Need quick advice on dose vetsulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mshaas75

Member Since 2016
Please see my spreadsheet. Normally I give 3 units but her preshot was 417 which is low for her. Should I cut her dose back tonight to maybe 2.5 units. Please help it's time to shoot
 
You've shot these numbers before. If you have lots of test strips, a hypo kit on board (which you should always have anyway) and the time to monitor you could shoot the 3 units. As long as you can monitor for the first 5 hours or so, you have shot this dose at this sort of number, If you can't monitor then you could shoot a reduced dose. A +2 test would be a good starting point


ETA Are you using a human meter or a pet meter
 
I think you need to go with your gut feeling, has she eaten ok? She is not used to those red pre-shot numbers but if you wanted to reduce to 2.5 tonight then I think that would be ok. She did have a drop of around 300 points on your curve so it is likely she will hit a blue number at some point overnight. You have shot 3 before on a red number.
 
Ok I gave her the 3 units. She usually peaks by 5+ before it starts to rise. I will to extra checking to make sure she doesn't go to low. Thanks
 
You've shot these numbers before. If you have lots of test strips, a hypo kit on board (which you should always have anyway) and the time to monitor you could shoot the 3 units. As long as you can monitor for the first 5 hours or so, you have shot this dose at this sort of number, If you can't monitor then you could shoot a reduced dose. A +2 test would be a good starting point


ETA Are you using a human meter or a pet meter
I use a human meter relion prime from Walmart
 
I would have done the 3 u too, and then test at +3 or +4 to see how things are going. that's one of your best preshots... good.
 
I would have done the 3 u too, and then test at +3 or +4 to see how things are going. that's one of your best preshots... good.
I know!!! I am starting to rethink the switch to Lantus. My mom sent me a Lantus pen if I do decide to switch. I'm not making any changes for at least another 10 days
 
I know!!! I am starting to rethink the switch to Lantus. My mom sent me a Lantus pen if I do decide to switch. I'm not making any changes for at least another 10 days
I've been having pretty decent results lately on the Vetsulin. I wish I had started testing right after she was diagnosed. I think if I had she would be much further along now... but just in the 3 1/2 weeks that I've been keeping track her numbers have come down quite a bit including the preshot numbers. The first week I tested her am preshot numbers averaged 428. two weeks later her am preshot numbers average 286.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top