Welcome, Sandy. Carl asked that I stop by.
Unless you have more test data or there's a health issue, Bugs may have been started on too high of a dose. There is a formula to calculate the starting dose of Lantus:
initial dose = 0.25 x cat's ideal weight in kilograms
This formula usually results in a starting dose in the neighborhood of 1.0u (give or take).
Like Carl suggested, a drop in BG below 50 (or 90 with SLGS) indicates that a dose reduction is warranted. With Lantus, regardless of whether you're planning on following the Tight Regulation Protocol or the Start Low Go Slow approach, you would reduce the dose by 0.25u. However, you may want to drop the dose so you're starting at a safer range.
I had the same question as Carl -- did Bugs have any medical issues going on at or prior to diagnosis. Diabetic ketoacidosis is particularly important for us to know about since this may be a consideration with regard to your current dose.
There is a great deal of information about Lantus and it's use in the starred, sticky notes at the top of the
Lantus board. While you may not opt to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol, there is still a wealth of information on the board that you may find useful. The info in the sticky notes are as follows:
- Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal version -- the “Tilly” Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany, which was also published by Kirsten Roomp & Jacqui Rand, DVM in one of the top vet journals.
- New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
- Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
- Lantus depot: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
- Lantus & Levemir: Shooting & Handling Low Numbers: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation as well as information if you have a low pre-shot number or a drop into low numbers during the cycle.
When you have a moment, you may want to compile Bugs' test data on a
spreadsheet. This will allow you to keep track of your data and will make it easier for us to lend you a hand.
Please let us know if you have questions. We're more than willing to help.