need help, siujim's BG drops fast

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member Since 2010
need help as siujim's BG drops fast

siujim 6/16

amps (272) (no food 4 hrs before), +6 (219), pmps (180) no food 4hrs before.

one thing though, i ran out of the wellness grain-free canned chicken. and only feed her shrimp + tuna (almo nature but get rid of the rice).

go on having vit e, sam-e, coq10, k+ supplement, and super Digestive Enzymes.

as her BG drops very fast, since monday, from over 300 mid day to now under 200.

i will talk to the vet tomorrow.
any comments?

how can we decide if the dose has to be reduced?

as she is using double as what she needs and not responding well before, because of the pancreatitis. i guess now, she is recovering and started to accept the insulin.

thx.
anson
 
Re: need help, siuji, BG drops very fast

I'm sure someone else will come along, but in the meantime, here's what I'm thinking...

A 100 point drop isn't bad unless the lower number is in hypoglycemic territory (usually 60 or less, but many kitties are fine dropping into the 40s and 50s--you just have to watch and learn how your kitty does at those numbers if you reach them). Eventually you want the numbers to get below 100. Ideally you want the numbers never to climb above the low 200s (I believe around 220 is when the kidneys start getting pulled in to help get sugar out of the bloodstream, and this is where the excessive drinking and urinating start happening. it's not healthy for the cat.). The "green" numbers mean the kitty's pancreas is getting a chance to heal as the kitty's system is not struggling to process sugar. Surfing along in the 70-100 range between shots is good.

Dose reductions are only given if the kitty's number drops too low (under 50 in a newly diagnosed cat). I don't think you're there yet. Lantus dosing is done by the nadir, or lowest bg number during a shot cycle. You'll need to start seeing some greens before a reduction can happen. I don't think, at this point, that you need another dose increase. Hold this dose for a few more days, test as often as you can, and see what happens.
 
I would correct Mindy in that there is a difference between symptomatic hypoglycemia and low numbers. Very few cats here experience a true hypoglycemic episode and to call numbers below 60 "hypoglycemic territory" is not really correct. Normal BG levels vary from cat to cat and you will see numbers in the 40s - 120s in cats who have reached remission.

It's difficult for me to interpret your SS. Most of us have more test information. I would urge you to get additional test in when you get a PMPS number like the 180. It is very important to get tests during the evening cycle. Many cats have lower numbers at night AND if you don't test during the PM cycle, you are missing half of your data.

I wouldn't necessarily conclude that BG is dropping fast. As you note, it may be that the pancreatitis is clearing and Siujim is feeling better. Or, this could be normal variation. You can't always draw a conclusion on one number. As you see the numbers over the next few days, you'll have a clearer picture of what's going on.
 
hi, thx for your comments.

i don't mean a daily drop, 100, but droppping quite fast in terms of range from a few days ago, or even from 14/15 june.

thx
anson

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would correct Mindy in that there is a difference between symptomatic hypoglycemia and low numbers. Very few cats here experience a true hypoglycemic episode and to call numbers below 60 "hypoglycemic territory" is not really correct. Normal BG levels vary from cat to cat and you will see numbers in the 40s - 120s in cats who have reached remission.

It's difficult for me to interpret your SS. Most of us have more test information. I would urge you to get additional test in when you get a PMPS number like the 180. It is very important to get tests during the evening cycle. Many cats have lower numbers at night AND if you don't test during the PM cycle, you are missing half of your data.

I wouldn't necessarily conclude that BG is dropping fast. As you note, it may be that the pancreatitis is clearing and Siujim is feeling better. Or, this could be normal variation. You can't always draw a conclusion on one number. As you see the numbers over the next few days, you'll have a clearer picture of what's going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top