Scdal
Member Since 2020
After 2 weeks my new vet finally emailed me and adjusted Phoenix's insulin from 4 units to 6 units. Phoenix weighs 34 lbs and started on Lantus 2 weeks ago. This was Friday night and the clinic is not open on weekends.
I adjusted my cat's dose to 5 units over the weekend and his glucose still did not go down. The vet only has him taking Lantus once a day.
Yesterday afternoon, Monday, my vet finally looked at the email I had sent him over a week ago with my cat's weekly glucose readings that had risen to the high 300 and 400 levels. He emailed me back and said that since the Lantus only lasts 12 hours, he thinks it would be best to give him insulin twice a day and see how that works. He wants me to lower his morning units back to 4 and twelve hours later, give him 2 units.
Does this make any sense at all? At 5 units yesterday, his preshot reading was 401
Four hours later after giving 5 units his reading was 398. Another reading after 9 hours was still 398.
Can his eating better be keeping his blood glucose high? When he first started on insulin 2 weeks ago, he was barely eating and his insulin dropped dramatically. Now that he is eating better, his glucose is rising or remaining the same after the insulin.
I have been hesitant to go against what my vet tells me to do. But telling me to lower his insulin when his glucose is rising makes no sense to me. Please advise me what I should do. I am ready to listen.
I adjusted my cat's dose to 5 units over the weekend and his glucose still did not go down. The vet only has him taking Lantus once a day.
Yesterday afternoon, Monday, my vet finally looked at the email I had sent him over a week ago with my cat's weekly glucose readings that had risen to the high 300 and 400 levels. He emailed me back and said that since the Lantus only lasts 12 hours, he thinks it would be best to give him insulin twice a day and see how that works. He wants me to lower his morning units back to 4 and twelve hours later, give him 2 units.
Does this make any sense at all? At 5 units yesterday, his preshot reading was 401
Four hours later after giving 5 units his reading was 398. Another reading after 9 hours was still 398.
Can his eating better be keeping his blood glucose high? When he first started on insulin 2 weeks ago, he was barely eating and his insulin dropped dramatically. Now that he is eating better, his glucose is rising or remaining the same after the insulin.
I have been hesitant to go against what my vet tells me to do. But telling me to lower his insulin when his glucose is rising makes no sense to me. Please advise me what I should do. I am ready to listen.