nannersfriend
Member Since 2011
Hi, I'm Paula and Nanner is my foster cat. He is a 8yr old siamese mix, weighs about 5.5 pounds and has a floppy ear and really pretty blue eyes. He was brought to the vet the shelter I volunteer at uses, to be PTS with the family saying they could not afford to keep him. The vet convinced them to surrender him to the shelter rather than PTS, the shelter accepted them knowing that they had two volunteers (my husband and I) who are experienced with sugarcats. When Nanner was brought to the shelter he had just spent about a month at the vets being "regulated" and was on 7U Pro Zinc BID, and prescription W/D 1/3C BID. The first opportunity I had to test him at the shelter my meter (I'm diabetic too) just read HIGH. That's when we decided it would be best to foster Nan.
We got him off the W/D and on to low carb canned food, 4% or less, and reduced his insulin to 1U BID. His numbers have always been somewhat all over the place so on 6/17 we started all over, and did not give any insulin for 48 hours. When we started the insulin again we started with .5U BID, we are now at .6 BID. His numbers are still all over the place. To make things worse he's really dropping a LOT on the .6U and he got a few bites of dry both yesterday and this morning by accident and now has diarreah too. I posted earlier on the Health board and it was suggested I post over here, also someone said his spreadsheet wasn't displaying recent entries so:
07/03/11 AMPS 394 +6 174
07/02/11 AMPS 278 +5 134/PMPS 244 +3.5 268
07/01/11 AMPS 328 +5 157/PMPS 62
06/30/11 AMPS 345 +6 255/PMPS 366
06/29/11 AMPS 299 /PMPS 372
06/28/11 AMPS 250 /PMPS 351
I guess my question is where do I go from here? Today he went from 394 down to 174 on .6U, and that was AFTER he got into the kibble by accident. Add to that he's got runny poops - probably from eating the kibble which is high fibre for our IBS girl Lucy. I'm almost afraid to give him more insulin today, especially after the 62 on 7/1. I double checked that one with my meter and test strips from another box and got 59 on it so I know it wasn't a bad test or something, he really was that low. Any help would be very much appreciated.
Paula & Nan
We got him off the W/D and on to low carb canned food, 4% or less, and reduced his insulin to 1U BID. His numbers have always been somewhat all over the place so on 6/17 we started all over, and did not give any insulin for 48 hours. When we started the insulin again we started with .5U BID, we are now at .6 BID. His numbers are still all over the place. To make things worse he's really dropping a LOT on the .6U and he got a few bites of dry both yesterday and this morning by accident and now has diarreah too. I posted earlier on the Health board and it was suggested I post over here, also someone said his spreadsheet wasn't displaying recent entries so:
07/03/11 AMPS 394 +6 174
07/02/11 AMPS 278 +5 134/PMPS 244 +3.5 268
07/01/11 AMPS 328 +5 157/PMPS 62
06/30/11 AMPS 345 +6 255/PMPS 366
06/29/11 AMPS 299 /PMPS 372
06/28/11 AMPS 250 /PMPS 351
I guess my question is where do I go from here? Today he went from 394 down to 174 on .6U, and that was AFTER he got into the kibble by accident. Add to that he's got runny poops - probably from eating the kibble which is high fibre for our IBS girl Lucy. I'm almost afraid to give him more insulin today, especially after the 62 on 7/1. I double checked that one with my meter and test strips from another box and got 59 on it so I know it wasn't a bad test or something, he really was that low. Any help would be very much appreciated.
Paula & Nan