Sara and Buttercup
Member
my cat has been on steroids and it has reaised her bg to the low to mid 200's and it's hoving there for about a month. i guess i'll be starting her back on glargine. vet says start with 1/2 unit once a day. i have given my cat insulin for over 5 years but it's been quite awhile since she's been on it, maybe i year. i forgot alot of stuff.
so i know i am supposed to do glargine 2 times per day but i don't know if i can handle it with my schedule.
i guess my main questions are, once i start the insulin (prob tomorrow night because i can't afford it until i get paid) when and how do i do the glucose curve? i remember glargine not having a specific low point(i used it on her for about two month previously) and then i did it twice a day. i was shooting into anything over 150. iknow alot of you guys shoot alot lower but a "fat 0" was dropping her like 80 to 100 points if i remember correctly.
i am planning on testing first to get her preshot number and then injecting the insulin maybe around 5 pm or so.
do i start testing right away or do i give it a day or two or three before staring to test after the shot?
her bg is ranging from about 200 to 250 and not going much higher, sometimes she is under 200 and this is without insulin but i know the longer i wait to start, the more her pancreas will be damaged. she's been on two remissions, this being her second but the budesonide raised it back up to this level.
i am alos going to be lowering the budesonide dose at the same time.
i guess i could wait a few days after lowering the busonide dose to see if that bring it down before staring the insulin. what do you think about that?
what a damn pain.
doing 2 to three sub q's a day for different kidney cats and literaly about 10 meds/other procedues a day on the cats and working more than full time outside in blazing hot weather.
cat ranging in age from about 11 to 16.
so tired. anyway, thanks for the heelp.
my diabetic is doing ok. but i could use the help of people here again like i have in the past once she goes back on the insulin.
yesterday she was at 237.
internal med specialist gave me ok to go to every other day with her budesonide dose which is at .375 mg per day and i'm going to every other day. i guess i'll start the skip tonight and test bg tomorrow night just in case it starts to come down right away.
maybe, maybe it will start coming down with lowering the dose. i'll wait at least another 24 hours before starting the insulin.
thanks very much for your help and support.
so i know i am supposed to do glargine 2 times per day but i don't know if i can handle it with my schedule.
i guess my main questions are, once i start the insulin (prob tomorrow night because i can't afford it until i get paid) when and how do i do the glucose curve? i remember glargine not having a specific low point(i used it on her for about two month previously) and then i did it twice a day. i was shooting into anything over 150. iknow alot of you guys shoot alot lower but a "fat 0" was dropping her like 80 to 100 points if i remember correctly.
i am planning on testing first to get her preshot number and then injecting the insulin maybe around 5 pm or so.
do i start testing right away or do i give it a day or two or three before staring to test after the shot?
her bg is ranging from about 200 to 250 and not going much higher, sometimes she is under 200 and this is without insulin but i know the longer i wait to start, the more her pancreas will be damaged. she's been on two remissions, this being her second but the budesonide raised it back up to this level.
i am alos going to be lowering the budesonide dose at the same time.
i guess i could wait a few days after lowering the busonide dose to see if that bring it down before staring the insulin. what do you think about that?
what a damn pain.
doing 2 to three sub q's a day for different kidney cats and literaly about 10 meds/other procedues a day on the cats and working more than full time outside in blazing hot weather.
cat ranging in age from about 11 to 16.
so tired. anyway, thanks for the heelp.
my diabetic is doing ok. but i could use the help of people here again like i have in the past once she goes back on the insulin.
yesterday she was at 237.
internal med specialist gave me ok to go to every other day with her budesonide dose which is at .375 mg per day and i'm going to every other day. i guess i'll start the skip tonight and test bg tomorrow night just in case it starts to come down right away.
maybe, maybe it will start coming down with lowering the dose. i'll wait at least another 24 hours before starting the insulin.
thanks very much for your help and support.