Need new vet

motherofjasper

Member Since 2025
Hi guys, I'm looking for a vet that will support the use of human glucometers . Southern NH Dover Rochester etc

Thanks
 
Last edited:
If you need a vets permission to use a human monitor, he's not the vet for you, first of all that is your decision, it is your cat, therefore you need to be in control of 'what is best for you for comfort as well as financially, Pet meter's strips are outrageously expensive and not so accurate, I can say that 90% of the world members here use a human monitor, most in US use the ReliOn Premier monitor and strips, purchased at Walmart, $19.99 for the monitor and $9.00 for 50 strips or $17.88 for 100, always good to have extra strips handy especially when you ar4e beginning to learn how to test. ;) :cat:
 
Exactly! Been using this vet for many years and now it's time to move on. They're the most expensive in my area but I use them out of convenience. Not real happy but like I said time to move on. I'll fill in more this weekend when I'm home. Ya it's crazy, she told me to get an alphatrak, the strips are 65 bucks for 50 pcs lmao. Don't think so! I haven't updated my signature but I've been testing for about a week now. Did a curve last weekend and intermediate testing during the week. Confused by the spreadsheet but I'll have another look this weekend. I'm using the Relion premier classic.

I sent her all my notes yesterday and the only feedback I got was to go get a different meter because home testing is so unreliable. I also cancelled his BG curve for Monday. Just saved 175 bucks right there
 
Seems like a good idea.

Another thing you could try - there is a members map under the members tab here on the forum. You could look if there’s anyone in your area on there and reach out to them. Only caveat with the map is the locations are generalized, and only shows folks who have their information public.
 
You can do a Free Curve on your own and non stress your cat is simply testing every two hours for a cycle (12 hours) free of charge!!!
 
Most vets that are familiar with Feline diabetes know about our Forum and are very please we follow it. Make sure you new vet Is knowledgeable on FD before you make a decision, remember, you are in control! You know your cat better than the vet and you have been getting a lot of consistent information here from many members that have experience in treating our diabetic fue babies, this Forum hace saved many cats lives and free of charge, the members here are dedicated and volunteer their time to help us in this journey
 
This post might help your search: Vet Interview/Screening Topics & Check List

If you are open to figuring out to change doses using our dosing methods and help, you don't really need a pet meter, or the vet for that part of diabetes management. My vet wasn't familiar with Lantus, but once I showed her some spreadsheets and the dosing method, she trusted what I was doing. Diabetes discussions consisted of her asking "what is her current dose" and the rest of the vet visit was about other conditions.
 
Back
Top