Need some advice please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Victoria&Buttons

Member Since 2013
Hey everybody!
I don't know if any of you remember me or not but I had to make a new account as my email got hacked therefor explaining my little info on Buttons SS.

I do need some insight though. Her sugars seem to be lower in the morning so I panic, don't shoot or reduce the dose and she seems to spike WAY up in the evening. I don't know what to do.

Also what's the lowest number for her sugars to be to conclude not giving insulin that time? I am so scared of her going too low especially if i cant be home. For the most part shes on 0.5U of Levemir.
Again sorry for so little info right now :(
 
How low yo can shoot depends upon how much data yo have. When I click on your SS link I get

You need permission

Want in? Ask the owner for access, or switch to an account with permission. Learn more



Request access
 
Except for the sort of low AMPSs on teh 7th and the 9th, there is little change in the BG.Anything unusual previous evenings? Like not eating much, vomiting?
 
Nope, everything was normal. She ate fine, acted normal. No vomiting. Those two low reading scare me though and i dont get why they'd go that low as per the rest of her readings
 
The nadir (low point) on cats can vary. You don't know for sure that the preshot tess you are getting are the lowest points in her cycle.she is likely dropping even lower at night. And maybe even so low that she will need a decrease.

Can I recommend you get two more tests a day for the next few days? A spot check during the day and night. Ie 7-9hours after the morning shot and one before bed. That way you might catch the low and we can also get a better idea of what's going on if you keep us updated.

I saw you reduced the dose to 0.25, I would hold that for a few days to see how it goes now that you have started. Unless she drops under 50.

Wendy
 
Sorry! I didnt read this until after I did her evening shot, but yes, Ill try get some more shots.
Its just hard for me to understand her being SO high at night and reducing her dose, but is she spiking maybe because she goes too low? Gah!


Is Levemir okay if not refrigerated? Also I'm feeding her two cans of Fancy Feast Pate a day, should i be feeding her more or is that okay?
 
I believe all insulins need to be refrigerated (not in the door, inside where it won't be jostled a lot)

I can't really address the feeding question, I let my kitties decide how much they want.
 
That 2 cans of Fancy Feast is 6 ounces and about 180 calories. It depends on what Buttons weight is, she may need more food since diabetic too.

One formula we use to determine food needs is 15 calories per pound plus 70. Unregulated diabetic may need up to 50% more.

For example:
10 pounds * 15 = 150 +70 = 220 calories minimum for that 10 pound cat
10 pound unregulated diabetic 220 + 50% = 330 calories.

Is she still really hungry?

If you could put some info in your signature, that would be helpful to us. Look at mine for some examples of the type of data we put there.
 
Yea she still is really hungry. I have her an extra can of food at lunch today and she was a happy kitty :)

I'm just so stressed about her sugars. I don't get why it's staying so low in the morning :(
 
Well first of all it isnt that low. Secondly not all cats nadirs are where they are in theory supposed to be (5-7hours after shot). She might not eat as much at night which takes her low.. and Lastly she could be bouncing

Bouncing would explain it.. and we can look for that if you get more tests in

Wendy
 
Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using a human glucometer:

< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if HYPO
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50.
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top