need help - spreadsheet ready

Status
Not open for further replies.

stephanie & Ti-Mi (GA)

Member Since 2009
I am taking care of my sister's cat Balrog. I used to have a diabetic cat so I know how to shoot and home test.

No spreadsheet for Balrog,my sister doesn't keep one. She gives 2.0u BID.Here is a recap:

17/08 AMPS 355
17/08 PMPS 445
18/08 AMPS 429 +4 499

Fur shots?
Need higher dose?
How long before complications ? Ketoasidosis? Balrog is veeeery sensible to stress and haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaates going to the vet.

I have to leave to work,will be back by the end of the day.
 
Re: need help

Hi Steph. Real quick, some basic questions...

Is he on Lantus?
How long on insulin? How long on this dose?
Can you test urine for ketones? Has he ever had them in the past?
Not in any discomfort?

Most importantly Is he eating??

Need some additional spot checks to rule out drops that could be causing bounces.

(( Stephanie )), not much help am I, but others will need this information in order to help.
 
Re: need help

I wonder if those are 'normal' for him but nobody knows it because you have no numbers to back it up. How long has he been at your house? How long will he be at your house?
 
Re: need help

stephanie & Ti-Mi (GA) said:
I am taking care of my sister's cat Balrog. I used to have a diabetic cat so I know how to shoot and home test.

No spreadsheet for Balrog,my sister doesn't keep one. She gives 2.0u BID.Here is a recap:

17/08 AMPS 355
17/08 PMPS 445
18/08 AMPS 429 +4 499

Fur shots?
Need higher dose?
How long before complications ? Ketoasidosis? Balrog is veeeery sensible to stress and haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaates going to the vet.

I have to leave to work,will be back by the end of the day.



Hi Stephanie,

help us with some answers: Nina posed some good ones, including Lantus or Levemir?

Mid cycle numbers would help too.
See what you can add ok?
 
Re: need help

A fur shot would be if you felt the insulin on the fur (of course).

Without the more constant 3 hour testing (I know you work.. Perhaps you can do a couple after the PMPS feeding), it's hard to determine how he's doing on the insulin. As another posted pointed out, is this cat on Lantus or Levemir? If he's on Lantus, you'll need to see this link for Tight Regulation Protocols:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Definitely need to have a spreadsheet made as soon as you are able so that those that are more experienced than myself can take a look and see what's going on, and give advice when needed. :)
 
Re: need help

Ok, here is more info:
using Lantus
DX september 2009
I don't know how work insuline for him, all I know is that cycle is longer than usual (I suppose). For exemple, he sometimes has AMPS reading around 108 and gets his regular shot anyway. He is not regulated, pre-shot numbers are variable. Has been higher than usual (preshot 360) the day before my sister left. She upgrated the dose to a skinny 2.0u, was at 1.5u before.

Balrog is not at my house, does't cope very well with changes. Taking care of him from august 16 to august 21

I want to avoid going to the vet if possible...stress +++

Worried he could go in ketoasidosis. He eats as usual, pees a lot, is scared but not apathic.

Testing ketones would be hard.
 
Re: need help

forgot to mention that Balrog is a 15yrs old cat, big but not mega (dont know his weight).
No other health problem
Eats FF canned food (4 cans a day).

I forgot what it was to have a diabetic cat...the stress, lack of sleep and the I-got-no-life-schedule lol
 
Re: need help

Hey girl! So nice to see you and Ti-Mi's pic.
Boy, some other BGs, besides PSs, sure would help to see what is going on.
Hope we can help you while he is in your care. Does your sister BG test him?
 
Re: need help

stephanie & Ti-Mi (GA) said:
I forgot what it was to have a diabetic cat...the stress, lack of sleep and the I-got-no-life-schedule lol

But you get to hang out with us again, surely you're happy about that! LOL!

Do you have any other numbers from the last few days? It's hard to tell if he is bouncing with just one day's worth of numbers. If he sometimes has preshots of 108 then he might be going lower sometimes, but it's hard to tell. If you can test more today/tomorrow we can probably help more.

Do you know if Balrog has ever had ketones before?
 
Re: need help

Hey D ! Hey Libby! Of course hanging around here is the nice part of it :)

My sister does BG hometest...once in a while. :(

On the glucometer memory, numbers are pretty high. I guess Balrog is not on a rebound. I went to buy syringe with longuer needle to make sure I don't do a fur shot. I'll try to take his BG at +3.

PMPS tonight was a 413. He is pretty much in the 400's all the time. I'll give him 2.0u but not skinny and see.
Don't have time to make a spreadsheet just for a few days. I had done one after Balrogs BG,I'll check if I can find it and put the link.
 
Re: need help

Even if you can list the BG numbers in Balrog's condo here, it will be a way to keep an on-going record. I guess there's no way to convince your sister to keep better records and join us here in LL?
 
it does look like Balrog needs more insulin, but it would be great if you could get some more spot checks. You will only be taking care of him for a few more days, right? If you could convince your sister to keep testing until his numbers come down, that would be helpful. He was doing so well last year on 2.25, so he might need to work his way back up to that dose or a little higher.

New insulin wouldn't hurt, if that is more than a couple of months old, and a vet visit sooner or later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top