ohiogal said:
Hi all,
I tested Casey this morning and gotten the lowest reading I've ever gotten, 245. So yay!
I gave her her 1.5u, and now I'm thinking - what pre-shot number am I shooting for here? It looks like the shot drops her BG about 100ish points, and I have to be at work today - should I worry about her going hypo while I'm gone? Is there a number below which I shouldn't give her a shot at all? Now that the numbers MIGHT be starting to come down, where do I go from here?
Thanks for any advice! Have a great day!
The only way to know for sure what's going on is to do curves and test.... so at the start of giving insulin, it's best to try and gather as much info as you can to understand how YOUR cat uses and reacts to the insulin. And once you know, you don't need to test as often at all. Once you know YOUR cat's style and curve and nadir range, it is alot simpler.
I have two cats with very different styles, curves, and nadirs.
Shadoe has more of a range in her numbers - from a 300, she could drop to 100 or so by nadir, and her nadir is somewhere around mid-cycle, maybe +5 or so. That's her style. If her ps was around 150, I would be like whoa... let's see if she is still dropping or if she's rising. I would hesitate to shoot her with a ps of 150.
Oliver is entirely different. His range is smaller, and his curves are the opposite - his nadir is close to +11, so if you can picture his curve as a line, it would look like a mountain. I would have no problem shooting his ps of 150 because I know that his curve/style will have his numbers rising up till at least +5 and then he starts his decline down the mountain curve to his next nadir, just before his ps.
As you can see, the above shows you two very different cat reactions to insulin.
How I learned that info was by doing curves at the start of their being on insulin, and you will learn the same sort of knowledge, info, from your own curves. Over time, as you look over the numbers you have gathered and put on the ss, you will begin to see the pattern, and combining that understanding, along with knowing the visual and physical signs YOUR cat has when high or low or hungry or sick, you will be able to judge what needs to be dosed.
Ultimately, you want to get the highest BG to be under 240 and you can avoid harm to organs, and you would love to aim for that goal of a curve being within the 40 - 120 range.
In time, you will learn what are good numbers for YOUR cat; I have one civvie that asks to be tested sometimes, and she has tested at a 42 before. .... which is not a problem at all because she does not have diabetes or get insulin - that's just her natural zone.
Good luck on your curve, and remember that ALL data is good to get. Get it, record it, then study it to know.