Need help to interpret Oreo's BG SS, 60@+5, 76@+6, 106@+7, 165@+9

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elaine Lai

Member Since 2022
Hi all,
This is Elaine. So Oreo (AKA Bao) 13-yo, weight 9.3 pounds, was dx on 09/01/2022 due to urinary tract infection, and we started with Lantus 1U since then. Learned to do the BG testing and other things from super helpful info here. Last night we went through a minor Hypo although without any symptoms but we were scared. Also his BG SS didn't make much sense to me. I felt like walking in the mist. Would really appreciate any help to clear the air. Please check Oreo's SS from the signature section, thanks!
 
Previous post that was on the Lantus forum
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-20-oreo-bao-amps-486.268644/

Hi Elaine, Anytime Oreo drops under 68 on the Alpha Trak meter you need to reduce by 0.25 units. Please give Oreo 0.75 units tonight
Have you read the 2 dosing methods for Lantus
They will tell you when you need to decrease or increase the dose
I'll give you the link so you can read about lantus and the 2 dosing methods
so you can choose one and add it to your signature and spreadsheet up top where it asks you
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Do you have syringes with the half unit markings?
 
Last edited:
Previous post that was on the Lantus forum
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-20-oreo-bao-amps-486.268644/

Hi Elaine, Anytime Oreo drops under 68 on the Alpha Trak meter you need to reduce by 0.25 units. Please give Oreo 0.75 units tonight
Have you read the 2 dosing methods for Lantus
They will tell you when you need to decrease or increase the dose
I'll give you the link so you can read about lantus and the 2 dosing methods
so you can choose one and add it to your signature and spreadsheet up top where it asks you
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Do you have syringes with the half unit markings?
Yes, we have the syringes with half unit markings. Since we sent over the BG curve to the vet last Friday and she told us just sticking to the 1U seems fine so far, so we didn't adjust the insulin ourselves. Will have a vet appointment tomorrow to check his UTI culture. But he is having a bright green 60 right now. Am closely watching him.
 
Can you do me a favor go back to your title and after the ? Put NEW MEMBER
To do this look to the right and you will see the word Thread Tools tap on that and then tap on Edit Title add what I said and tap Save
 
Last edited:
You need to reduce to .75 any time there’s a bg under 68 when using an AT meter. If you choose to follow SLGS you reduce if under 90. Also if ever the bg is under 68 feed some hc and test again in 20-30 minutes. You might need to feed hc more than once to get to safer numbers. You don’t want a symptomatic hypo.
 
As others noted, if you are planning on following TR, Oreo signaled that the 1.0u of insulin is more than he needs. With dosing guidelines, it's not necessary to rely on your vet for guidance with regard to dose especially since your vet isn't going to be available 24/7. (Most human diabetics do not rely on their MD to adjust their insulin dose!)

What you're seeing on Oreo's spreadsheet is a drop in numbers followed by a "bounce." Oreo is dropping fast into dose reduction territory. He's not used to being in that range these days and as a result, his liver and pancreas panic and release a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones. This response causes the BG numbers to spike upward. It's a protective mechanism that most caregivers find to be initially confusing and ultimately annoying. However, it's a normal response that will eventually stop once Oreo is used to being back in more normal numbers. It can take unto 3 days for a bounce to clear (although it looks like Oreo is clearing the bounce more quickly).
 
As others noted, if you are planning on following TR, Oreo signaled that the 1.0u of insulin is more than he needs. With dosing guidelines, it's not necessary to rely on your vet for guidance with regard to dose especially since your vet isn't going to be available 24/7. (Most human diabetics do not rely on their MD to adjust their insulin dose!)

What you're seeing on Oreo's spreadsheet is a drop in numbers followed by a "bounce." Oreo is dropping fast into dose reduction territory. He's not used to being in that range these days and as a result, his liver and pancreas panic and release a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones. This response causes the BG numbers to spike upward. It's a protective mechanism that most caregivers find to be initially confusing and ultimately annoying. However, it's a normal response that will eventually stop once Oreo is used to being back in more normal numbers. It can take unto 3 days for a bounce to clear (although it looks like Oreo is clearing the bounce more quickly).
Thanks A LOT! What you pointed out in the SS made it much sense to me now. Adjust yesterday's PM dose down to 0.75 and got a much less worrisome BG and we got a good sleep. :cat: After reading the dosing methods, we are planning to follow the TR! I'm sure I still have a bunch more to learn on FDMB.
 
@Elaine Lai
Hi Elaine if you are going to follow TR you need to add that to your signature so members won't keep asking you, you can also add it to your spreadsheet up top :cat:
Thanks and done! :cat: Although I might need a few days to done with the newly acquired AT2 strips and the BG curves the vet requested today, then to switch to human glucometer. (Gonna save one box or two for vet use and in the SOS toolbox )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top