Wendy and Oliver
Member Since 2012
Good Morning... I posted this to the Lantus Relaxed board a couple of hours ago, but nobody seems to be on. Then I posted to the regular Health forum and the advice given there was to come here and ask for your input.
Last night I introduced Oliver on the Health forum and didn't really expect to be needing advice so soon but Oliver's BG is 107 this morning so I don't know where to go from here. He has been on 2.5 u for the last 3 days. Previously to this morning he had been running in the 300's-400's again.
Here's a little background... Last Thursday his first reading of the day was 64 after having been on 3.5u for a couple of weeks. Oliver was alert and perky and not hypo by any means. He had a bit to eat and retested at 88. (The mornings prior he had been running in the low 300's.) So we skipped his am shot and his BG climbed steadily all day. By the time he was to get his pm shot he was 555. The vet had me reduce him to 3u at that time.
The next day...
7am... 261
Gave him 3u
1pm... 100
7pm... 262
Gave him 3u
The following day...
7am... 141
Skipped the injection because I couldn't reach my vet in time for advice and I would be away all day and unable to monitor Oliver. So of course his BG climbed all day. When I did finally hear from the vet she told me to drop him to 2.5u which is what he got that evening.
Since then his numbers ran high in the 300's-400's for the past two days. Now this morning at 7am we're seeing the 107. What should I do? I know if I don't shoot at all then we will keep bouncing all over the place... But I don't know what might be the right amount to give so he doesn't go hypo. I was trying to stick with my current injection schedule as I travel a lot and my cat sitter visits on a set schedule. (Side note: we're past his usual injection time now so I don't know if a small dose can be given at some point without starting on a new timetable or if I have to just wait and let things run their course and get back on track with his evening injection. Tested him again at 8:45am after he had eaten a little and he was up to 137.)
Need your input please about what to do next.
Thanks,
Wendy and Oliver
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:16 am
Top
Last night I introduced Oliver on the Health forum and didn't really expect to be needing advice so soon but Oliver's BG is 107 this morning so I don't know where to go from here. He has been on 2.5 u for the last 3 days. Previously to this morning he had been running in the 300's-400's again.
Here's a little background... Last Thursday his first reading of the day was 64 after having been on 3.5u for a couple of weeks. Oliver was alert and perky and not hypo by any means. He had a bit to eat and retested at 88. (The mornings prior he had been running in the low 300's.) So we skipped his am shot and his BG climbed steadily all day. By the time he was to get his pm shot he was 555. The vet had me reduce him to 3u at that time.
The next day...
7am... 261
Gave him 3u
1pm... 100
7pm... 262
Gave him 3u
The following day...
7am... 141
Skipped the injection because I couldn't reach my vet in time for advice and I would be away all day and unable to monitor Oliver. So of course his BG climbed all day. When I did finally hear from the vet she told me to drop him to 2.5u which is what he got that evening.
Since then his numbers ran high in the 300's-400's for the past two days. Now this morning at 7am we're seeing the 107. What should I do? I know if I don't shoot at all then we will keep bouncing all over the place... But I don't know what might be the right amount to give so he doesn't go hypo. I was trying to stick with my current injection schedule as I travel a lot and my cat sitter visits on a set schedule. (Side note: we're past his usual injection time now so I don't know if a small dose can be given at some point without starting on a new timetable or if I have to just wait and let things run their course and get back on track with his evening injection. Tested him again at 8:45am after he had eaten a little and he was up to 137.)
Need your input please about what to do next.
Thanks,
Wendy and Oliver
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:16 am
Top