Need immediate help for dosing

If no ketones, or DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis) than you could skip the shot.

Have not caught up yet on what has been going on. Only the extremely low number for last night, that 37 in the PM cycle.

My recommendation may change, once I catch up.
I haven't been able to catch any urine yet.
 
If no ketones, or DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis) than you could skip the shot.

Have not caught up yet on what has been going on. Only the extremely low number for last night, that 37 in the PM cycle.

My recommendation may change, once I catch up.
She's four times a day 7am 1pm 7pm 1am
She usually eats anywhere from 0.8 to 1.2 oz at the 1 am and 1pm .. the other two times she usually eats 1.4 oz maybe a little more maybe just a little less
 
Ok, so that sounds like Lucy ate normally.
Please post a reply when you get the PMPS (PM or evening pre-shot) test.

Some cats can be really sensitive to insulin, when they drop into the 30's or 40's.

Maybe only a token dose would be right.
Maybe a skipped shot would be right.

Don't know yet.
 
Ok, so that sounds like Lucy ate normally.
Please post a reply when you get the PMPS (PM or evening pre-shot) test.
Will definitely do usually I wait until after I test her blood to post a thread and by the time everybody responds I'm freaking out. That's why I got ahead of it tonight
 
I'm normally headed off to sleep around this time.
Be right back. Need to do something for 2 minutes.

p.s. If I don't respond, look at the bottom of the post, and you will see that I have at least "Liked" your post to let you know I've read it.
 
Thank you @Deb & Wink and @tiffmaxee for your help.
My brain cells are tired. I do not plan on staying in front of a computer screen.

Amber, you've got this. Look how much you are learning. One day, you will be able to support and help someone else. It does get easier, I promise.
Thanks for the confidence in me. I know it's just when she threw me for that big loop yesterday and the other day.i just been scrambling to figure it all out
 
Her PMPS is 205, there's two threads running but this one seems to be the active one.
Yeah I didn't know how to change it to immediate dosing so I just made a second thread I'll know better next time. So is it okay to feed her and then hopefully somebody answer me on what I should give her insulin
 
Ok.

I think you should reduce the dose to 0.5U for the forseeable future.
Unless of course, Lucy drops below 90 mg/dL again, then you would reduce the dose by another 0.25U.

Option 2 is to give a token dose, maybe 0.1U, which would be barely above the very first line on your syringes.
Option 3 is to skip the dose. You can pick up again in the morning. You might prefer this option, if you need to catch up on your sleep.

So the question for you @8catsplus2 is, do you feel like staying up tonight to test a bit? Or can you set an alarm to wake you up?
If not, then skip the dose please.
 
Ok.

I think you should reduce the dose to 0.5U for the forseeable future.
Unless of course, Lucy drops below 90 mg/dL again, then you would reduce the dose by another 0.25U.

Option 2 is to give a token dose, maybe 0.1U, which would be barely above the very first line on your syringes.
Option 3 is to skip the dose. You can pick up again in the morning. You might prefer this option, if you need to catch up on your sleep.

So the question for you @8catsplus2 is, do you feel like staying up tonight to test a bit? Or can you set an alarm to wake you up?
If not, then skip the dose please.
A question for @Deb & Wink How often should I test her throughout the night in early morning if I skip a dose.
 
If you skip, you can get the next test in the morning.
Although if you are awake, you could get 1 more test before you head off to sleep. For the data value, to see how high she goes. So a +2 if possible.

Prozinc is what is known as an in and out insulin. Duration is 12-14 hours or so. No overlap in dose from one shot to the next. Not like the depot insulins, lantus and levemir.
 
Back
Top