Yes I can monitor. I will shoot the 3 and keep an eye
I use a human meter relion prime from WalmartYou've shot these numbers before. If you have lots of test strips, a hypo kit on board (which you should always have anyway) and the time to monitor you could shoot the 3 units. As long as you can monitor for the first 5 hours or so, you have shot this dose at this sort of number, If you can't monitor then you could shoot a reduced dose. A +2 test would be a good starting point
ETA Are you using a human meter or a pet meter
I know!!! I am starting to rethink the switch to Lantus. My mom sent me a Lantus pen if I do decide to switch. I'm not making any changes for at least another 10 daysI would have done the 3 u too, and then test at +3 or +4 to see how things are going. that's one of your best preshots... good.
I've been having pretty decent results lately on the Vetsulin. I wish I had started testing right after she was diagnosed. I think if I had she would be much further along now... but just in the 3 1/2 weeks that I've been keeping track her numbers have come down quite a bit including the preshot numbers. The first week I tested her am preshot numbers averaged 428. two weeks later her am preshot numbers average 286.I know!!! I am starting to rethink the switch to Lantus. My mom sent me a Lantus pen if I do decide to switch. I'm not making any changes for at least another 10 days