Gizmo153
Member Since 2018
My soulmate Gizmo, 12 year old Tabby was recently diagnosed with diabetes 2 1/2 weeks ago. A month ago I took him to our great vet and he had a uper respiratory infection (he has feline herpes) and didn’t get better from his first round of antibiotics... in fact he got worse. Went back and thats when vet did blood tests and put him on another antibiotic. He hasn’t been his normal playing self.
He never just walked a few steps and layed down. He started laying in weird not typical spots. At first, I was shocked and totally expecting him to be lowering his blood glucose once we got our home bg monitor. Instead, he was high.. around 500. It hit me like a brick that he wasn’t improving. He started off on 2 units of insulin x 2 a day with modifications to his prescription diet.
Anyways, yesterday the vet increased his insulin to 3 units x2. I took his bg 5 hours later and its 210! He was just 444 yesterday. I decided to work from home half the day because I was worried what if his numbers started to drop.. which leads me to this discussion board.
I have been none stop worrying about him since the diagnosis. The best way to describe his current self is he is okay but not thriving. He isn’t completely himself.. which leads me to this group.
My husband and I both work and don’t have family close. How did you deal with the changes and not come home from work everyday during lunch just to make sure hes not dropping to low?
How do I let go of this constant worrying that if I am at work and he gets to low? I know it takes time to regulate but I didn’t expect a 200 point drop. Yes, I am happy about the number bc its showing improvements.. but also wanting to be there for him all the time. I want to be there for him and I cannot work from home everyday.
How did you deal with the anxiety and fear with this disease? I am trying to be positive but keep getting this fear that what if he gets to low and im not there for him? I know I have the knowledge to not give him insulin if he is to low but I am still scared.
Did anyone else get upset knowing your cat’s body is losing weight? My cat didn’t need to lose weight and went from 13 to 10 pounds. This is also breaking my heart. Knowing he is eating but despite eating he is still losing weight due to not being regulated yet.
I apologize for the emotional post but appreciate any insight and guidance. Thank you!
He never just walked a few steps and layed down. He started laying in weird not typical spots. At first, I was shocked and totally expecting him to be lowering his blood glucose once we got our home bg monitor. Instead, he was high.. around 500. It hit me like a brick that he wasn’t improving. He started off on 2 units of insulin x 2 a day with modifications to his prescription diet.
Anyways, yesterday the vet increased his insulin to 3 units x2. I took his bg 5 hours later and its 210! He was just 444 yesterday. I decided to work from home half the day because I was worried what if his numbers started to drop.. which leads me to this discussion board.
I have been none stop worrying about him since the diagnosis. The best way to describe his current self is he is okay but not thriving. He isn’t completely himself.. which leads me to this group.
My husband and I both work and don’t have family close. How did you deal with the changes and not come home from work everyday during lunch just to make sure hes not dropping to low?
How do I let go of this constant worrying that if I am at work and he gets to low? I know it takes time to regulate but I didn’t expect a 200 point drop. Yes, I am happy about the number bc its showing improvements.. but also wanting to be there for him all the time. I want to be there for him and I cannot work from home everyday.
How did you deal with the anxiety and fear with this disease? I am trying to be positive but keep getting this fear that what if he gets to low and im not there for him? I know I have the knowledge to not give him insulin if he is to low but I am still scared.
Did anyone else get upset knowing your cat’s body is losing weight? My cat didn’t need to lose weight and went from 13 to 10 pounds. This is also breaking my heart. Knowing he is eating but despite eating he is still losing weight due to not being regulated yet.
I apologize for the emotional post but appreciate any insight and guidance. Thank you!