? Need help with Jett - Do I Skip?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PJ Brown

Member Since 2016
Jett has had 4 doses of the 1.0 unit of Levemir. He is responding based on the 2 yellow #s yesterday and today. Tonight, the first PMPS was 156. I tested 20 minutes later and he's at 149.

Should I give food and a lower dose? 0.5 units? These #s are SOOO much lower than previous AMPS and PMPS that I want to be very careful. I hope someone is online and can help me navigate this situation. In the mean time, I will continue to test in 20 minutes increments. He is eating YA dry food, but I haven't given him the Glycobalance canned yet. Thank you for your help!!

Most recent post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jetts-curve.174263/#post-1911757

Patti + Jett
 
Third PMPS test is 125......#s are dropping. :nailbiting: Do I give Glycobalance wet food and then test again in 20 minutes?
 
4th PMPS is 181 after wet food. What is the safest thing to do? Skip the shot? Do I stay at the 1.0 units tomorrow AM?
 
Tagging @Wendy&Neko & @julie & punkin (ga) . Last time you skipped on a blue PMPS on 2/8, he ended up high. But Jett is very unpredictable so hopefully Wendy or Julie will chime in, nice to see those blues though!
Thank you for tagging Wendy and Julie. I don't know how to do that. I feel like nothing makes me happy....high #s AND good #s are stressors. I am going to test again in a few minutes. I assume it will be higher from the food, which I think means it is artificially higher, so I shouldn't shoot. I am so lost on how to deal with this disease. I am leaving town in a few days with my parents coming to stay at the house and take care of Rhett & Jett and a vet tech coming to test and give Jett his shots. I'm a nervous wreck!!!!!!!! :nailbiting:
 
How long after normal shot time are you now? Can you monitor tonight if you need to and have plenty of strips and high carb food?
 
Thanks, Wendy. I was going to shoot at 8:30pm, so I'm an hour out. Will post an updated test in a few minutes. I can test up to 11:00pm. I teach tomorrow, so how often should I test tonight?

Thanks!
Patti
 
I'll also note than you shot a 187 on Feb 18th, so he's not much below that now. Kitties on Levemir often nadir around preshot time and he'll keep going up for quite a few hours yet until onset. The biggest question is how late you are now. Your shot tomorrow would be at the soonest 11.5 hours after your shot tonight. Can you afford to be off that much in the schedule?

As for your trip, post a day or two before you leave and ask for suggestions on a petsitter dose.
 
9:30pm test is 218. I guess my question is whether this increase in BG is food related and would an insulin shot send him too low. If not, then I can shoot at 9:45pm and tomorrow morning at 9:15am, right?
 
Sorry I didn't arrive in time to help, but I'm glad you went ahead and shot. Think of it like this - when you're doing something that gets progress, you don't want to stop doing it!! That blue preshot was awesome - although you do have to be able to monitor afterwards, and when you've gotta sleep so you can work . . . it's a conundrum sometimes!

Usually you can move a shot earlier by 30 minutes a day without having it affect the blood sugar too much - but it always depends on what's going on in the cycle. You might want to get a +11 in the morning so if you aren't sure, there is time to post here and ask for help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top