Need some advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lynn & Rupert

Member Since 2015
Hello all, I need some advice on if I need to raise Rupert's dose or maybe even reduce it a little, or do nothing. He had some really high numbers last week, all my fault, first was a fur shot on 8/07, I shot early at +8, I should have gone with the 2U , but I was going to be out for the night and was worried I couldn't test him, so I gave a lower amount, about 1.5U. I also did not give him his next day AMPS within the 12 hrs, I should have, he was very high @508! Never been in the black before. :( Next day, I was going to get things back on track and that evening he got into some fried onion rings and french fries that were on the counter wrapped in foil. I am careful about food being left around, but I never dreamed he would tear into aluminium foil! I was also worried about the onions. He did not throw up or seem to feel bad, but his numbers were in the black again. :( I am presently giving him 2 units but a fat one, just a little below the line. I also changed his food schedule yesterday, I needed to feed him more than I was, he was always hungry and howling all day and night, even after a meal. I am feeding him closer to 8 -9 ozs a day, divided into 3 feedings. AMPS, @ +6 and PMPS. Some low carb treats also at testing times. He is not yowling all the time and seems more satisfied, but his numbers are higher now. He has tested negative for ketones so far and other wise seems to feel fine. I am just frustrated and worried I am not doing something right! He had better numbers when I first started. :nailbiting: I would really appreciated some guidance here. I am trying to be patient, but I worry I am harming him. Sorry this is so long winded. Thanks in advance for your help. ps...I have to be away from the computer for awhile, so I won't be able to respond till later. :bighug:
 
Hi Lynn,

I think he is eating a lot and that can definitely push the numbers higher. @Robin&BB has some great ideas about food that could help. I assume you've tried the usual tricks of adding warm water and spreading the food out on the dish?

He was getting better numbers at lower doses, but you raised slowly and carefully so I don't think you missed an ideal dose. And he is getting a long enough cycle - most cycles to +9. And then it jumps. If the insulin was gone by +8, we could look at dosing three times daily. If he was consistently lower at amps or at pmps, we could try the 11/13 schedule but he seems to be high at both ends.

So, I am left with feeding less (which I do think could be influencing the numbers). He is getting a lot to eat. I can't remember - is he underweight? Do you feed him between +8 and +12? Maybe we could figure out a way to eliminate food then and see if the pre shots come down. Also did you read the thread Carl posted on insulin resistance? It has some interesting ideas. I have never been able to get my head around figuring out whether it could be that or bouncing, but it is certainly worth a read.

Wish I had a magic bullet. I'll keep thinking.
 
Thank you Sue for your insight. I started feeding him a little bit more and less often yesterday, the larger meals do seem to keep his numbers higher, but the small meals throughout the day did not seem to satisfy him at all. I do the smash and added water on a large plate, so he eats slowly. He was yowling constantly and it is stressing me and him both out. He lost about 2 lbs on the onset of the diabetes and has gained just a little back, still skinny I think. He is not a heavy cat, but taller and was muscular. I do not feed him between +8 and +12, not even a treat. I will read about the insulin resistance. He seemed to be doing better, till I messed up and did that fur shot and the other problems. On a good note, my civvie, Tuffy is back to normal and doing well! Thanks so much for your help! :bighug:
 
Hi, Lynn - Okay, I can tell you’re both frustrated and worried about the high #s. Been there, done that! (And now you’re going to get a long-winded post in return ... ;)) Will respond to in relation to certain of your statements:

You wrote: He had some really high numbers last week, all my fault, first was a fur shot on 8/07, I shot early at +8, I should have gone with the 2U , but I was going to be out for the night and was worried I couldn't test him, so I gave a lower amount, about 1.5U. I also did not give him his next day AMPS within the 12 hrs, I should have, he was very high @508!

Looks like you’ve already i.d.’d some of the problem there: Consistency is key. And when your cat is not yet regulated, sometimes that means making some tough personal choices. For instance - Let’s say, it’s somebody’s birthday dinner you’re attending: You either find someone to test & shoot for you at the right time, or you explain to your friends that you’ll be delayed because you’re treating your cat for a serious illness. Believe me, I’ve missed more social events - and other things I’d prefer to be doing - than I can name during the periods (2013 & now) that I’ve treated Bat-Bat for diabetes. So I empathize there. But unless it’s a work-related scheduling problem, you’ll just need to be more creative about making sure you stay on schedule if you want to have a regulated cat.

You wrote: Next day, I was going to get things back on track and that evening he got into some fried onion rings and french fries that were on the counter wrapped in foil. I am careful about food being left around, but I never dreamed he would tear into aluminium foil! I was also worried about the onions.

Well, now you know: A hungry diabetic cat can be relentless about finding anything to eat. Lesson learned - what’s that old saying? An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. Leave nothing out - even if it’s wrapped in chain-mail. Do not leave unwashed dishes in sink; wipe counters, check floor after food-prep & (human) meal times. Make sure he can’t get into cabinets (may need to do the child-proof lock thing) or other pets’ food. I know this is a hassle. Bat-Bat is a chow-hound: I’ve had to do a “sweep” of my house as carefully as if I were looking for land mines! But it’s important. And you’re right to be worried about onions; these, along with grapes, chocolate & some other common foods, can be toxic to cats. (Depending on how much they’ve consumed. And some houseplants can also be toxic to cats, btw.)

You wrote: I also changed his food schedule yesterday, I needed to feed him more than I was, he was always hungry and howling all day and night, even after a meal. I am feeding him closer to 8 -9 ozs a day, divided into 3 feedings. AMPS, @ +6 and PMPS. Some low carb treats also at testing times.

Oh my ... between this statement and the look of his SS, I can tell you without question: He is being overfed. And he is so hungry because his diabetes is not controlled, period. The solution is not feeding him more; it is feeding him less. I realize this sounds counterintuitive, but 9 ounces of food per day plus/including snacks is getting you nowhere fast. (Example: My formerly 18-lb. cat now weighs in at 11 lbs. She gets exactly 7 oz. food - FF - every 24 hr period; no more, no less.)

Have you compared your cat’s body to the chart? Here it is: body condition chart (I hope that link posted right)
I’d like you to look at that, then weigh him, then tell us how much he weighs. Unless he’s a giant breed (Maine Coon), even if he’s a somewhat large cat he should only weigh somewhere in the neighborhood of 11 to 12 lbs. Slender (not emaciated, but svelte) is a healthy target for a diabetic cat. If he needs to lose weight (which I suspect he does, considering how much food he’s getting now), you’ll need to reduce his rations gradually, as too-fast weight loss isn’t a good thing. 


About that yowling because he’s hungry all the time: Get some earplugs. Because overfeeding him is doing neither of you any favors: It’ll keep him stuck in a state of uncontrolled diabetes ... and you’ll be stuck shooting insulin insulin into a poorly regulated cat for who-knows-how-long.
(I assume you’re hoping for remission at some time down the road, right? And that’s not an unreasonable goal to have.)

Get back to me after you’ve looked over the chart & weighed him (can always step on your bathroom scale holding him in your arms, then put him down and weigh yourself & note the difference if you don’t have a baby scale). Then, if you like, I’d be happy to help you with determining how to pare down his daily rations safely.

Also, please refresh my memory: Rupert’s only health problem is diabetes? No other serious health issues? (As I need to be sure before I'd attempt to help you with the feeding situation.)

Here’s the good news, Lynn: There are solutions to everything you’ve written about above! :):bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok, I am back from buying more cat food, litter and strips! I looked at the chart, he is ideal, maybe a tad bit skinny in the rib area, but he has gained some back since being diagnosed. I weighed him last night, using the holding him in my arms method and he weighed 9.4 lbs. The most he ever weighed was about 10 lbs, I always thought he was too thin. Never had a belly (or jungle pouch hee hee) or looked fat at all. I realize he will be hungry till I get his BG regulated, but guess I didn't realize he would be that hungry. I was thinking he could have 8- 9 oz a day, with just a few very low carb treats for BG tests. I do keep the counters clear, sink cleared, floor cleared, other civvies food separate now. I screwed up that one time, I was in a hurry to eat myself and got careless. (need an embarrassed emotion here) Like you said, lesson learned, the hard way. He was looking pretty thin when I brought him to the vet last month, ribs were starting to show, etc., he weighed under 9 lbs at that time. He had an expensive blood test when diagnosed and there was no mention of any pancretitis (sp) or ketones. I usually get at least 3 -4 ketones test done a week, so far negative. When his numbers are down, he seems to feel pretty good, purrs, grooms, walks around and even plays a little. No litter box issues, except diabetic related ones. I would like to take him back to the vet, but after Rupert's and Tuffy's huge vet bills, I can't afford it right now. :arghh: Ok, enough of my whining.....I am willing to take a tough stand about food, I do have earplugs and I can always tell Rupert :stop:. I like what you suggested about 2 feedings only, much easier to keep track and less time in the kitchen, but still confused about how much to feed him. He does not throw up now, when eating a larger meal, after using the tricks learned here. I am open to any and all suggestions! I really appreciate the time you put into helping me, Robin and thanks for the smiles you put on my face when reading your posts! I will be the strict mom if it will get him healthy and happy again. :cat:
 
Here are a few pics of Rupert now, I still think he looks a little thin. Please ignore the bare patches on his shoulder's, I shaved him a little so I could give him his shots easier. :rolleyes: 100_2456.JPG 100_2463.JPG 100_2456.JPG 100_2463.JPG 100_2458.JPG
 
Here are a few pics of Rupert now, I still think he looks a little thin. Please ignore the bare patches on his shoulder's, I shaved him a little so I could give him his shots easier. 
I wish I could have shaved Bat-Bat; would have made things a lot easier @ shot-time, but she wouldn't allow it! Thanks for posting the photos - Rupert actually looks pretty darned good, weight-wise! (I blew the photos up so I could look very closely.) If you really feel his ribs are sticking out too much, he would probably be good at 10 lbs or so - and once he's regulated better, you might see him put on an extra 1/2 pound. (Bat-Bat was underweight, too - around 9.6 lbs. when she got the UTI in Feb. & came out of remission; but she gained her weight back within the first few months on insulin/ after she was better regulated.)

I forgot that you have the other kitties - can they go on the same feeding schedule that you end up putting Rupert on? (Sure would make life easier for you, too!) Sounds like you'd like to try the AMPS/ PMPS meals (2 times/day only), but as appears he's grown accustomed to mini-meals, you might want to split his rations into 3 portions/day for a few days before going down to 2 meals/ day.

I'm a real stickler about measuring Bat-Bat's rations: I actually "score" the canned FF with a sharp knife (kind of like you'd slice up a pie); it's something I got into the habit of doing whenever feeding a combination of Purina dm canned & FF canned. Given that Rupert is only at 9.4 lbs right now, I'd say 9 oz/ 3 cans of FF daily (no snacks, though) is probably fine UNTIL he hits 10 lbs. After that benchmark, you might want to adjust the ration down a little if you see him gaining more than that. For the time being, it's a good idea to weigh him every day (that's what my vet had me do with Bat-Bat when she was still underweight, and I think that was smart of him). Getting the weights on her each day really helped me see when I needed to adjust her rations downward later on. (And I did have to do that once she got her weight back up.)

Is better to give a scritch under the chin or a nice cuddle as a treat, too. I know, in my own case, that too many (what I perceived as "tiny") treats really added up more than I realized! It was hard for me to wrap my head around that at first, as putting something so small in my own body would have made nary a dent! And I felt guilty for "depriving" her ... But they really are so much smaller than we are; doesn't take much food to spike BG. Frankly, now that she's better regulated, I don't even use higher-carb food to steer low #s anymore - partly because I'm always around to monitor closely; that may not work for someone who can't be around to do that.

I can tell you're really motivated to get Rupert's #s down, Lynn - and with continued vigilance and consistency, I know you'll get there! Will be thinking good thoughts for you & Rupert - & am looking forward to better #s for Rupert soon.

P.S. Here are a couple of photos of Bat-Bat: Before (Dec. 2012 - what a fat-cat, huh?) & after (July 2015) Silly me ... Back in Aug. 2013, the first time she dropped down to too-skinny, I wanted to believe it was diet & exercise ... but nope! It was that danged out-of-control diabetes that was literally starving her.

2012 Bat 18 lbs!.JPG 2015 Bat 11 lbs.jpg
 
Awww...look at Bat-Bat, she is so trim and svelte now! I always loved black kitties, they look like a little panther! I am taking your advice and will ease into 2 meals a day for all of my cats. Rupert has been on 3 meals for the last two days. My civvies are on a 4 meals a day schedule, mainly because I have an over eater, but I will ease them into the 2 meal a day schedule also. It will make my life easier for sure. I have been trying to use pets and praise for BG tests, he seems to be ok with that, so there is a treat I can leave out. I agree, that little piece of chicken or salmon seems so small, but guess when you consider their size, it is a mouthful! I will do 9 oz a day, right now I have Friskies, budget is getting tight right now, so I will score and be careful with the portions. I will weigh him daily, that seems smart. (wouldn't hurt me either :rolleyes:) I think 9 oz is a good amount for now, when I was feeding him 7 to 8 oz, he really seemed like he was miserable. Since I upped his portions, he seems more content, even though he still yowls for more food a lot and is on high alert whenever I venture into the kitchen! I want to see his numbers better too! :arghh: I was feeling like I was making things worse for him, just really frustrating sometimes. :banghead: Thank you so much Robin, I feel inspired to put on those big girl pants and use some "tough love" when needed! You are the bestest~ :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you so much Robin, I feel inspired to put on those big girl pants and use some "tough love" when needed! Thank you Cindi, he does have a lot of bengal in him and the rest is Heinz 57!
You're so welcome, Lynn - anytime!
You'd never know there is any Heinz 57 in Rupert - his coat is so... Bengal! Just gorgeous!!! Mr. Exotic.
 
Aww, thanks, Robin, he's a stud for sure! I just endured 2 hours of yowling, but I didn't cave, not even with a treat! :facepalm: He is having his PMPS dinner now. Ahhh...silence is golden! lol
 
This is Rupert's little sister, Spooky, she is so much smaller, but she is another chow hound, always been my biggest foody. She must have a high metabolism, she has never been fat! Lucky girl, eh? I am glad she is on the low carb diet too, she might have been the next to be diagnosed with diabetes. 100_2460.JPG
 
Rupert has such a beautiful coat. He almost looks bengal. My nephew has a bengal cat and it is huge with a very pretty coat like Rupert.
Merlin is quite the handsome senior guy! I read his profile and see he has a lot of siblings. Is he the oldest of your pets?
 
This is Rupert's little sister, Spooky, she is so much smaller, but she is another chow hound, always been my biggest foody. She must have a high metabolism, she has never been fat! Lucky girl, eh? I am glad she is on the low carb diet too, she might have been the next to be diagnosed with diabetes. View attachment 16003
Spooky is adorable, too! And what a svelte little girl, even though she's a foody. I love kitties with stripes; wish I had one, too. (Ha, maybe I could paint some white stripes on Bat-Bat & make her a zebra-cat.:p)
 
Lol, you would like that, Robin, but I some how think Bat-Bat would protest! :p But agree, she would look adorable! Maybe for Halloween? lol
 
Yep - I think if I tried that on Bat-Bat for Halloween, I could then dress up in bandages & go out as ... "A Bloody Mess!":rolleyes:
('Cause I would be.)
 
Hi, Lynn - Okay, I can tell you’re both frustrated and worried about the high #s. Been there, done that! (And now you’re going to get a long-winded post in return ... ;)) Will respond to in relation to certain of your statements:

You wrote: He had some really high numbers last week, all my fault, first was a fur shot on 8/07, I shot early at +8, I should have gone with the 2U , but I was going to be out for the night and was worried I couldn't test him, so I gave a lower amount, about 1.5U. I also did not give him his next day AMPS within the 12 hrs, I should have, he was very high @508!

Looks like you’ve already i.d.’d some of the problem there: Consistency is key. And when your cat is not yet regulated, sometimes that means making some tough personal choices. For instance - Let’s say, it’s somebody’s birthday dinner you’re attending: You either find someone to test & shoot for you at the right time, or you explain to your friends that you’ll be delayed because you’re treating your cat for a serious illness. Believe me, I’ve missed more social events - and other things I’d prefer to be doing - than I can name during the periods (2013 & now) that I’ve treated Bat-Bat for diabetes. So I empathize there. But unless it’s a work-related scheduling problem, you’ll just need to be more creative about making sure you stay on schedule if you want to have a regulated cat.

You wrote: Next day, I was going to get things back on track and that evening he got into some fried onion rings and french fries that were on the counter wrapped in foil. I am careful about food being left around, but I never dreamed he would tear into aluminium foil! I was also worried about the onions.

Well, now you know: A hungry diabetic cat can be relentless about finding anything to eat. Lesson learned - what’s that old saying? An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. Leave nothing out - even if it’s wrapped in chain-mail. Do not leave unwashed dishes in sink; wipe counters, check floor after food-prep & (human) meal times. Make sure he can’t get into cabinets (may need to do the child-proof lock thing) or other pets’ food. I know this is a hassle. Bat-Bat is a chow-hound: I’ve had to do a “sweep” of my house as carefully as if I were looking for land mines! But it’s important. And you’re right to be worried about onions; these, along with grapes, chocolate & some other common foods, can be toxic to cats. (Depending on how much they’ve consumed. And some houseplants can also be toxic to cats, btw.)

You wrote: I also changed his food schedule yesterday, I needed to feed him more than I was, he was always hungry and howling all day and night, even after a meal. I am feeding him closer to 8 -9 ozs a day, divided into 3 feedings. AMPS, @ +6 and PMPS. Some low carb treats also at testing times.

Oh my ... between this statement and the look of his SS, I can tell you without question: He is being overfed. And he is so hungry because his diabetes is not controlled, period. The solution is not feeding him more; it is feeding him less. I realize this sounds counterintuitive, but 9 ounces of food per day plus/including snacks is getting you nowhere fast. (Example: My formerly 18-lb. cat now weighs in at 11 lbs. She gets exactly 7 oz. food - FF - every 24 hr period; no more, no less.)

Have you compared your cat’s body to the chart? Here it is: body condition chart (I hope that link posted right)
I’d like you to look at that, then weigh him, then tell us how much he weighs. Unless he’s a giant breed (Maine Coon), even if he’s a somewhat large cat he should only weigh somewhere in the neighborhood of 11 to 12 lbs. Slender (not emaciated, but svelte) is a healthy target for a diabetic cat. If he needs to lose weight (which I suspect he does, considering how much food he’s getting now), you’ll need to reduce his rations gradually, as too-fast weight loss isn’t a good thing. 


About that yowling because he’s hungry all the time: Get some earplugs. Because overfeeding him is doing neither of you any favors: It’ll keep him stuck in a state of uncontrolled diabetes ... and you’ll be stuck shooting insulin insulin into a poorly regulated cat for who-knows-how-long.
(I assume you’re hoping for remission at some time down the road, right? And that’s not an unreasonable goal to have.)

Get back to me after you’ve looked over the chart & weighed him (can always step on your bathroom scale holding him in your arms, then put him down and weigh yourself & note the difference if you don’t have a baby scale). Then, if you like, I’d be happy to help you with determining how to pare down his daily rations safely.

Also, please refresh my memory: Rupert’s only health problem is diabetes? No other serious health issues? (As I need to be sure before I'd attempt to help you with the feeding situation.)

Here’s the good news, Lynn: There are solutions to everything you’ve written about above! :):bighug::bighug::bighug:

BRAVO Robin!!!
Super excellent post!!
This needs modified into a STICKY for FDMB.

I really dig having intelligent friends :cool:
 
Awww...look at Bat-Bat, she is so trim and svelte now! I always loved black kitties, they look like a little panther! I am taking your advice and will ease into 2 meals a day for all of my cats. Rupert has been on 3 meals for the last two days. My civvies are on a 4 meals a day schedule, mainly because I have an over eater, but I will ease them into the 2 meal a day schedule also. It will make my life easier for sure. I have been trying to use pets and praise for BG tests, he seems to be ok with that, so there is a treat I can leave out. I agree, that little piece of chicken or salmon seems so small, but guess when you consider their size, it is a mouthful! I will do 9 oz a day, right now I have Friskies, budget is getting tight right now, so I will score and be careful with the portions. I will weigh him daily, that seems smart. (wouldn't hurt me either :rolleyes:) I think 9 oz is a good amount for now, when I was feeding him 7 to 8 oz, he really seemed like he was miserable. Since I upped his portions, he seems more content, even though he still yowls for more food a lot and is on high alert whenever I venture into the kitchen! I want to see his numbers better too! :arghh: I was feeling like I was making things worse for him, just really frustrating sometimes. :banghead: Thank you so much Robin, I feel inspired to put on those big girl pants and use some "tough love" when needed! You are the bestest~ :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry! My "Fat Fingers"here won't allow me to select what I want to post!
I was reminded of something I heard once..
A rancher was faced with a dilemma during a vicious, random snow storm on his small ranch. He ran out of food and hay, completely with a shed full of animals! I forget how long he had to go, until an emergency food drop but it was several days with only water! And love!
He and his entire family would spend hours grooming and talking to one, then the other, in lieu of the food. It was all that he could do. He was amazed at the calm resolve in the shed, and not one animal crying out in hunger or distress.
I don't tell a story like dear Robin does! But you get the picture, I'm sure!
Ain't that cool!? ;)
 
That is a great story, Brenda and great advice too! Rupert hasn't been much interested in play, but I do try to pet and massage him when he seems extra howly and upset. It helps, for awhile at least. I am going to keep trying different things, the larger meals seem to be helping, except it seemed he needs less at the PMPS feeding. He went higher last night when I checked his BG @ +3 and he was high at AMPS. Maybe it was the food, but I checked and the Friskies Salmon is pretty low in carbs. I am going to buy the very lowest carb foods, thank goodness for Binky's list! Maybe he is insulin resistant, or needs a different insulin ???? I don't know, I am doing the best I can, but feeling a bit discouraged. I am not giving up, just wish he would start having better numbers soon. :( Thanks again for all your help here. :bighug:
 
I think I'd raise the dose, Lisa. He is dropping for nadir but he has room to drop. It may cause bouncing for awhile but I would hold it and see if he flattens out. Maybe 2.25 or 2.5 - the higher dose if you can monitor and feel comfortable doing it.

My guess is that he has gotten used to the higher levels and needs to be pushed a little. If this doesn't work, then you could try one of the depot insulins. He may still bounce but you'll know it isn't because the insulin isn't lasting long enough.

The other thing to remember is that it has only been a month, right? With many, many cats, it takes closer to 3 months, even six before you start seeing lower ranges overall. We see the kitties that come here and are off in a couple weeks. Most often, that is the food change doing most of the work. With most cats, it takes the insulin working together and for some, that takes several months.
 
I was wondering if I should raise his dose, Sue. I will start tomorrow, since he already had his AMPS and I can't monitor as well at PMPS. I am already giving him a Fat 2 U, so I will bumped it up to 2.5. Which insulins are the depots? Lantus? I will do some reading. I might have to wait on that a bit, I spent so much on his current insulin,vet bills, supplies (also other civvie vet bill recently) not much left in the budget right now. :( It is been about a month, guess I was hoping for better results by now, but it's comforting to know this is not unusual. Thank you, I will keep on trying till I get this right! :bighug:
 
Just for clarification, he does not go outside, but sometimes he goes on my screened lanai and it's Florida, where fleas just seem to breed in the air! :mad: Ugh!
 
Just for clarification, he does not go outside, but sometimes he goes on my screened lanai and it's Florida, where fleas just seem to breed in the air! :mad: Ugh!
I hear that!!! I used to live in FL (ages ago) ... it's a beautiful place, but the fleas (& sand fleas, too) can be such a pain! What I really hated were the "Palmetto bugs." I always figured that the Chambers of Commerce & tourism bureaus in FL came up with that rather innocuous name for those GIANT, FLYING COCKROACHES!:eek:

Sorry to see that you're bummed out about Rupert's #s, but Sue's right: Takes awhile. He'll get there ... you just tweak where the SS patterns start "telling" you to tweak, slip into those patience pants ;) and ... (Really, I know that frustrated feeling so well. We all do!) Keep your chin up, kiddo!:bighug:
 
Lol, so true Robin, I HATE those Palmetto bugs to pieces! LMAO over the FL tourism bit! :D:D I grew up in Florida and remember being afraid to go to the bathroom at night, seems there was always a giant "Palmetto bug" lurking in the bathroom! :eek: They are pretty aggressive too, they don't run away when you stomp at them, they seem to come at you! :eek::eek: My newest fear are the GINORMOUS grasshopper/locust! OMG, there was one on my hibiscus the other day that was as long as my hand! It took me 40 mins to gather up the courage to cut it's head off with my loppers! I screamed....lots. I thought about mounting it's head on a spike to warn others to STAY AWAY! Ah, the joys of living in the tropics! Thanks for the laughs, humor helps me cope! My chin is a bit higher now. :) :bighug:
 
Hey, Lynn - that grasshopper thing sure isn't confined to the tropics ... Back in the 80's, I was living in Coal Creek Canyon outside of Golden, CO
(very high altitude) & one summer we were hit with a plague of locusts that was darned near apocalyptic!:eek: We're talking a CLOUD of locusts in the air & a CARPET of locusts on the ground. <crunch, crunch> Ugh! I came home from work one day & my Doberman's outdoor water bucket was literally filled & overflowing with locusts.:arghh: She refused go outside except to do her business (in record time) - who could blame her?:nailbiting: (Yikes, I still get the willies today, just writing about that ...)
 
I always remember that story, whenever my babies act out about FOOD.
I try to distract them by playing, or attention and get them off their tangent.
Sneaky.
Good advice and I will try harder to distract him from his food obsession bouts. I was checking out Tucker's SS, very interesting and it made me realize that I am not the only one doing the "sugar cat" dance! Good luck to you and Tucker, he has had some great numbers there and you were able to reduce his insulin even. :joyful: There is hope!
 
BRAVO Robin!!!
Super excellent post!!
This needs modified into a STICKY for FDMB. I really dig having intelligent friends :cool:
<blush> (Aw, shucks ... now I'm embarrassed. And I think I'm more persistent than intelligent - mixed with a little bit o' crazy!)
Thank you, Brenda.
 
Hey, Lynn - that grasshopper thing sure isn't confined to the tropics ... Back in the 80's, I was living in Coal Creek Canyon outside of Golden, CO
(very high altitude) & one summer we were hit with a plague of locusts that was darned near apocalyptic!:eek: We're talking a CLOUD of locusts in the air & a CARPET of locusts on the ground. <crunch, crunch> Ugh! I came home from work one day & my Doberman's outdoor water bucket was literally filled & overflowing with locusts.:arghh: She refused go outside except to do her business (in record time) - who could blame her?:nailbiting: (Yikes, I still get the willies today, just writing about that ...)
Oh my that would be horrible! Gives me the willies just reading it! :eek: Where were the seagulls to save you? I was living in South Dakota till recently and we would get the late summer locust thing, but never that bad, thank goodness! These are fewer in number, but really BIG, they just freak me out! :nailbiting: :eek: I also lived in CO many years ago, Boulder, Gold Hill, Netherland and Denver. I was young and moving around a bit, really liked CO, but eventually moved back to FL for a bit. Left again for almost 30 yrs and just recently moved back. Things sure have changed here and NOT for the better! Here's a couple pics of these FL bad boys!
locust 1.jpg
locust 2.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top