted above, make sure you hit save ,
Welcome to the best place you could ever be and an awesome group of people
You can also add where you live in your profile, not your signature
 
Hi and welcome Heather and Harrison.
Howiesmom has given you some great advice.
I would not swap over to a low carb diet until you are home testing the blood glucose because the BGs can drop 100 points with a switch in diet, and unless you are testing you will have no idea.
Caninsulin hits fast and is a harsh insulin so make sure you have fed Harrison 30 minutes before the dose of insulin. Are you also offering snacks during the cycles as well?

I would get a human meter as they are much less expensive to run and our dosing methods are based on the human meter.

Here are two links to information about using caninsulin
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/introduction-to-cannisulin-vetsulin-n-nph.231602/

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.231587/
 
Are numbers different from human to pet.? Do I need to convert numbers if I use a human meter ? And what do you think the cat feels more, insulin shot or the test ? Ears need to learn to bleed? Whats the process feel like for them ?
Hi Heather
Welcome to the best help family you could ever help to find.
Others with much more experience than me will no doubt come along later (we have folks from many different time zones on here) but I can answer a couple of your questions.
Yes the numbers on human meters and pet meters are different but the spreadsheet that howiesmom gave the link for above actually has different tabs for where in the world you are and what sort of meter you use - when you enter the reading it colour codes the result for you into ranges so all the hard work is done for you. I use the alphatrak2 and like it but as howiesmom said the strips are stupidly expensive - I only have it because I bought the one the vet mentioned. Loads of people on here use the human meters.
As for which they feel more - Mac only really reacts to the insulin shot if I ever go slightly too low (and catch the muscle) but apart from that he doesn't care. He is slightly more wary of the ear testing but still doesn't really object that much - it varies from cat to cat now much work it takes to get them used to it but it is just a case of finding what works best for you & Harrison. Someone on here pins her cat between the sofa arm and her leg as kitty is a wriggler -it works for them!
There are some really useful tips on here and I will send you the links.
 
Hi
Below is the link to a recent thread from a new member as Mogs (@Critter Mom ) gave lots of useful tips & links regarding testing
Judy's plastic card tip can be a winner too if you have a wriggly cat

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-with-checking-bg.240617/

I have tagged a few Canadian members below who may be able to help you on more local supply questions.
@Wendy&Neko
@Red & Rover (GA)

Also here's a link to a recent post from a new Canadian member with some useful replies about local things.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-in-canada.240760/#post-2709217

Finally just to say I know how scary & overwhelming it all is at the moment but with the help of all the wonderful folks on here you will get there. And yes you will get your old Harrison back!
Never be afraid to ask any question on here no matter how silly you think it maybe or just to ask for reassurance. I did both on several occasions and no-one every made me feel stupid or needy. This is really just one big family.
All the best to you & Harrison.
Gill :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I was really nervous to start home testing. Even more nervous than the shots. I put it off for six weeks... And the first week it was hard to get a reading... But once I started I wished I had started sooner. It took so much of the stress and guesswork out. I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.

BTW I wouldn't give that dry blue buffalo food to the diabetic at all. It's over 40% carb. It's like a person eating cookies all day.

The uti could have given him a box aversion. If he felt pain while peeing in there he may associate it with pain.
 
Hi Heather, I know that more experienced folks will chime in here to help you too, but I didn’t want your post to go unanswered for a while as I know how nerve-racking this is at the beginning and those sleepless nights worrying. You’re not alone and you’ve found the right spot! I’m in the States so don’t have all the same items/experiences as you and have not dealt with UTI issues with Howie. He was diagnosed in June and I joined here and started home testing in August. We spent much of the summer with him not feeling well, in and out of the vet weekly with different issues, etc. I can tell you I saw a turn-around this fall in him...purring and playing, softer fur, and the lap kittie I fell in love with.

The spreadsheet is easy to use on your computer or a tablet (or even your smart phone). I would keep it as the google sheet so folks on here trying to help you can refer to it to give you sound advice when they see it in your signature. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/. Please also set up your Signature so people can see at a glance your situation. I put the instructions at the bottom.

As for food recommendations, people on here say to not switch food to low carb all wet until you are testing at home as just switching to all wet food can drop BGs a lot. There are specific forums on here for insulin types that will help you figure out numbers and what to do. Rely on the folks in those forums who are moderators or ones who respond a lot. That’s what this site is for! Most people use human meters (ReliOn from Walmart is great) and that is what you will see referred to most often in terms of BG numbers on here. The Alpha Trak meters are super expensive for test strips ($50 for 50 vs $17.88 for 100 ReliOn strips). In my experience, Howie doesn’t even know I’m giving him his insulin. When getting ready to test him, you can do a search for videos on how to do the tests and finding the sweet spot on the ear. Lots of info on this site. Definitely use a warm rice sock or other means to warm up the ear before the poke. They develop more capillaries in their ears the more you test. Unless it’s feeding time, Howie lays in my lap a lot when I test him. TREATS are KEY. I hope this info helps! This forum has been a godsend for me and I hope you feel the same!

Setting up your Signature:
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


tap on your avatar where it says your name ,then hit profile page ,tap on that ,then go up to the very top, upper right hand side and tap on your name ,it will bring down a drop box, tap on signature, the signature will be under settings, tap on the signature then and you can start to add what I posted above, make sure you hit save ,
Welcome to the best place you could ever be and an awesome group of people
You can also add where you live in your profile, not your signature


My first reply. Hope Im Doing this right

Thank you I really hope to get him back to normal. So Ive decided to go and get a meter and accessories. Whats a definite list I need to take to walmart ? My hubby is going to figure out the sheets. I cant. But ill start testing and hope to get some numbers. I have a vet appointment in 3 weeks but hope to show him some numbers ams how serious I am. Now if amd when I start getting blood/numbers. Should I check in here or just keep with the prescribed 1.5 units twice daily. This is where is gets scary. Im happy with this fdmb and am willing to do what you guys say. But am still anxious to see what the vet would say. I feel like I should focus on testing and getting numbers.
 
I was really nervous to start home testing. Even more nervous than the shots. I put it off for six weeks... And the first week it was hard to get a reading... But once I started I wished I had started sooner. It took so much of the stress and guesswork out. I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.

BTW I wouldn't give that dry blue buffalo food to the diabetic at all. It's over 40% carb. It's like a person eating cookies all day.

The uti could have given him a box aversion. If he felt pain while peeing in there he may associate it with pain.


Im transitioning the blue buffalo out buy the end of this week. I dont want to change the food too much before I know what Im doing over here. Im going to go buy the meter tomorrow
 
Hi
Below is the link to a recent thread from a new member as Mogs (@Critter Mom ) gave lots of useful tips & links regarding testing
Judy's plastic card tip can be a winner too if you have a wriggly cat

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-with-checking-bg.240617/

I have tagged a few Canadian members below who may be able to help you on more local supply questions.
@Wendy&Neko
@Red & Rover (GA)

Also here's a link to a recent post from a new Canadian member with some useful replies about local things.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-in-canada.240760/#post-2709217

Finally just to say I know how scary & overwhelming it all is at the moment but with the help of all the wonderful folks on here you will get there. And yes you will get your old Harrison back!
Never be afraid to ask any question on here no matter how silly you think it maybe or just to ask for reassurance. I did both on several occasions and no-one every made me feel stupid or needy. This is really just one big family.
All the best to you & Harrison.
Gill :bighug:

Thank you thank you to everyone welcoming me with open arms. Means so much. Im going through all the feelings.
 
Hi Heather
Welcome to the best help family you could ever help to find.
Others with much more experience than me will no doubt come along later (we have folks from many different time zones on here) but I can answer a couple of your questions.
Yes the numbers on human meters and pet meters are different but the spreadsheet that howiesmom gave the link for above actually has different tabs for where in the world you are and what sort of meter you use - when you enter the reading it colour codes the result for you into ranges so all the hard work is done for you. I use the alphatrak2 and like it but as howiesmom said the strips are stupidly expensive - I only have it because I bought the one the vet mentioned. Loads of people on here use the human meters.
As for which they feel more - Mac only really reacts to the insulin shot if I ever go slightly too low (and catch the muscle) but apart from that he doesn't care. He is slightly more wary of the ear testing but still doesn't really object that much - it varies from cat to cat now much work it takes to get them used to it but it is just a case of finding what works best for you & Harrison. Someone on here pins her cat between the sofa arm and her leg as kitty is a wriggler -it works for them!
There are some really useful tips on here and I will send you the links.
Thank you so much. Im not great with numbers and such and am willing to to do whatever it take. Im getting a meter tomorrow
 
Hi and welcome Heather and Harrison.
Howiesmom has given you some great advice.
I would not swap over to a low carb diet until you are home testing the blood glucose because the BGs can drop 100 points with a switch in diet, and unless you are testing you will have no idea.
Caninsulin hits fast and is a harsh insulin so make sure you have fed Harrison 30 minutes before the dose of insulin. Are you also offering snacks during the cycles as well?

I would get a human meter as they are much less expensive to run and our dosing methods are based on the human meter.

Here are two links to information about using caninsulin
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/introduction-to-cannisulin-vetsulin-n-nph.231602/

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.231587/

Thank you.
So the vet gave me diabetic dry food Royal Caninn and told me to transtion it with my blue buffalo weight control. They like the diabetic stuff better than blue buffalo. But Ive been reading how I need to get rid of dry and go wet, carefully while testing. Im mixing 1/4 can of PC cod, sole and shrimp dinner to get both used to wet. I wanna do this transition with the dry diabetic till it runs out. Probably a month or so. Which should give me time to start testing. So i dont think its a complete diet change. What do you think?
 
Welcome, Heather and Harrison - and hubby!

Shopping list for Walmart:

* Relion glucometer (e.g. Prime).
* Test strips for the meter (<$18 for 100).
* 26 or 28 gauge lancets.
* Urine ketone test strips (recommended general safety precaution to check for ketones daily, especially for newly diagnosed cats).
* Neosporin ointment (not the cream!)

* Several tins of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (for your hypo toolkit - used to help raise low BG numbers).
* Temptations Treats (also for the hypo toolkit).
* Freeze-dried protein treats (e.g. Purebites - most cats like them as a reward after having their BG tested).

* Something nice for yourself and hubby! (You guys deserve some treats too. :) )

For safety, it's not recommended to begin the transition from a high to a low carb diet till you've started home testing, because the insulin dose may need to be reduced in parallel.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
My hubby is going to figure out the sheets.
Here's more info to help with using the spreadsheet:

Understanding the spreadsheet grid

Now if amd when I start getting blood/numbers. Should I check in here or just keep with the prescribed 1.5 units twice daily. This is where is gets scary. Im happy with this fdmb and am willing to do what you guys say. But am still anxious to see what the vet would say. I feel like I should focus on testing and getting numbers.
Getting up and running with testing is definitely the way to go.

You can post here for help every day - an especially good idea when you start the food transition because we'll be able to help you interpret the BG readings you get and help you with the insulin side of things. Also, if you get stuck on the testing side of things just give a shout out and we'll see whether we can make further suggestions specific to your own situation. Keep asking questions - about anything you need! :)

Tip: As well as getting a preshot reading before each dose is due, with Caninsulin the BG is typically at its lowest somewhere between +3 and +6 hours after the dose is given so that's a good time to check BG.

To help you learn more about your insulin, here's a link to the FDMB Caninsulin/Vetsulin guide.

Here's a link to the guide for managing hypos. (Strongly recommend printing out a copy of this so it will always be available to you.)

That's all for now, apart from my need to say just how handsome a cat Harrison is. He looks so regal! :cat: (((Harrison)))


Mogs
.
 
I lied. :oops: There's more...

He was treated for a uti 10 days before the 25th and since he hasn't been the same. And since insulin hes peeing during the day now. Im cleaning up 3 times a day. But he'll still use the box if Im watching him or just randomly.
One possible reason why Harrison might be toileting inappropriately could be diabetic neuropathy (problem with the nervous system). Any neuropathy present usually improves as BG regulation gets better. Also, supplementing with the methylcobalamin form of vitamin B12 can help. Many members here use Vitacost Methylcobalamin. Another option is Zobaline (methylcobalamin and folic acid) but it's pricier. The methylcobalamin is tasteless and can be mixed into food.

In the interim you could try placing pee pads in places where Harrison tends to relieve himself outside the box. Not ideal, but it could make clean-up a bit easier for you.


Mogs
.
 
Heather, I wouldn’t be making any changes to the food at all until you have started testing as you will have no idea how it is affecting the BG. Much safer to wait a few more days.
Yes, wet food is far better than dry for all cats.
If you have any trouble setting up the Ss just let us know and someone will help you.
Harrison is a very handsome boy!
 
My first reply. Hope Im Doing this right

Thank you I really hope to get him back to normal. So Ive decided to go and get a meter and accessories. Whats a definite list I need to take to walmart ? My hubby is going to figure out the sheets. I cant. But ill start testing and hope to get some numbers. I have a vet appointment in 3 weeks but hope to show him some numbers ams how serious I am. Now if amd when I start getting blood/numbers. Should I check in here or just keep with the prescribed 1.5 units twice daily. This is where is gets scary. Im happy with this fdmb and am willing to do what you guys say. But am still anxious to see what the vet would say. I feel like I should focus on testing and getting numbers.
It looks like CritterMom got you all taken care of with your shopping list! I will say that I prefer using the ReliOn Premier meters rather than the Prime meters as it is easier/quicker to get the strip in and ready once you have blood. The first while of testing him will be scary and frustrating but IT WILL GET BETTER! Just remember that. Cats sense your stress, so as silly as it sounds, definitely sing to him to divert his attention a bit. It also keeps you less tense. I also do Howie’s testing in the same spot (on his blanket in the kitchen) so he knows what is going on. And don’t forget the treats!!! Give him treats without testing him in your spot so he associates it with something positive. I used freeze-dried turkey treats from Amazon/Chewy as treats are also culprits for high carbs. You will go through lots of strips at first trying to get him used to what you are doing, getting enough blood, etc. That’s normal! Just remember the end-game is that you are doing this to give him your very best care. Give yourself and him grace if it doesn’t go well! Take a break and try again. Also get your husband trained in so you have a partner in crime! Keep posting if you need more advice or are struggling. We’ve all been there! Your vet will be very impressed with what you are doing when you go again in 3 weeks! Good luck!
 
* Relion glucometer (e.g. Prime).
* Test strips for the meter (<$18 for 100).
* 26 or 28 gauge lancets.
* Urine ketone test strips (recommended general safety precaution to check for ketones daily, especially for newly diagnosed cats).
* Neosporin ointment with pain relief (NOT the cream!).

Waving from the Kawarthas. Welcome.

The Relion is not available in Canada.
A number of Canadians use the FreeStyle Lite. It takes the smallest drop of blood. Strips run about $80/100 (yes, strips are expensive in Canada). You can use your PC points to help with the cost.

There are cheaper options but both require a wait because you have to order through the mail.
The Bravo Meter (which requires a very large drop of blood). You will have to have a large number of strips on hand because the company is mail order only. You cannot run out to the drugstore during an emergency and grab some.

There's also the OneDrop subscription plan.
A member in N. Ontario had this to say about it.
I would recommend OneDrop subscription service for the meter and strips. After the initial amount for the meter (I think a little less than $100 for meter and 100 strips, if I recall correctly), it costs about $108 CAD for unlimited strips. I have been getting 300 2x month to stock up and make sure I never run out. Hopefully I can go to the cheaper plan of 100 strips/month after a while, as well. They get delivered usually pretty quickly. It pairs with your phone through their app. The great news is that with unlimited strips, you never have to make the choice of whether or not to test because you're almost out of strips or you don't have the $$ to get another batch. I don't hesitate; it's taken that stress away completely.​

@Butters & Lyla in the GTA also uses it.
Do keep in mind that in a low numbers situation, you will go through more strips than you can imagine.


Neosporin ointment with pain relief is called Polysporin Complete in Canada. The black and yellow box.

polysporin_complete_antibiotic_ointment.jpg
 

Attachments

  • polysporin_complete_antibiotic_ointment.jpg
    polysporin_complete_antibiotic_ointment.jpg
    26.8 KB · Views: 424
Waving from the Kawarthas. Welcome.

The Relion is not available in Canada.
A number of Canadians use the FreeStyle Lite. It takes the smallest drop of blood. Strips run about $80/100 (yes, strips are expensive in Canada). You can use your PC points to help with the cost.

There are cheaper options but both require a wait because you have to order through the mail.
The Bravo Meter (which requires a very large drop of blood). You will have to have a large number of strips on hand because the company is mail order only. You cannot run out to the drugstore during an emergency and grab some.

There's also the OneDrop subscription plan.
A member in N. Ontario had this to say about it.
I would recommend OneDrop subscription service for the meter and strips. After the initial amount for the meter (I think a little less than $100 for meter and 100 strips, if I recall correctly), it costs about $108 CAD for unlimited strips. I have been getting 300 2x month to stock up and make sure I never run out. Hopefully I can go to the cheaper plan of 100 strips/month after a while, as well. They get delivered usually pretty quickly. It pairs with your phone through their app. The great news is that with unlimited strips, you never have to make the choice of whether or not to test because you're almost out of strips or you don't have the $$ to get another batch. I don't hesitate; it's taken that stress away completely.​

@Butters & Lyla in the GTA also uses it.
Do keep in mind that in a low numbers situation, you will go through more strips than you can imagine.


Neosporin ointment with pain relief is called Polysporin Complete in Canada. The black and yellow box.

View attachment 59125


Hi Im in oshawa and went to walmart today and got the one touch verio reflect. Hope its okay. I did a test after watching a few videos. I failed twice. My hubby comes in with a light and just the lancet. Boom one second and its done. Hes good at everything. He also set me up with my sheets and signature. Its super cool how its live. You can look now. Please let me know if im doing it right.
Anyways. He was 26.1 right before dinner. Waited 30 minutes and gave him 1.5 units. I waited one hour and tested again at 730pm. 25.9. It didnt go down at all. He needs more insulin? Can i starting transition food now ? I definitely think sooner the better now ? Help what else should I be doing ? This first night, tonight, should i be doing curves ? How often ?
 
Waving from the Kawarthas. Welcome.

The Relion is not available in Canada.
A number of Canadians use the FreeStyle Lite. It takes the smallest drop of blood. Strips run about $80/100 (yes, strips are expensive in Canada). You can use your PC points to help with the cost.

There are cheaper options but both require a wait because you have to order through the mail.
The Bravo Meter (which requires a very large drop of blood). You will have to have a large number of strips on hand because the company is mail order only. You cannot run out to the drugstore during an emergency and grab some.

There's also the OneDrop subscription plan.
A member in N. Ontario had this to say about it.
I would recommend OneDrop subscription service for the meter and strips. After the initial amount for the meter (I think a little less than $100 for meter and 100 strips, if I recall correctly), it costs about $108 CAD for unlimited strips. I have been getting 300 2x month to stock up and make sure I never run out. Hopefully I can go to the cheaper plan of 100 strips/month after a while, as well. They get delivered usually pretty quickly. It pairs with your phone through their app. The great news is that with unlimited strips, you never have to make the choice of whether or not to test because you're almost out of strips or you don't have the $$ to get another batch. I don't hesitate; it's taken that stress away completely.​

@Butters & Lyla in the GTA also uses it.
Do keep in mind that in a low numbers situation, you will go through more strips than you can imagine.


Neosporin ointment with pain relief is called Polysporin Complete in Canada. The black and yellow box.

View attachment 59125


Hi Im in oshawa and went to walmart today and got the one touch verio reflect. Hope its okay. I did a test after watching a few videos. I failed twice. My hubby comes in with a light and just the lancet. Boom one second and its done. Hes good at everything. He also set me up with my sheets and signature. Its super cool how its live. You can look now. Please let me know if im doing it right.
Anyways. He was 26.1 right before dinner. Waited 30 minutes and gave him 1.5 units. I waited one hour and tested again at 730pm. 25.9. It didnt go down at all. He needs more insulin? Can i starting transition food now ? I definitely think sooner the better now ? Help what else should I be doing ? This first night, tonight, should i be doing curves ? How often ?
 
SS looks great!
Well done hubby getting in the first test!
I would get in a days tests at least before swapping the food. We want to see how he is on this diet first to be able to see how much he’s dropping on the new diet....which you will need to do slowly.

I would get another couple of tests in this cycle....try a +3 and see what it is and if it hasn’t dropped too much you could leave it til +5. If it’s dropped quite a bit do a +4. Post and let us know how you are going!,

are you giving snacks during the cycle as well as preshot?

Great start team Harrison!
 
SS looks great!
Well done hubby getting in the first test!
I would get in a days tests at least before swapping the food. We want to see how he is on this diet first to be able to see how much he’s dropping on the new diet....which you will need to do slowly.

I would get another couple of tests in this cycle....try a +3 and see what it is and if it hasn’t dropped too much you could leave it til +5. If it’s dropped quite a bit do a +4. Post and let us know how you are going!,

are you giving snacks during the cycle as well as preshot?

Great start team Harrison!
I have been slowly transitioning since day one. 12/25/2020. Also they have the feeder they love so much, with half of what id usually put before all this.
 
SS looks great!
Well done hubby getting in the first test!
I would get in a days tests at least before swapping the food. We want to see how he is on this diet first to be able to see how much he’s dropping on the new diet....which you will need to do slowly.

I would get another couple of tests in this cycle....try a +3 and see what it is and if it hasn’t dropped too much you could leave it til +5. If it’s dropped quite a bit do a +4. Post and let us know how you are going!,

are you giving snacks during the cycle as well as preshot?

Great start team Harrison!
Sorry i give treats during insulin shot. Right after. And now i wanna make treats a testing experience for him. How many treats can he have during a day? Or cycle? Im gonna do a test soon, but i think thats it for me tonight. Ive been up till 4 5 am reading all week since Christmas day. I finally feel a bit better and little prepared now.
 
Sorry i give treats during insulin shot. Right after. And now i wanna make treats a testing experience for him. How many treats can he have during a day? Or cycle? Im gonna do a test soon, but i think thats it for me tonight. Ive been up till 4 5 am reading all week since Christmas day. I finally feel a bit better and little prepared now.
He can have an many tests as needed in a day. Some days they only need 4 or 5 other days when they are having a very active cycle they may need 12 or more. As long as the treats are low carb., that's fine.

When you get a chance in the next day or two can you do your signature please.
Info in this link
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
 
He was 26.1 right before dinner. Waited 30 minutes and gave him 1.5 units. I waited one hour and tested again at 730pm. 25.9. It didnt go down at all. He needs more insulin?
Typically, a Caninsulin dose starts to kick in somewhere between +1 and +1.5 hours after the dose was administered (although it can vary somewhat from cycle to cycle). Prior to dose onset, the BG may be the same as at preshot or possibly a little higher (e.g. bumped up a little by the preshot feed).

Here's a diagram showing an example of 'ideal' response of a feline diabetic to Caninsulin:


eADcxbPJ2JnNh2lSNJND0_wT4yz4A3Y71CrTNoDJfbWfCTH5m_LSx8bIqc_8XsNxdIIVibS6Rm5BUf37WIe3XPJwQjh4EPhui-nFcwaX6hNFLSfU3NpFvo8wwzZNTc1CUPzdzC--




Mogs
.
 
Typically, a Caninsulin dose starts to kick in somewhere between +1 and +1.5 hours after the dose was administered (although it can vary somewhat from cycle to cycle). Prior to dose onset, the BG may be the same as at preshot or possibly a little higher (e.g. bumped up a little by the preshot feed).

Here's a diagram showing an example of 'ideal' response of a feline diabetic to Caninsulin:


eADcxbPJ2JnNh2lSNJND0_wT4yz4A3Y71CrTNoDJfbWfCTH5m_LSx8bIqc_8XsNxdIIVibS6Rm5BUf37WIe3XPJwQjh4EPhui-nFcwaX6hNFLSfU3NpFvo8wwzZNTc1CUPzdzC--




Mogs
.
He hates the testing. Im not sure if Im doing it right. I need to watch more videos
 
Are you giving him a little treat as you test?
Right after I do. Can I give during.? What are good low carb treats here in Ontario? My hubby showed me with just the lancet but I can tell im not quick enough. And I got alot of blood lastnight. Made me cry. Just now he didnt come for the treat bag for his insulin. 40 mins after first test.
 
Right after I do. Can I give during.? What are good low carb treats here in Ontario? My hubby showed me with just the lancet but I can tell im not quick enough. And I got alot of blood lastnight. Made me cry. Just now he didnt come for the treat bag for his insulin. 40 mins after first test.
Give the year with the test so he associates the test with something positive.
 
Little chunks of a protein are good treats as they are low carb. I used to give Sheba her treat as I tested so she was occupied and didn’t notice me testing....especially while you are both begetting used to the new routine. Sheba used to come running every time she heard me at the testing equipment because she knew it meant a treat.
 
Okay I will try next time treating him during. Am I getting the vein? Or the outter edge from the vein ? I totally feel im doing it wrong and he totally hates it. Also is my signature working? Todays gonna be testing for the both of us literally. Wish us luck
 
And thank you every who has complemented my handsome boy. He sure loves the attention and knows hes a good looking cat himself. He definitely uses it to his advantage. And thank you everyone in advance for all the help. Lets hope todays testing goes better than this morning
 
Okay I will try next time treating him during. Am I getting the vein? Or the outter edge from the vein ? I totally feel im doing it wrong and he totally hates it. Also is my signature working? Todays gonna be testing for the both of us literally. Wish us luck
You want to aim for the area between the vein and the edge.
 
And thank you every who has complemented my handsome boy. He sure loves the attention and knows hes a good looking cat himself. He definitely uses it to his advantage. And thank you everyone in advance for all the help. Lets hope todays testing goes better than this morning
There's a big learning curve for most people the first couple weeks of testing. It will get easier. :)
 
Okay +3 test went horribly. He really hates it and he doesnt want treats. Amd he doesnt want freeze dries salmon either. Can I give him just a wee bit of wet food as a treat? Like a half a tablespoon? This is horrible.
 
Can I give him just a wee bit of wet food as a treat? Like a half a tablespoon?
Should be fine if it's low carb. Also, does he like being groomed? That's another non-food treat to consider.

Okay +3 test went horribly. He really hates it [...] This is horrible.
There's a huge amount to absorb in the early days. It helps to go over stuff more than once. To that end, here's the link to the thread with some helpful testing links, video and tips:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-with-checking-bg.240617/

Also, here's a really excellent pictorial tutorial posted recently by member @FarmKitty which illustrate some of the techniques discussed (check out the before and after pictures of the ear which show the difference in blood flow when it's warmed):

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hello-food-and-insulin-questions.240117/#post-2709047

I'd also suggest trying to reframe your view of the testing a little. None of us like having to poke our kitties' ears but we do it to keep our little ones safe. Try to think of it as a really caring thing to do: you're protecting Harrison, not harming him. I found that adopting a very matter-of-fact, purposeful, "Right! This needs to happen, we're doing this, and it's gonna be fine," attitude helped greatly, even though initially I had to pretend I felt that way. It made me seem more confident and it seemed to reassure Saoirse that her mama had not, in fact, lost her mind but was doing all this weird stuff for a reason. The more she relaxed, the more I relaxed; the more assured I was, the more accepting she became. It set up a virtuous circle.

Singing and 'baby talk' can also help.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
It takes time and practice for both of you! I can’t tell you how many times I hit the vein and blood was going everywhere. I never thought Howie would let me touch him again, but he did! Remember...give yourself and Harrison grace. He didn’t develop diabetes overnight and you can’t possibly learn and perfect everything in a day! We’ve all been there! The video in @JanetNJ ‘s signature is how I learned to do it the best!
 
Okay +3 test went horribly. He really hates it and he doesnt want treats. Amd he doesnt want freeze dries salmon either. Can I give him just a wee bit of wet food as a treat? Like a half a tablespoon? This is horrible.
You might want to give the other varieties of freeze dried treats a try as well. I tried salmon with Dixie and she thought it was okay but didn't seem to smell it as much. I also tried freeze-dried shrimp and she showed no interest whatsoever (as if it wasn't even food!). Freeze-dried chicken has worked amazing though and she goes crazy for it (and it is also the least expensive one because I can buy the dog-size version :D), so I have settled on that one. So maybe try some different treats out and see what Harrison likes :cat:.

I'm not gonna lie... testing was very difficult starting out. Just keep remembering that there are a ton of people on this forum that test their cats a lot. If it was as difficult of a process as it is in the beginning, then we all obviously wouldn't be testing our cats so much! Know that the process WILL get easier and Harrison WILL adapt (this forum is evidence). It used to take me 20 minutes to test Dixie and now I can do it in 1 minute. It is just rough in the beginning so keep it up for that first month!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top