Joe and Jinx
Member Since 2012
Hi everyone, my name is Joe and I have an 11 year old male Siamese named Jinx was was diagnosed with diabetes on Apr. 19. I've been posting on the Main FDMB but wanted to start here now that I've started a spreadsheet for Jinx and thinking about altering his dosages.
For some background, his BG level when diagnosed was over 500 mg/dL and the vet recommended giving him 4u of Lantus that evening and the vet gave him 4u the following morning when I brought him in for his first curve. At his nadir, his BG level was 67 so the vet changed the dosage to 2u for which he was on for over a week. On the 30th, I did a curve at home and his results (see link below) were high and relatively flat. The vet then recommended bumping him up to 3u but I told him I felt more comfortable doing 2.5.
I gave him 2.5u yesterday morning and another 2.5 12 hrs later in the evening. His pre-shot was 469, 5+ was 284, next pre-shot was 108 so the vet recommended skipping the morning dose. I checked his level about a half hour after his usually insulin time and it had went up to 135. I check 3+ and now its at 408.
On the main board, members have recommended starting him off at 1u following the tight regulation protocol. Some mentioned the Somogyi effect being a possible factor for the high readings but in one of the links on the tight regulation board - http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm, it says that there are no studies to suggest that effect occurs in cats. Any help or advice on what to do would be so greatly appreciated.
Thank-you,
Joe
For some background, his BG level when diagnosed was over 500 mg/dL and the vet recommended giving him 4u of Lantus that evening and the vet gave him 4u the following morning when I brought him in for his first curve. At his nadir, his BG level was 67 so the vet changed the dosage to 2u for which he was on for over a week. On the 30th, I did a curve at home and his results (see link below) were high and relatively flat. The vet then recommended bumping him up to 3u but I told him I felt more comfortable doing 2.5.
I gave him 2.5u yesterday morning and another 2.5 12 hrs later in the evening. His pre-shot was 469, 5+ was 284, next pre-shot was 108 so the vet recommended skipping the morning dose. I checked his level about a half hour after his usually insulin time and it had went up to 135. I check 3+ and now its at 408.
On the main board, members have recommended starting him off at 1u following the tight regulation protocol. Some mentioned the Somogyi effect being a possible factor for the high readings but in one of the links on the tight regulation board - http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm, it says that there are no studies to suggest that effect occurs in cats. Any help or advice on what to do would be so greatly appreciated.
Thank-you,
Joe