Susan&Alex
Member Since 2012
I just started consistent home testing on Alex today (diagnosed 3 weeks ago, on Novalin N). Yesterday, he tested at 450 in the vet's office at +5 and was given subq fluids for dehydration. The vet said to increase to 6U from 5U. Here are his numbers today. Is it odd that it is dropping at +8 and +10? The vet said the peak would be at +5. I gave him 6U this morning. He didn't eat much this morning, so I fed him little snacks at times I checked on him.
AMPS 500>
+6 500>
+8 467
+10 357
I don't think it's wise to give him 6U tonight. He seemed to be doing ok with 5U all last week until Saturday when he showed signs of dehydration. I was able to get AM readings on him on Wed. and Thu: 387 and 433, respectively. I think he was on the upswing because of the dehydration.
Two weeks ago when he was on 4U, he went low one morning. He had a weird quiver, so I didn't give him insulin. He tested at 140 at the vet's office a few hours later. I asked about the Somogyi effect then and was totally discounted. The next day, he was over 600...so I was told to increase to 4.5U.
Responses from my first post support that my vet is incompetent, so that's pretty much established!
Susan & Alex
AMPS 500>
+6 500>
+8 467
+10 357
I don't think it's wise to give him 6U tonight. He seemed to be doing ok with 5U all last week until Saturday when he showed signs of dehydration. I was able to get AM readings on him on Wed. and Thu: 387 and 433, respectively. I think he was on the upswing because of the dehydration.
Two weeks ago when he was on 4U, he went low one morning. He had a weird quiver, so I didn't give him insulin. He tested at 140 at the vet's office a few hours later. I asked about the Somogyi effect then and was totally discounted. The next day, he was over 600...so I was told to increase to 4.5U.
Responses from my first post support that my vet is incompetent, so that's pretty much established!
Susan & Alex