Need some advice....

Status
Not open for further replies.

EmmasMom

Member Since 2012
Hi all,
My Emma's numbers have been low the last couple days - her last insulin was Wed morning and her BS has been between 90-120 until just now - I just got a 159. I'm not sure when she ate last - she free feeds (low carb can only!) and I just got home. My plan is to test her again in 3 hours, which would be her usual PMPS and if she is above 150 I'll give her 1/2. If any of you can take a look at her chart and I'd greatly appreciate any thoughts on what could be going on with her and/or advice on what to do!
Thanks,
Jen
 
I just tested her again and she's 111, so I won't give her any insulin. But I am not sure if I should be giving her micro doses to try to get some double digits numbers. Any thoughts?
 
Some people do mini dosing. I would continue to monitor. Today you did it exactly right. You got a little higher number and then waited and she brought herself down. If she consistently stays up in the 150+ range, then I would think you consider mini dosing. Here is some info on it. If you decide to do it, I would encourage you to go onto the PZI forum and get ongoing advice.

When your cat is consistently in numbers too low to shoot at shot time and in numbers in the 100 range and below during the cycle, you can consider micro dosing. This process should be guided on the forum by experienced members and will require more frequent testing.

You may be shooting at times other than the 12/12 schedule, when the blood glucose levels rise enough to require a small dose of insulin. You will need to pick a number somewhere near the 150 range at which you will plan to shoot, being sure that the number is indeed rising. The dose at these low numbers will vary with each cat and its patterns, so advice should be solicited. But you may be considering doses below .25 and even considering a “drop” of insulin. At this point, U100 needles and the conversion chart will be necessary.

It is important during this period to offer small frequent meals. You may want to experiment with the lowest carb foods to help bring down the numbers, staying away from seafood more than once or twice a week.
 
Thanks so much Sue. That was exactly the sort of advice I was hoping for. It's so helpful to have some guidelines, and not to feel alone in these decisions!
Have a great weekend!
Jen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top