I posted a few weeks ago on the general board about having problems getting my cat, Fred, regulated on Lantus. (viewtopic.php?f=28&t=64927) He started on Lantus 1/9 , got up to 4 U bid and then reduced to 3.5 U bid and at around 8 weeks was not getting any significant reductions in glucose (note I was not home testing, so all I had were weekly, random #s). I've been reducing his dose to rule-out rebound/Somogyi and just starting home testing with any regularity about a week ago (still not a pro at it like some of you - so, sorry I don't have all the numbers to fill-in on a spreadsheet).
There is kind of a pattern of cycles where 1 shot appears to have little or no effect and then the next shot works better; the pattern is also that he goes lower within the 1st 4 hours of the shot and is climbing back up the rest of the day (which seems odd because he eats near the time of shot which should raise the glucose and because Lantus is not supposed to have a peak effect like that). (For example, yesterday he had a drastic drop after a.m. shot 578 to 279 in 4 hours, then today's a.m. shot is not having much effect; and on 3/9 the a.m. shot basically had no effect and then after the p.m. shot, he went from >600 to 282 in 8 hours.) Could it be that his body fights it when the levels drop so drastically/quickly causing it to dump glucose to get the numbers higher and then he is insulin-resistant for at least a cycle (like the Somogyi effect) (and if so, does that mean he is on too much insulin) OR is that just evidence of diabetic insulin-resistance and the fluctuations are from his body working in spurts OR is something else going on?
3/1 @ 3 U bid
451 amps
369 +4
593 pmps
3/2 @ 3 U bid
595 amps
3/3 @ 3 U bid
>600 amps+5.5
3/4 @ 3 U bid
547 amps
3/5 @ 3 U bid
567 amps
552 +2
>600 +8
___(start reducing dose to rule out rebound)
3/6 @ 2.5 U bid
>600 amps
509 +2.5
551 +6.5
3/7 @ 2.25 U bid (may have only given .25 for pm (fur shot)
>600 amps
482 +10.5
3/8 @ 2 U bid
562 pmps+9 (4 am)
578 amps+4
448 +10.5
3/9 @ 2 U bid
555 amps
550 +4
587 +6.5
534 +6
>600 pmps
3/10 @ 2 U bid
282 pmps+8 (3 am)
560 amps
460 +4
477 +8
500 +10
* (pm shot given 15 min’s early to help account for time change next am)
3/11 @ 2 U bid
456 pmps+8 (3 am)
578 amps *(gave 45 min’s early due to time change)
279 +4
382 +6
481 +10.5
476 pmps+3.5
3/12 @ 2 U bid
509 amps
458 +3
(Additional Info: Fred is 15 lbs. He eats after his a.m. shot and an hour or so before his p.m. shot; each meal, he eats about 1.5 oz. chicken baby food, 2 oz. FF chicken classic with 1 oz. added water and occassionaly gets a bite of Purina DM dry from other cat's bowl; he sometimes eats another 1-2 oz. of FF later in the morning. No increased water in-take at this time (he did have it early-on), no increased urine, no keytones in urine tested yesterday.)
Adding Spreadsheet.
There is kind of a pattern of cycles where 1 shot appears to have little or no effect and then the next shot works better; the pattern is also that he goes lower within the 1st 4 hours of the shot and is climbing back up the rest of the day (which seems odd because he eats near the time of shot which should raise the glucose and because Lantus is not supposed to have a peak effect like that). (For example, yesterday he had a drastic drop after a.m. shot 578 to 279 in 4 hours, then today's a.m. shot is not having much effect; and on 3/9 the a.m. shot basically had no effect and then after the p.m. shot, he went from >600 to 282 in 8 hours.) Could it be that his body fights it when the levels drop so drastically/quickly causing it to dump glucose to get the numbers higher and then he is insulin-resistant for at least a cycle (like the Somogyi effect) (and if so, does that mean he is on too much insulin) OR is that just evidence of diabetic insulin-resistance and the fluctuations are from his body working in spurts OR is something else going on?
3/1 @ 3 U bid
451 amps
369 +4
593 pmps
3/2 @ 3 U bid
595 amps
3/3 @ 3 U bid
>600 amps+5.5
3/4 @ 3 U bid
547 amps
3/5 @ 3 U bid
567 amps
552 +2
>600 +8
___(start reducing dose to rule out rebound)
3/6 @ 2.5 U bid
>600 amps
509 +2.5
551 +6.5
3/7 @ 2.25 U bid (may have only given .25 for pm (fur shot)
>600 amps
482 +10.5
3/8 @ 2 U bid
562 pmps+9 (4 am)
578 amps+4
448 +10.5
3/9 @ 2 U bid
555 amps
550 +4
587 +6.5
534 +6
>600 pmps
3/10 @ 2 U bid
282 pmps+8 (3 am)
560 amps
460 +4
477 +8
500 +10
* (pm shot given 15 min’s early to help account for time change next am)
3/11 @ 2 U bid
456 pmps+8 (3 am)
578 amps *(gave 45 min’s early due to time change)
279 +4
382 +6
481 +10.5
476 pmps+3.5
3/12 @ 2 U bid
509 amps
458 +3
(Additional Info: Fred is 15 lbs. He eats after his a.m. shot and an hour or so before his p.m. shot; each meal, he eats about 1.5 oz. chicken baby food, 2 oz. FF chicken classic with 1 oz. added water and occassionaly gets a bite of Purina DM dry from other cat's bowl; he sometimes eats another 1-2 oz. of FF later in the morning. No increased water in-take at this time (he did have it early-on), no increased urine, no keytones in urine tested yesterday.)
Adding Spreadsheet.