Need some help with Nan's numbers - Pro Zinc

Status
Not open for further replies.
I could use some help with Nan's numbers and where to go next. He is on Pro Zinc, which I've never used before. We used Humulin L (maybe? been a long time) with Flash (GA) and he went into remission pretty quick, so I don't have much experience with Pro Zinc. Last week we started all over. We had already drastically reduced his dose from the 7U he was on when delivered to the shelter from the vet, and changed his food from dry w/d to Sophisticat wet, either mixed grill or turkey and giblets, both very low carb%. His spreadsheet is up to date except for yesterday and this morning (sorry I had problems with the template and just uploaded one I created, I'll try to fix this weekend):
6/21: AMPS 322
PMPS 328
6/22: AMPS 347
PMPS 259
6/23: AMPS 384

Since last weekend he has been on .5U of Pro Zinc BID, the +5 to +6 reading's I've been able to get have been in the 200-230 range. I'll be doing a curve tomorrow since I've got the day off. I was considering increasing to either .75U or 1U this weekend depending on what I see tomorrow. I've arranged to be home Sunday to test every 2 hrs too. It almost seems like his pancreas is randomly putting out some insulin and maybe he's going too low. Next time I get one of those lower numbers I'm setting the alarm to get up and check, it seems like when he throws one of those the next test he's high. What is the expected nadir on Pro Zinc? I've read thru all their literature and couldn't really find it. If I've got to set an alarm or maybe get my DH to try. Nan seems a little scared of men, although he will allow DH to pet him and even climbs on his chair sometimes, he obviously prefers women. I've been doing the testing and DH has been doing the feeding for that reason.

Paula & Nan
 
Hi Paula,

Well you've found the right place for assistance.

It looks to me that the dose is too low. Recall the ideal range to be in is between 100-200. It appears Nan is responding to the PZI and you are seeing peaks and nadirs. Nothing appears too drastic or out of line, so I am not sure what you mean by lower numbers.

PZI Nadirs should be in the +4-+8 ranges. Ideally around +6, but every cat is different.

Humilin L was discontinued and you are using a newer kind of PZI that has some decent success.

"Normalization" is the term used when the control is perfect and the BG stays in the normal range around the clock (normal BG for the average cat is 70 - 120 mg/dL -- yours might be higher or lower). Normalization is rarely attempted, because it means the cat is on the edge of hypoglycemia several hours a day, so what we do is "regulation" -- holding the BG most of the time at levels which minimize harm to the cat. Your aim will be to keep the blood glucose above 100 all the time, and below 200 as much as possible.

Diabetes in Cats for Beginners

I look forward to seeing your first curves on Nan!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top