Nemo's AMPS +5 235

Status
Not open for further replies.

amke1970

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=114188



Hello
My cat Nemo was diagnosed about 3 1/2 weeks ago , he was put on 3u of Pro Zinc insulin 2x a day . I would go get his BG checked 1x a week by the vet and he stayed in the 350-400 range so last week they increased the insulin to 4u 2x a day and he's still in the low to mid 300 . SInce yesterday I have lowered his Insulin to 1u per some of the advice I ve been giving since i joined here . He was 337 PMAS +9, so how long should I wait before I increase his insulin ? . He seems to always be hungry , lays around a lot and still is not gaining his weight back that he has lost since he got sick Any advice would be appreciated
Thanks
Alex and Nemo
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +9 @337

Hi Alex and Nemo,

Hard to tell what is going on. I think I'd try the one unit another cycle and if he is still in the pinks, go up to 1.5 and see if things improve. It's hard for us to know whether he needs more insulin or whether he started too high and increased too fast. It is interesting that his numbers are about the same at both the high and low dose....

While you have this lower dose, be sure to get a ketone test daily. I'd move back up if you don't see an improvement, .5 increase every 3 cycles, if you are seeing high numbers.

No infection? Litterbox habits okay?
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +9 @337

Well, I'd suggest watching him carefully while you are at these lower doses, but bring him up as needed. I don't disagree with the advice you got on Health about lowering the dose, but don't want to see him sit in higher numbers very long before increasing.
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS 286 Ketone mg/dl 5

AMPS 286 and I checked his Ketones today for the first time and it showed mg/dl 5 .
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +9 @337

The ketone strips I am familiar with show a color. What kind are you using? Here is some info on ketones:

ketones

That is the nicest amps you have seen. I hope reducing the dose is the answer for Nemo. Any numbers you can get today would be helpful.
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +9 @337

Thanks for the info . I know i was so excited to see them so low :) .... I'm using True Plus Ketone Strips and the color was a trace . I am going to continue to test him for Ketones every day now and add it to my SS .
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +9 @337

If it gets to be anything over a trace, it can be dangerous and you need to get him to a vet. One thing that will help is to add water to his food, if you don't already, to help him hydrated. Just a little warm water so it is soupy. Most cats like it because it is like gravy.

Can you get any midcycle numbers today?
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +7 @312

Thanks for the tip , he seems a little more active this afternoon :)
BG 312 AMPS +7
 
Re: Nemo's PMPS 301

BG 301 PMPS increased his insulin by .50 . hoping to keep his BG from going up past 300 .
 
Re: Nemo's PMPS 301

I think that increasing to 1.5 is a good decision at this point. :smile: Hopefully that will help bring Nemo's mid-cycle numbers down a bit.
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS 267

So happy his numbers are staying under 300 , first time thats ever happened :) . He doesn't pee often but when he does its a lot, but hopefully that will regulate once his numbers get even lower
 
Re: Nemo's PMPS 301

Nice AMPS this morning. :smile: Hopefully, you can get a test or two in around nadir today to see how effective the 1.5 is going to be for Nemo. :smile:
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +7 was 240 :)

So since his BG is staying under 300 do I continue with 1.5 for a few more cycles or should I bump him up a bit ?
 
Re: Nemo's PMPS 301

My suggestion would be to hold the 1.5 for one more cycle just in case Nemo requires just a little time to "settle in." If his nadirs don't look a little better, perhaps increase to 1.75 at that point.
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +7 240

Great, thanks for ur input , I really do appreciate it . I'll give him another 2 days and see what happens then
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +7 240

amke1970 said:
Great, thanks for ur input , I really do appreciate it . I'll give him another 2 days and see what happens then

We'll keep an eye on Nemo's SS. :smile: See how the cycle goes tonight, and go from there. :smile:
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS 303

Back in the 300's again , :? Staying with 1.50 another cycle and trying different treats . I think it may have been due to the treat he got , says high protein treat but im sure it had stuff that brought his BG up , so im boiling a chicken breast and thats what he'll get next time .
 
Re: Nemo's PMPS 301

Not bad, though. Maybe one more cycle with a number +5-7 to make sure he isn't dropping low (though it doesn't look like it) When you raise, I'd go with .25. You don't want to skip over a good dose.
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +9 331

I free feed him fancy Feast classic , as a treat he gets boiled chicken breast and nothing else . Was so excited about the good numbers yesterday and then there back up in the 300's :( frustrating . Tomorrow evening I'll increase to 1.75 . Eye ball it of course since there no .75 shown .
thanks
 
Re: Nemo's PMPS 301

Nice AMPS this morning. Hopefully Nemo is starting to get with the program on 1.5u. ;-)

Will you have the opportunity to get some mid-cycle numbers this weekend? Might be a good chance to see if 1.75u might bring Nemo's mid-cycle numbers a bit lower. :smile:
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +5 238

I know great start for this morning , this evening i'll start the 1.75 and of course I have to eyeball it . But I'll def try to get more checks in this weekend
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS 307 +4

Ran out of test strips last night :( I decided to take him up to 2 u since his BG hasn't really come down enough . Keeping him on 2 for a good 2 + cycles and hope that I can get it to drop more ....
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +8 354

Not sure why his BG been staying in the 300's since yesterday , He get's 2 units 2x a day and had been doing well and now I'm not sure what to do , any advise would be appreciate it confused_cat
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +12 401

So had a weird BG test jsut now , he first tested @ 433 so I redid the test and it was 401 . Not sure what's going on there , anyone got an idea confused_cat
 
That is quite a jump. Not sure. I wonder if there was a lower number before the yellow this am and it's a bounce. What are you thinking for a pm shot?
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +5 221

I started him on 2.25 , staying with it for a cpl cycles and see how he does .
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +7 221

Midday numbers looked good , I changed his food yesterday to Friskies which is even lower in carbs than Fancy Feast and he seems to love it . I add warm water to it to keep him hydrated . I'll continue on the 2.25 u for another 2 cycles and see how he does .
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +12 373

His numbers haven't really dropped alot so i've decided to up his dose to 2.50 , he was at 373 again tonight :( Just not sure what's causing these high numbers confused_cat
any idea's of what I could do different ?
thanks
 
Hmmmm, not sure, Alex. His numbers were a little better at the lower doses., but there was room to drop. I think maybe I'd go back to 2 or 1.5 for a couple cycles and see if the numbers are better. He may be a cat that needs a while to settle into a dose. If that doesn't improve things, then I'd go back up on the dose and increase until you see some good nadirs.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Hmmmm, not sure, Alex. His numbers were a little better at the lower doses., but there was room to drop. I think maybe I'd go back to 2 or 1.5 for a couple cycles and see if the numbers are better. He may be a cat that needs a while to settle into a dose. If that doesn't improve things, then I'd go back up on the dose and increase until you see some good nadirs.
I just gave him 2.50 tonight ,so imma check him before i go to bed and maybe once throughout the night and see what he does if there's not big change I will go back down like u suggested , thank u Sue :)
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS +7 351

He's been in the mid to upper 300's :( Not real happy about that . Didn't change anything so I have no clue what the little dudes problem is .Any suggestions ? confused_cat
 
I really think I would try a lower dose for a few cycles and see if the numbers look better. Sometimes, if the nadir is higher than the preshot, it is a sign of too much insulin. Not always but sometimes. It is worth a try? (I would also test for ketones while you rduce)
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I really think I would try a lower dose for a few cycles and see if the numbers look better. Sometimes, if the nadir is higher than the preshot, it is a sign of too much insulin. Not always but sometimes. It is worth a try? (I would also test for ketones while you rduce)

ok i'm gonna drop back down to 2 , thanks Sue :)
 
Re: Nemo's PMPS 354

So Nemo has been on 2.00 units for 4 cycles now and nothing has really changed , he's staying in the mid to upper 300's . His Ketone came up negative today , Any suggestions on how long I should keep him at 2 or anything else I should be doing ? confused_cat
 
What I don't understand is why his numbers are the same, whether he's getting 1 or 2 or 2.5 units. It's like you're shooting water. Does the insulin look okay - no floaties? One thing I can suggest is to try another insulin. Maybe ProZinc just wouldn't work for him?
 
A note on meter variance: meters give results which are within 20% of what a lab would get. That means any test rsult actually represents a range of numbers from -20% to +20%.
ex.
400 -> 320 to 480
350 -> 280 to 420
etc.
 
Re: Nemo's AMPS 347

I am trying something new , I bought Blood Sugar support Gold which is a supplement that is suppose to help regulate his blood sugar .I started it 2 days ago , the number have lowered a little bit . Could be coincidence or maybe its working ,I did notice the morning I forgot his drops his BG was higher mid day . I gets 5 drops 2x a day . I needed to something different since his insulin wasn't really doing its job . Hope this works :YMSIGH:
 
Finding the best dose for the cat is a process, not an event. You have to keep cautiously increasing.
With a nadir over 300, you can increase 0.5 units, making your new dose 2.75, rather than the 2.5 you gave this morning.
 
BJM said:
Finding the best dose for the cat is a process, not an event. You have to keep cautiously increasing.
With a nadir over 300, you can increase 0.5 units, making your new dose 2.75, rather than the 2.5 you gave this morning.
Thank you , I will give 2.75 this evening then
 
His Insulin is not working for him , now what ?

So my cat Nemo has been on Pro ZInc for 2 months now and he has not improved in his numbers . He stays in the mid to upper 300's and close to his PM or AM shot he goes in the 400's . So now I'm thinking i need to try a different Insulin or should I wait , how long should it take for him to get his BG under control ? ANy suggestions would be appreciated
confused_cat :?:
 
What I see when I shrink down the spreadsheet display is that the more you've increased the dose, the more the numbers have gone higher. This really makes me wonder about the dose.

You didn't stay at some of the steps along the way for at least 3 shots, which would have given the dose a chance to 'settle' a bit. Sometimes, insulin shots may provoke New Dose Wonkiness, where the initial response is actually counter to the expected drop. It can take a day or two to settle, which you often allow so I'm not sure that explains anything.

If you want to try another insulin, which of the following would work best for you?
Lantus or Levemir both work well with the Tight Regulation Protocol, where you shoot every 12 hours, or as close to it as possible. It can work well if you are always getting in pre-shots, get nadirs whenever you can (sometimes getting up at night to check), and catching a before bed test to make sure it is safe for you to go to sleep and not worry about the cat.
BCP PZI is similar to ProZinc in that there is minimal carry over and you can adjust the dose on the fly as needed.

How much does Nemo weigh? How much should he weigh?
 
BJM said:
What I see when I shrink down the spreadsheet display is that the more you've increased the dose, the more the numbers have gone higher. This really makes me wonder about the dose.

You didn't stay at some of the steps along the way for at least 3 shots, which would have given the dose a chance to 'settle' a bit. Sometimes, insulin shots may provoke New Dose Wonkiness, where the initial response is actually counter to the expected drop. It can take a day or two to settle, which you often allow so I'm not sure that explains anything.

If you want to try another insulin, which of the following would work best for you?
Lantus or Levemir both work well with the Tight Regulation Protocol, where you shoot every 12 hours, or as close to it as possible. It can work well if you are always getting in pre-shots, get nadirs whenever you can (sometimes getting up at night to check), and catching a before bed test to make sure it is safe for you to go to sleep and not worry about the cat.
BCP PZI is similar to ProZinc in that there is minimal carry over and you can adjust the dose on the fly as needed.

How much does Nemo weigh? How much should he weigh?

Now he weighs 10.5 before he got sick he weighed 12.5-13.0
 
With that as his current weight, a starting dose on Lantus would be about 1 unit. Taking into account his current dose, going halfway between that and the estimated starting dose could be reasonable if you switched. Keep in mind that Lantus has gone up in price as it will be available generically sometime in 2015. A vial is running in the mid to high $200s and pens in the mid to high $300s. There are some discount cards which may trim the cost some.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top