Nervous we heading down too fast now

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Active Member
I'm so used to 200's and 300's I see a 133 at +5 and I'm a nervous wreck. Really needed and wanted to go to sleep but am staying up now for another hour to see where +6 lands him - need to go check on the peak info for PZI and look at his numbers to see where he seems to bottom out. He was SCREAMING for food (not totally unusual) and before I tested I was thinking "damn that's just gonna shoot his numbers up" but knew I'd be giving him his 11pm can anyway, so I tested first and saw 133 and thought - oh, no... is this good or bad. I am sorry to sound like such an idiot but I am truly a wreak here - just too much on my plate I guess. He's cleaning himself seems a tad "over energetic" but he's like that at night sometimes just hasn't been for a while. I'm exhausted - but hanging out with Letterman...
 
133 at +5 is a good thing.
Prozinc nadir is somewhere between +5 and +7 for most kitties. The +6 should tell you which direction Robbie feels like going tonight. You are on mountain time, right? So his next feeding is in about 30 minutes?

Carl
 
oops, never mind. sag harbor is definitely on eastern time! So he ate when?

Carl
 
Hi thank you - Eastern Standard Time here - he just ate his 11pmish food - he normally gets a half to full can as I go to bed and eats some of it right away - some during the night - he ate pretty much ALL of this right away (I mixed some water in with the first half can and he sucked that down second half was solid and he ate almost all of it)
30 more minutes till it's been an hour from the last test and will be +6 which should show me where he's headed. He jumped up next to me on the couch (not typical unless he wants mommy time) took a short bath and is sleeping now.
It's crazy I've loved my other cats - DO love my girl Roxie and our dog is the best in the world but this boy just has my soul pretty well wrapped around his paw.... he is my baby boy.
 
I know exactly what you mean. Before Diabetes, Bob wasn't "my cat". He was momma's boy. Today, we're inseparable. The bonding between us and our sugarcats is amazing.

That food should keep him safely up. He acted like he was starving because he knew he was lower than his "normal". If he could talk, it would have sounded something like "Mom, mummy, ma, mom, mommy dearest!!!! I'm dropping here, time for some FUD!!!!! Don't bother with the meter, listen to ME! I'm telling you, I'm HUNGRY HERE!!!!. OK, suit yourself, grab the meter and see for yourself. AFTER you feed me!" :-D
Carl
 
LOL Carl he sounded like Stewie from Family Guy for a minute here. So hard to tell with Robbie he is a pig in cats clothing and wants food whenever Roxie gets it or the dog gets it and if I let him he'd eat dinner off my plate every night. He loves ice cream (pre diabetes he used to get a few finger tips full whenever I had some), potato chips, bacon, ham (well swine of any kind), chicken and shrimp the most of anything - but he will eat anything.
Now he's up cleaning again and 10 more minutes to test +6. I have honey, a mouth syringe and his favorite high carb "gravy" food all lined up in the kitchen - and have from day one but got up and checked on it just in case. If he is higher than 133 I HAVE to go to bed I'm seriously seeing double. Almost time to test so I'm gonna check him out.
 
Oh, GEEEZ 120!!! WTH? OK now I'm up for another hour - OK he's still hungry so I fed him some more. thoughts???
 
133 at +5
121 at +6.
Not really any change. Too close to call it a drop. He ate at +4ish, and again just now, which is +6?

That food will stop him from going really low, I believe. You can test him in 30 if you don't want to wait another hour, but I think he's doing fine. The food you just gave him will push back against the insulin for a couple of hours at least. By then, he'll be past even a later nadir.

Carl
 
OK - he was acting antsy - and famished - ate quite a bit more (finished what was left of his 11pm can which was maybe 1/4 and about half of another can) I also gave him his piece of chicken for letting me test him - and I made it a bit bigger. I have some of the gravy fancy feast he loves and could have him eat some of that if needed - I have a HUGE day at work tomorrow and if I'm late again my boss will freak out so I will test him at 1:30 (+6.5) and see as I can hardly keep my eyes open. Thanks for being here Carl...
 
Ellen, you're welcome. "This" is what we do, so not a problem.

I'm here till you turn the lights out, so I'll be watching for another number.

Carl
 
OK Carl - time for some sleep -he ate his way to 148 or 140ATE LOL Anyway, the big question is what to shoot tomorrow? Do I start the 1 or 1.5 and see how that goes? I was going to try Friday night but could start tomorrow - and after this probably should - I certainly don't want to shoot 3 or 3.5 in 5 more hours or so.
Thoughts are always appreciated.

He did get his dose about 20 minutes early tonight if that matters.
 
It might be a good time to try the lower doses. You may see a somewhat high number in the morning due to the low number tonight. Not "bad" low, just lower than he normally goes that early in the cycle. Don't let the high number, if you see one, mess you up. Call it a bounce, liver panic, whatever. It would be an "expected" number if it's higher. You just try to ignore it, and carry on with the plan. The "wonky" numbers will go away on their own.

1.5 might be a good place to settle for tomorrow and the weekend. See what others (if they are online) have to say before making a firm decision. If nobody is up and online, trust your gut.

Good job tonight!

Carl
 
Thank you Carl. I'm thinking 1.5 and will try and not freak at wonky numbers - if others chime in I'm delighted for input - no matter what it is.
 
OK, then it's time for you to get some sleep so you aren't a zombie at work! Sweet dreams for you, and unsweetened dreams for Robbie!

Carl
 
set an alarm for 5am (+10) to check him and slept right thru it - he woke me at 6am (+11) crying for his pre=breakfast snack - checked him 301 not surprising he ate about an extra can late last night (or reallly early this morning) gave him 1/2 can which he ate right up. at AMPS - 7am he was 327 gave hiim 1.5. He's sleeping but a bit needy (wants my attention- keeps looking at me) I'm sure he's picking up on my stress. Heading to work after his +1 and will hopefully get to check him at +5 or there abouts. Thinking he's safe at 1.5 and will see how this new tack goes.
 
Awesome numbers, Ellen. I was expecting higher actually. Hope your boss takes the day off!

Carl
 
Robbie was 304 at noon which is +5 for us right now. He's finished his breakfast somewhere in the time between +2 and +5 so he's got another can of food in him now too.
Sadly Carl not only is my boss in but the woman who works with him in a similar capacity to me is out so I'm getting EVERYTHING dumped on me. Going for another cup of coffee right now! :roll:
 
thanks Robin - it is TGIF - and my husband has now successfully given Robbie a shot and tested him a few times so I have some backup and it's not so difficult so perhaps I can sleep in a bit tomorrow. He's at PMPS rignt now and I'm shooting 1.5 @ 383
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top