? Need help/advice on cat having unusual response to Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kate & Willow

Member Since 2024
New Member

My cat, Willow (15 years old), got diagnosed with diabetes on September 12th. She was at the vet for her annual exam- routine bloodwork came back to show her BG was 373, as well as glucose in her urine. No ketones. She had lost a little bit of weight when they weighed her, but it wasn't anything I noticed prior. She showed some increase thirst which was the only symptom I had noticed.

Like most of us, I started doing heavy amounts of research. My cat is my world and I obsessed about all of the information out there. I found so much solace on here. My vet was pretty general in his instructions and I'm so grateful that I found this thread full of amazing information and suggestions.

I immediately switched to low-carb. She was on Instinct grain-free salmon dry food before. She's a very picky dry food girly, so I went with the Dr. Elsey's brand. I also got her fancy feast pate. She doesn't love it, and has never been a cat to eat a large (enough) amount of wet food at once, but she will eat some twice/day. She loves Applaws but it isn't a complete meal for them. I give small amounts of the Dr. Elsey's throughout the day. She was a free-feeder before.

I got the ReliOn monitor and we've been doing so great with the BG readings. I test before every shot and we've already performed 3 curves at home. She handles the ear prick, as well as the insulin injections, like an absolute champ.

After her diagnosis, I switched her food and didn't start insulin until \~1 week later so I could see what the diet change did to her numbers. It brought her down by about 100. So she was consistently in the mid-upper 200s with the diet change and no insulin.

I'm struggling because-

The very first night I administered her Lantus glargine, she had a very strange reaction. She was disoriented and kind of wobbly. Very "off." We all know our cats so well and I knew instantly something was weird. I initially suspected a hypo event, so I checked her BG and it had gone from 270 to 212. She wasn't hypo in the numbers. I monitored her the rest of the night.

In the morning, I called my vet and described the reaction to insulin. They told me to check her BG that night and if she was under 300, don't administer insulin, and then do a curve the following day (no insulin). She might be extra sensitive to the medicine so we would go slow.

I did that- sent in the numbers- her BG was still high, so they recommended I start at 1U once/day in the morning for 1 week. After that, do another curve.

We did that, sent in the numbers, was instructed to start 1U 2x/day as she was still high, a couple times her number went much higher (\~400) than any number before starting insulin. We did 1U 2x/day for 10 days. And then I did another curve. These were the numbers. BTW we do 8am/8pm EST shot times.

10/14

AMPS 7:53am 343

shot 8am

+3: 244

+7: 275

+9: 273

PMPS: 297

shot 8pm

11pm 221

I emailed the vet the curve results the following day. I hadn't heard back yet, and then on 10/16, about 3.5 hours after her morning insulin, Willow was sleeping next to me on the couch, jumped down to go to her water bowl, collapsed and had a seizure. It was AWFUL. It lasted about 15 seconds. Again, I immediately thought maybe she was hypo, I ran and grabbed honey and rubbed it along her gums. Right after that, once she had stopped shaking and was upright again, I checked her BG- it was 286. Not hypo at all.

I called the vet, and luckily they could see her right away, with a different veterinarian. After an examination, another BG check at the vet to confirm the number I had measured, and a blood pressure test, they had no idea why the seizure had occurred. My vet mentioned the Somogyi effect but didn't seem too concerned and said that in her 24 years of practicing, she only had 1 cat go Somogyi. They thought maybe the seizure was a one-off. We went home and she seemed to improve throughout the day but I monitored her very closely.

The next day, my regular vet emailed me back- saying her numbers are still high so let's start 1.5U 2x/day. Do that for one week, and another curve. We increased the dose starting the evening of 10/17, so only 5 days ago.

With the dose increase, she seemed to be doing okay for awhile, numbers getting into the lower 200s. Last night, however, after her evening shot, she seemed SO uncomfortable/restless. Like, laying down for 5 seconds and then immediately switching spots or sides. She had a funny walk again- kind of drunk. She was 305 pre-shot just before 8pm, immediately started acting weird, at 9:22 she was at 243, and at 10:43 she was at 228. Again, not hypo.

This is a lot of information and maybe not all of it necessary, but I'm wondering if anyone else has experience with a cat reacting badly to Lantus in particular? We get the Lantus pen, refrigerated, and use the U100 3/10cc syringes to dose. I feel like ever since we started insulin, she has declined and seems so much more uncomfortable. I've asked the vet multiple times if they've ever experienced this, or have any other concerns about other things going on. Why did she have a seizure? Why does she have hypo symptoms with hyperglycemic numbers? I'm at a loss at this point and am terrified every time I have to dose her. Could it be as simple as switching brands of insulin?

Overall, her demeanor is low. Her coat has also gotten incredibly dry since starting insulin. I'm so worried about her and can barely eat or sleep.

Any words of wisdom are greatly appreciated ❤️
 
Last edited:
Hi Kate and Willow and welcome to the forum.
Did Willow have a fructosamine test to diagnose the diabetes?
Im sorry to hear you are having so much trouble with Willow since she was diagnosed with diabetes. The seizure must have been very scary.
Lantus is a good insulin for cats so I’m not sure what is going on.

Do you think you could set up our spreadsheet and add some data so we can see what had been happening over the past few weeks please?
If we can see some numbers it might give us some clues.
Here is a link HELP IS HELP YOU which has the link to the spreadsheet and the hypo box as well as other information.

Have you checked the glucose meter on yourself to see if the meter is working ok? just wondering if the meter may be at fault.
It is very unusual to have a seizure if the BGs are not very low, unless it was from another cause, which can happen, but the fact she was disorientated and wobbly after the first dose seems to indicate it was from the insulin.
What dose of insulin did you give the first time?

If you gave honey after the seizure and then went to the vet, that could have been long enough for the BGs to rise to the high 200s, if in fact the BG after the seizure was low. I’m just thinking aloud here as to the possible causes.

Do you think she is dehydrated? To check pull up her scruff. It should drop down quickly. Also check her gums. They should be slippery. If tacky she is probably dehydrated.

Is the syringe you are using a U 100 3/10 ml syringe. There are some larger U100 syringes which are not as accurate to use.
Do you think you could post a photo of the dose you are giving in the syringe please? To do that you would copy and paste the photo. Thanks,

Im going to tag @Sienne and Gabby (GA) to see if she has any ideas.
Also @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee
Keep posting and asking questions.
Bron
 
Hi Kate and Willow and welcome to the forum.
Did Willow have a fructosamine test to diagnose the diabetes?
Im sorry to hear you are having so much trouble with Willow since she was diagnosed with diabetes. The seizure must have been very scary.
Lantus is a good insulin for cats so I’m not sure what is going on.

Do you think you could set up our spreadsheet and add some data so we can see what had been happening over the past few weeks please?
If we can see some numbers it might give us some clues.
Here is a link HELP IS HELP YOU which has the link to the spreadsheet and the hypo box as well as other information.

Have you checked the glucose meter on yourself to see if the meter is working ok? just wondering if the meter may be at fault.
It is very unusual to have a seizure if the BGs are not very low, unless it was from another cause, which can happen, but the fact she was disorientated and wobbly after the first dose seems to indicate it was from the insulin.
What dose of insulin did you give the first time?

If you gave honey after the seizure and then went to the vet, that could have been long enough for the BGs to rise to the high 200s, if in fact the BG after the seizure was low. I’m just thinking aloud here as to the possible causes.

Do you think she is dehydrated? To check pull up her scruff. It should drop down quickly. Also check her gums. They should be slippery. If tacky she is probably dehydrated.

Is the syringe you are using a U 100 3/10 ml syringe. There are some larger U100 syringes which are not as accurate to use.
Do you think you could post a photo of the dose you are giving in the syringe please? To do that you would copy and paste the photo. Thanks,

Im going to tag @Sienne and Gabby (GA) to see if she has any ideas.
Also @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee
Keep posting and asking questions.
Bron

Thank you so much for your reply!
Willow did not have a fructosamine test. I mentioned it at our teaching appt after her diagnosis- where they had me go in to learn how to ear prick and give insulin. The vet said that test is more helpful to check when they've been on treatment. Should I advocate for that test now?

I actually have tested the meter on myself, as recent as last night and my BG was 113. So I think it's definitely working okay.

The insulin dose the first time was 1U.

And I use the U100 3/10mL! Happy to send a photo when we dose in a little bit and can work on a spreadsheet too. I have so many numbers written down.

I check for dehydration but her scruff snaps back.

I'm so worried about continuing this insulin. Within 1-2 hours of her dose, she starts the restlessness. When it comes around to the next dose, she starts acting more herself right before dosing again.
 
Just heard from my vet and he said we could start ProZinc and see if that works better. He sent links to Chewy for the vial and the U40 syringes. Anything to consider when making the switch?
 
Just curious …are you using brand name Lantus or one of the biosimilars? Where did you get it? Are you shooting in the scruff or elsewhere?

I remember two instances of cats who had “weird” responses to Lantus shots, although not exactly what you describe. For what it’s worth, here’s a post from 2017 (note: biosimilars weren’t yet available and Lantus was still very expensive in the US) :

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/seizures-at-time-of-insulin-injection-not-hypo.172410/

edited to add: I believe the member in the above linked thread switched to Prozinc and also started shooting in the flank, with positive results (although they didn’t provide a long-term update )
 
Last edited:
Just curious …are you using brand name Lantus or one of the biosimilars? Where did you get it? Are you shooting in the scruff or elsewhere?

I remember two instances of cats who had “weird” responses to Lantus shots, although not exactly what you describe. For what it’s worth, here’s a post from 2017 (note: biosimilars weren’t yet available and Lantus was still very expensive in the US) :

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/seizures-at-time-of-insulin-injection-not-hypo.172410/
It is the Lantus Solostar pen. Vet had a prescription sent to Walmart and said that was where the insulin was the cheapest currently. I use the U100 3/10ml syringes to draw the insulin from that. We are shooting in the scruff.
 
How scary. Did you get a test the morning of the seizure before the morning shot? Just wondering if the bg dropped really low at some point before it happened.
 
How scary. Did you get a test the morning of the seizure before the morning shot? Just wondering if the bg dropped really low at some point before it happened.
I did not get an AMPS that morning and I can't remember why. Now I absolutely do not skip a test.
 
I’m wondering if the bg dropped too low to shoot. Don’t feel bad about that. I didn’t test for the first couple of months but went to my vet a couple times a week to check nadirs because I thought Max would hide all the time. I was lucky nothing happened but we started super low. He turned out to be super easy to test and I became a testaholic.
 
Wow @JL and Chip that’s an interesting link. I’m new so this may be N/A and an experienced person will comment I’m sure but: because of its unique composition relying on pH of tissue to form a depot, Glargine if accidentally injected into muscle acts instead like a short acting insulin. It can drop the BG very dramatically (at least in the species that walks upright) then wears off super fast not lasting as it would be expected —because the muscle tissue has the wrong pH it doesn’t precipitate out so you get a massive burst then nothing later.

do I have beginner anxiety over this? Yeah …my vet has commented that perhaps it would be easier if I knew less
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top