Ceci&Mati
Member Since 2020
Hello everyone. Please I need your help and advice on the insulin dosing protocol.
We start with the Tight Regulation Protocol. From what I understand, if my cat's nadir is greater than 300, the dose can be increased by 0.5 in a minimum of 3 days. Based on the tests we do at home, my cat has high nadir levels (I haven't even identified when it drops lower as it stays high all the time) and he would need faster dose adjustments. We spent several days with 1u (indicated by the vet) without seeing differences in his bg. Then he told us to go up to 1.25 for 5 days, but we didn't see any big changes either. So I decided to follow the protocol guidelines and we increased by 0.5 based on his bg tests.
I know this sounds like a disaster, but the blanks were tests that I wrote down on paper and lost before I copied them to the spreadsheet (and none were less than 400), so the last few days I'm trying to be more consistent with do the tests and immediately copy to the spreadsheet. I have been reading in the forum and now I know that I need tests in the pm cycle, also that it is advisable to increase by .25 so as not to miss a good dose, but up to this point I feel so confused with so much information and so lost, that I do not I know what to do next. Should I keep the dose of 1.75? tonight would be 3 days with that dose and he's still high flat.
Thanks in advance
We start with the Tight Regulation Protocol. From what I understand, if my cat's nadir is greater than 300, the dose can be increased by 0.5 in a minimum of 3 days. Based on the tests we do at home, my cat has high nadir levels (I haven't even identified when it drops lower as it stays high all the time) and he would need faster dose adjustments. We spent several days with 1u (indicated by the vet) without seeing differences in his bg. Then he told us to go up to 1.25 for 5 days, but we didn't see any big changes either. So I decided to follow the protocol guidelines and we increased by 0.5 based on his bg tests.
I know this sounds like a disaster, but the blanks were tests that I wrote down on paper and lost before I copied them to the spreadsheet (and none were less than 400), so the last few days I'm trying to be more consistent with do the tests and immediately copy to the spreadsheet. I have been reading in the forum and now I know that I need tests in the pm cycle, also that it is advisable to increase by .25 so as not to miss a good dose, but up to this point I feel so confused with so much information and so lost, that I do not I know what to do next. Should I keep the dose of 1.75? tonight would be 3 days with that dose and he's still high flat.
Thanks in advance

