Need some advice!!

Yes, stick with the 1u this morning, and get a mid-cycle test. Then my hunch is we'll want to go back up to 1.25u tonight, but let's see if he gets into a nice low blue or green today before making any decisions.
 
Yes, stick with the 1u this morning, and get a mid-cycle test. Then my hunch is we'll want to go back up to 1.25u tonight, but let's see if he gets into a nice low blue or green today before making any decisions.
Ok
I gave him 1 unit this am. I will get a mid cycle and post it. Then maybe 1.25 tonight. Thank you so much!!! Sorry for all this drama! Thanks for always being here....
 
@Djamila Stewie is 504 tonight. I think we need to go up on insulin. 1.25 or 1.5. Either way. I have to eyeball it. I should shoot him by the next 15 mins. Thanks. Pam. Let me know.
 
Stewie was 494 this am. I think he is stabilizing from the bounce and maybe need to go to 1.5 tonight? I will get a +6 today but he seems to be staying really high looking at his numbers on the chart.
 
Usually you want to hold a dose for 3-4 cycles before the next increase. I understand the concern though given how high he is. If it's possible to get two tests during the day today - a couple hours apart, that would be great. Let's see where he is later today. If he's still staying in the pinks, I would say go ahead and go to 1.5u tonight, but only if you can get a test tonight at +3 or later. You don't want to raise the dose and then not monitor the cycle.
 
Usually you want to hold a dose for 3-4 cycles before the next increase. I understand the concern though given how high he is. If it's possible to get two tests during the day today - a couple hours apart, that would be great. Let's see where he is later today. If he's still staying in the pinks, I would say go ahead and go to 1.5u tonight, but only if you can get a test tonight at +3 or later. You don't want to raise the dose and then not monitor the cycle.
I will get a mid cycle today and see if I can get 2 tests. I dont know if I will be able to do that. I think I should keep at 1.25 maybe for the next couple days and see what happens? That way, I am not constantly switching doses up. Wouldn't that possibly send him into another bounce cycle? I am still new at this but that is what I was wondering.
 
I will get a mid cycle today and see if I can get 2 tests. I dont know if I will be able to do that. I think I should keep at 1.25 maybe for the next couple days and see what happens? That way, I am not constantly switching doses up. Wouldn't that possibly send him into another bounce cycle? I am still new at this but that is what I was wondering.
Ok, he's 304 at +4, I can get a +6 as well.
 
Stewie's +12 BG is 419. That's some improvement I think. 1.25 will be given at 7:30pm. We'll see how he is in am. 4 pokes is enough for him today. :)
 
Great job getting the extra test in today! The more tests become a regular part of your lives, the easier it will be on all of you. It stops being something that causes him to hide or that causes you stress and just becomes part of the routine. It's probably hard to imagine that right now, but you really will get there.
 
Stewie at 399 this am "in the pink". I am eyeballing the 1.25 so it's probably a little over but whatever is happening, I think it's maybe working? I'm cautiously optimistic we are on a downturn. Going to call ADW and see if they have .25 marking needles as I'm sure I got the wrong ones since they don't show 1/2 units. They are smaller unit ones so they are easier to eyeball. :)
 
Stewie at 399 this am "in the pink". I am eyeballing the 1.25 so it's probably a little over but whatever is happening, I think it's maybe working? I'm cautiously optimistic we are on a downturn. Going to call ADW and see if they have .25 marking needles as I'm sure I got the wrong ones since they don't show 1/2 units. They are smaller unit ones so they are easier to eyeball. :)
The half unit marks will be very obvious if the syringes have them. They don't make syringes with quarter unit marks. That has to be eyeballed. Even if you don't need them a cheap pair of drugstore reading glasses in a fairly high magnification can help a lot.
 
The half unit marks will be very obvious if the syringes have them. They don't make syringes with quarter unit marks. That has to be eyeballed. Even if you don't need them a cheap pair of drugstore reading glasses in a fairly high magnification can help a lot.
Thanks. I thought I ordered 1/2 unit markings but it doesn't have them. It's a 12 unit syringe. I will try your suggestion. I already wear glassed..lol
 
Back
Top