CatMomWendy
Member Since 2012
Hi,
We adopted Nelson in Sept. 2012 so I am a new sugar mom and fairly new to the group. I have been reading and printing material posted here. Nelson is 13 and he came from a rescue. We were told he has been diabetic since age 9 and the previous owner was traveling more for a job and couldn't treat the diabetes anymore. We specialize in special needs kitties but this is our first diabetic.
Nelson came to us on Lantus at 2 units twice per day. First round of blood tests within the first week showed his BG numbers still in 300's so we increased to 3 units twice per day per the vet. I found this site and started learning about tight regulation and feeding wet so we are in the process of converting off of dry. I feed Fancy Feast and now starting this weekend, a small amount of raw. I also a received a blood meter from the group and we have learned how to home test. A second round of blood work showed his numbers still in the high 200's and we then did a blood curve about 1 month ago. His lowest reading was 195 3 hours after insulin and as high as 387 9.5 hours after insulin. The vet recommended to go to 4 units twice per day and we started that 3 weeks ago. Did a partial curve yesterday and found a PM insulin dose time (before food and before insulin) at 154 (checked twice). 3.5 hours later the value was at 48. We checked this am and got 66. We did not give insulin this AM. I wrote it all out and faxed to the vet but haven't heard back yet.
My question is dose related. I am not good at navigating this board yet and I haven't been able to figure out how to adjust a dose (if I should be). I assume I should be going back down on Lantus since I am trying to phase off dry food (still feeding about 3/8 of a cup of dry and about 4 oz of wet per day...just bought a digital scale to better track the wet amount). He was at 1/2 cup of dry per day but as I start to introduce the raw slowly I am taking the dry down. I have not heard back from the vet yet today. Obviously, we will test at the PM dose tonight to see what numbers we are at but I really don't know how much to insulin to be giving now that we are hovering around the right numbers.
His weight as of 11/18 was 17.6 lbs. (husband weighed himself and then added Nelson....not the best but only way to measure at this point). Past blood work is good except a slightly high pancreas value. We are currently giving Denamarin once per day.
Thanks for any guidance,
Wendy Panaro (CatMomWendy)
We adopted Nelson in Sept. 2012 so I am a new sugar mom and fairly new to the group. I have been reading and printing material posted here. Nelson is 13 and he came from a rescue. We were told he has been diabetic since age 9 and the previous owner was traveling more for a job and couldn't treat the diabetes anymore. We specialize in special needs kitties but this is our first diabetic.
Nelson came to us on Lantus at 2 units twice per day. First round of blood tests within the first week showed his BG numbers still in 300's so we increased to 3 units twice per day per the vet. I found this site and started learning about tight regulation and feeding wet so we are in the process of converting off of dry. I feed Fancy Feast and now starting this weekend, a small amount of raw. I also a received a blood meter from the group and we have learned how to home test. A second round of blood work showed his numbers still in the high 200's and we then did a blood curve about 1 month ago. His lowest reading was 195 3 hours after insulin and as high as 387 9.5 hours after insulin. The vet recommended to go to 4 units twice per day and we started that 3 weeks ago. Did a partial curve yesterday and found a PM insulin dose time (before food and before insulin) at 154 (checked twice). 3.5 hours later the value was at 48. We checked this am and got 66. We did not give insulin this AM. I wrote it all out and faxed to the vet but haven't heard back yet.
My question is dose related. I am not good at navigating this board yet and I haven't been able to figure out how to adjust a dose (if I should be). I assume I should be going back down on Lantus since I am trying to phase off dry food (still feeding about 3/8 of a cup of dry and about 4 oz of wet per day...just bought a digital scale to better track the wet amount). He was at 1/2 cup of dry per day but as I start to introduce the raw slowly I am taking the dry down. I have not heard back from the vet yet today. Obviously, we will test at the PM dose tonight to see what numbers we are at but I really don't know how much to insulin to be giving now that we are hovering around the right numbers.
His weight as of 11/18 was 17.6 lbs. (husband weighed himself and then added Nelson....not the best but only way to measure at this point). Past blood work is good except a slightly high pancreas value. We are currently giving Denamarin once per day.
Thanks for any guidance,
Wendy Panaro (CatMomWendy)