Need help with dosing!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
Today was my first day back at work after a short break and I wasn't able to get back in time to give Shaikha's normal mid-day dose. By the time I did, at +11 after her AM dose of 1U (AMPS = 321), she was already up to 428. Not good. Obviously this cat cannot do b.i.d. just yet. I'm getting more duration on a higher dose, but not enough to hold her a full 12 hours. So, looks like we stay with t.i.d. for a while -- and that's probably best given how unpredictable she is anyway. One infection or other inflammatory process kicking up (as they always do) sends her over the edge so easily.

So, here's my dilemma... what do I do now? If I shoot a normal dose now (say 1U), I'll get her down some, that won't hold her until tomorrow AM. Or I could shoot a more normal amount right now to get her down and then recheck her before bed to see how high she is, then give a smaller dose depending on her level to tide her over until the AM. Or I could give a somewhat higher dose than usual to compensate for the fact that she's already high and hope it holds her until the AM.

Ideas??? I'm leaning to the last option, thinking maybe of giving 1.2U and see how that goes. That still would be much less insulin than she's been getting daily though. She's been getting 2.7-3.0 per day. She got 1U this AM. Tomorrow I'll try to get her back to her usual dosing schedule, but today was a mess.

HELP!! ohmygod_smile

PS: She's already in sort of an insulin deficit from yesterday, when she had fasting bloodwork done and then had a really weird pattern after that with a much longer duration than usual, so she didn't get her PM dose. Don't know if that makes a difference but look at her spreadsheet as she's really off schedule. Will do better tomorrow, promise!
 
try not to stress too much.
I know you are worried but it will be ok...
hang in there, and yes go with the last option
 
Okay, I went with the last option. She got 1.2U about +3.5 hours ago. She was down to 210 when I just checked now. She may drop a little more, but she tends to nadir early usually. Hopefully she won't be too high tomorrow. Hopefully she won't start bouncing all over the place with the weird dosing yesterday and today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top