Neko's only symptom on diagnosis was ravenous hunger, and getting to 6 units. Later on I found out her teary eye was probably due to soft tissue growth in the tear duct. I read a paper that said only 35% of acros present clinical symptoms on diagnosis. She never did snore, though towards the end her breathe got a little "airy". Also note, these kitties have probably had acromegaly well before the DM. Neko's teary eye showed up 6 months before.
Answers where I can.
1) Not sure where people go now on the west coast of the US, but we did have one person go to a place in Orange County. Post about Rocket's
decision here. WSU used to do SRT, I've heard they don't anymore. SRT is expensive to put in a clinic, I was told the cost in concrete to line the room alone (and that was 10 years ago) was $1million, then you add the machine.

A lot of places do the radiation therapy on successive days. Neko's started Monday for the CT scan, then Tuesday through Thursday was radiation and then we were done. So it's not driving several days but staying in a hotel room for that time.
2) You want them to have experience with feline treatments on the pituitary. Cushings also counts. I saw one of the head vets at Petcure trained at NCSU, that's a very good place to learn radiation oncology on acros, one of the top researchers (originally at CSU) was there. So I'd add any experience people have in vet school as solid experience. Once you have the vet's name, you can also snoop their research.
3) Article on SRT:
https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/jvim.15212 Neko is the double SRT kitty in the article. Author Lynn Griffin was her radiation oncologist. Some other posts you may find of interest:
Punkin's SRT journey
Leo's Acromegaly thread and SRT treatment starting post 67
I didn't put all of Neko's trips in one post, should have, but here is the journal:
Last travel day on the way there
8/7 First day SRT
8/8 Second day SRT
8/9 - Neko AMPS 142 PMPS 402 +3 333 - Done SRT!
Quite a few peeps who had SRT posted on those threads. The thing to remember, at that time, there was no other treatment possible. Plus it was cheaper than now. But IMHO, totally worth it for Neko. Glad I went.
4) I haven't seen a lot of stories from kitties who have gotten hypophysectomy in the US, period. All 4 cased I've heard about going to WSU had complications during surgery, 3 had to have follow on SRT because not all the tumour was taken. 1 didn't make it. Having said that, they are supposed to be great people to deal with and very responsive. The success of surgery is directly proportional to experience. We once had a member go to a neuro vet who said he'd be willing to try the surgery. Umm, no thanks! The guy at AMC was trained by folks at RVC (Royal Vet Clinic), gold standard in success with surgery. We've heard of two cats go there. One a complete success, the second the kitty had some personality changes and the tumour came back, though kitty passed from something else.
5) Dose increases can by by 10-15% of total dose, until you see blues, in which case you can slow it down. Another additional option is the use of R or Regular insulin. It's a fast acting insulin that can be used to help pull the numbers down a bit for the L insulin to have a better number to work with. You'd need a person experienced with R help you out. There's a lot to learn about using R, mostly about when not to use it. There's nothing written about it, because it ends up being custom per kitty. Also, think about Levemir and whether it's something you want to do. If you do, we'd do one thing at a time.
6) I've only seen one person decide to try cabergoline before getting SRT done, and he wasn't on it long. Probably not worth doing. I would not give cabergoline once SRT or surgery is done. Way too risky. Dose decreases can be rather drastic. We've seen 2 kitties go from around 8-9 units to nothing in 7-10 days on cabergoline, but also some not move for a couple months. It's too hard to predict what will happen. Even on SRT I had some weeks of roller coaster action, followed by lots of nothing. Again, too unpredictable. Hypophysectomy is even more drastic, as it can be curative.