Need Feedback on Pancreas Booster

Status
Not open for further replies.

Damsel

Member Since 2016
I haven't posted for quite a while, but my cat, Morgan is still hanging in there. It is now 2 years and 4 months since his diagnosis and he has never been regulated. He remains in the high 300's/400's on a regular basis. I stopped documenting him numbers on the spread sheet. I have them written down, just not typed; the spreadsheet is not updated.

Yesterday I decided to look at recent remissions. I'm always anxious to see a remission in a cat that has been fighting a long battle, like mine. It still gives me hope.

I noticed Ships Cat, Hermione's spreadsheet had a comment when they started using "Pancreas Booster". It seems like when they started using that, it made a difference in the numbers.

I noticed a few posts stating to use 1/2 capsule two times a day. Morgan lost a lot of weight, but then I started giving him bone broth and fresh chicken, along with his beloved Young Again Zero Mature dry food and he started gaining weight. He went from 18 pounds (which was bloating from Lantus), all the way down to 11 pounds (scary skinny) and then post bone broth, now at 13.3. Any information you can provide regarding the Pancreas Booster, would be really appreciated. One question I have is if there is a recommended brand.
I searched this site looking for information, but couldn't find it.
Thank you!!
I remain a desperate cat mom who hasn't lost hope!!!!
 
I am tagging @jayla-n-Drevon, she may be able to give you information on the pancreas booster.

What type of insulin is Morgan on, and how much does he get? You might want to consider slowly raising his dose by 0.25 units until you find the dose that starts to bring his numbers down, or maybe consider switching to a different insulin, if the one he's on isn't working for him. :)
 
Hi Squallismom, thanks so much for your reply and assistance.
Morgan is now on Prozinc. We've been up to 7 units and down to 1/2 and his numbers remain the same, no matter how much insulin. Same deal with Lantus.
Because of help from this forum, I switched to U100 needles and did the micro dosing - no change. I've actually given up on any hope with the insulin. I drove myself crazy with hope and expectation and nothing changed. He wouldn't eat anything other than dry food for 2 years - then when I gave him the Chicken and Bone Broth, he inhaled it. It gave me hope. No change in his numbers. The really good news is that he gained weight back and he seems to be very healthy! I saw quick results of weight gain when he drank the bone broth. He's engaged, active and happy. My Vet has called him an enigma and has basically given up on him - but since he's happy and seems to be healthy inspite of really bad numbers for over two years, I'm happy to still have this time with him. I haven't given up hope on HIM, just the insulin so I keep researching, and this Pancreas Booster has my ears perked!
Thanks again.
 
Damsel,
that's an interesting situation although a very difficult one for you.
I'm hoping that somebody will have a clue what is happening with Morgan's diabetes.
It is a shame that you don't use SS anymore, I don't think anybody could figure it out without the data.
From the data you provided it looks like Morgan was very prone to Somogyi effect so he reacted to insulin, went too low too quickly and then went to black numbers. After that he seems to like staying in higher numbers. It looks like his liver is protecting him from going too low. Very often when kitties go too low they would bounce for few days and than they start responding to insulin in a normal manner once they clear the bounce.
The main thing is that your kitty is healthy and active. Did you have urine and blood tests done to see if he really is healthy as taking his behaviour as an indication of his health might not give you the whole picture.
So let's wait and see if any FDMB member would be able to shed some light on this.
Sending hugs to you and Morgan.
Marlena and Rocky:cat:
 
There are pet supplements from Pet Alive (one of them is Pancreas Booster) that have a very good opinion and some people claim that they help to reduce Bg and reduce the dose of insulin.
I'm thinking about giving them a try and see if they make any difference for Rocky.
I'm sure some people will give us a feedback.
 
Thank you, Marlena an Rocky for the hugs and info. - Ah yes, good old Smogyie. It was because of this site and all the bouncing that I tried micro dosing hoping the bouncing would subside, and it did; it just stayed high. We suspected Smogyie, but then it seemed like we were wrong. THEN, he started going really low when we opened a new bottle. We chased too low numbers after opening several new bottles and all of a sudden a new bottle didn't make one bit of difference. That's why I've given up hoping insulin changes would help. We think he's going to live to be 15 years old; with a BG of 450! It would be nice if the Pancreas Booster would help with reducing his BG!
So it sounds like Pet Alive may be the preferred manufacturer - Thanks again, Marlena and Rocky and Squalliesmom - Hopefully there are some testimonies out there that can help the not yet regulated sweeties! :)
 
Hello, I too got some for Phoebe. I used it for about 2 months. I did see difference in her numbers, however I was increasing insulin pretty agressively under TR protocol. So not sure if it was the PB helping or not. I have not given it to her for about 2 weeks, it did make a difference with her poo. It stank a whole lot less. Good coca = color, odor, consistency, amount. It's worth a shot I would say. I am now starting her on digestive enzymes. Good luck to your furbaby. If you can see her ss she is now at 20 units 2x a day and she stays in the healing numbers. Maybe you still haven't found the right dose for your furbaby. Good luck.
 
Hello, I too got some for Phoebe. I used it for about 2 months. I did see difference in her numbers, however I was increasing insulin pretty agressively under TR protocol. So not sure if it was the PB helping or not. I have not given it to her for about 2 weeks, it did make a difference with her poo. It stank a whole lot less. Good coca = color, odor, consistency, amount. It's worth a shot I would say. I am now starting her on digestive enzymes. Good luck to your furbaby. If you can see her ss she is now at 20 units 2x a day and she stays in the healing numbers. Maybe you still haven't found the right dose for your furbaby. Good luck.
@jayla-n-Drevon and @Bobbie And Bubba both turned me on to the Petalive brand.
 
So what are you doing now, are you giving insulin or not? Do Morgan's BG stay high or the same with and without insulin? If Lantus did not work which insulin you tried next?
 
@Phoebes and @Marlena
The PB and GE made a big difference in Dre's numbers. He was a bit more playful etc... but he is a big boy and got a whole cap 2x a day of each as well as the natural moves an he just got so sick of the pills being put down his throat-
I am giving him a break and his numbers reflect it as he is running high. I just couldn't stand him running away from me. I have incorporated 1 very small pill that seems to be keeping him happy and bright it is the hemp from ,,,
https://canna-pet.com/products/canna-pet-for-cats/
It does not however keep his numbers like the PB and GE--

Both he and Rico are feeling really good on the Canna-knock on wood Rico is on a OTJ trial:cat:

@Marlena .... I have had Dre on 4 insulins and I like Lev the best-FWIW
:bighug:
 
Hi Squallismom, thanks so much for your reply and assistance.
Morgan is now on Prozinc. We've been up to 7 units and down to 1/2 and his numbers remain the same, no matter how much insulin. Same deal with Lantus.
Because of help from this forum, I switched to U100 needles and did the micro dosing - no change. I've actually given up on any hope with the insulin. I drove myself crazy with hope and expectation and nothing changed. He wouldn't eat anything other than dry food for 2 years - then when I gave him the Chicken and Bone Broth, he inhaled it. It gave me hope. No change in his numbers. The really good news is that he gained weight back and he seems to be very healthy! I saw quick results of weight gain when he drank the bone broth. He's engaged, active and happy. My Vet has called him an enigma and has basically given up on him - but since he's happy and seems to be healthy inspite of really bad numbers for over two years, I'm happy to still have this time with him. I haven't given up hope on HIM, just the insulin so I keep researching, and this Pancreas Booster has my ears perked!
Thanks again.
Dr Elsey make a dry chicken that is 4.69% carb and a salmon that is about 9%
Both of my boys love it and no puke....
 
Hi there. I started using it just as Bubba was going OTJ. And we have enjoyed 6 months of no insulin and only just recently has his weekly numbers started to creep to right under 120. We have a vet appointment coming up on 8/8 and a dental on 8/10 Fingers and paws crossed. sigh.
 
Bobbie and Bubba - Hmmm very interesting. We'll cross our paws too! If Morgan miraculously ever goes off the juice, this is a journey I would like to keep behind us. It's been an emotional roller coaster. Did you keep giving Bubba the Pancreas Booster after he went off? I wonder if it would help keep his numbers down now?

Thank you, Phoebes - I'm hearing PetAlive often. That's what I was hoping to hear. I like what you're saying about the poo smell. It's been awful! Mostly because right now he's back on his eating frenzy and I have to portion the Young Again food because when he eats too much, we unfortunately all know it. I like that perk you mentioned! Thank you for your well wishes. I will look at the charts when I get time which is not right now.

Marlena, Morgan is on ProZinc. We did Lantus for a year - that first year and his numbers bounced from the high 100's to the 300's. We went up to 7 units and the numbers never changed, so suspecting Smogyi, we started reducing the units and the numbers never changed, even down to around 2 units, but then his fur started getting oily looking. I went to a different Vet who said Lantus was doing nothing so we went on Prozinc - For a little while his numbers were the same, but then he went into the 400's for the first time and now they hang in the 400's most days.

Jayla - I hear you about giving Drevon a break. Morgan wouldn't come to dinner anymore because he didn't want to be tested.
I never heard of Canna Pet - I have to learn more about that. Sounds like Rico is doing well!

Thank you everyone so much for your input. I really appreciate it. I'm going to order the PetAlive Pancreas booster. It sounds like it's worth a shot.
 
Ok. Thank you Yong. When I get time, I want to take another look at Hermione's spread sheet. Since my Vet has determined that Morgan is insulin resistant, we haven't really raised his insulin anymore. Why pump more into him if it doesn't change the numbers.

Thank you, Bobbie and Bubba. I have ordered the pancreas Booster, Pet Alive brand. It is due to arrive this Thursday.

Thanks so much for all the feedback!
 
I did start giving Hermione Pet Alive Pancreas Booster a few months before she went OTJ, but as Yong noted I also started being more aggressive in my insulin dosing so I can't say for sure what effect the PB had. It sure helped her poop though! It went from stinky soft-serve to not nearly as smelly formed logs. I'm still giving her 1/2 capsule 2x a day just in case! I just sprinkle it on her raw food, but be aware some kitties don't like the taste/smell of it. Her brother Hairy won't touch her dish after I started it, and he used to try to share her food.

I'm sorry to hear Bubba's numbers are creeping up. Hopefully the dental takes care of it!
 
Ok. Thank you Yong. When I get time, I want to take another look at Hermione's spread sheet. Since my Vet has determined that Morgan is insulin resistant, we haven't really raised his insulin anymore. Why pump more into him if it doesn't change the numbers.
I am not seeing that Morgan is insulin resistant :bookworm:, just that he might be a bouncy kitty as previously stated :cat:. How did your Vet determine this?
 
Hello Yong. I spoke with two vets who said the same thing. Morgan's numbers don't change, no matter his dosage. When on Lantus, we were up to 7 units and they stayed the same. Then, suspecting Smogyi, as we reduced the insulin, his numbers still stayed about the same.
But, to your comment about being bouncy; absolutely. We're at the point that he bounces if he goes in the 300's.

Lizzie, Thanks for sharing the thread on supplements! I will check that out!
 
When on Lantus, we were up to 7 units and they stayed the same. Then, suspecting Smogyi, as we reduced the insulin, his numbers still stayed about the same.
Honestly, it sounds like you should have tried increasing past 7 units. Any chance you'll be trying to increase?
I used pet alive pancreas booster with Chuck. Dates are in my signature. I can't say that it improved his numbers much. He did seem to respond a little better for a bit but he was on ProZinc, still bouncy, then on lantus. I didn't see a difference in numbers after stopping the PB so I didn't order more.
 
Thank you, Steph. Before this all began, Morgan weighed 16.2 pounds. He is a big, stealthy cat and was just starting to get a little belly. As we increased his insulin, his weight kept increasing. His highest weight was 19.6 and he looked awful, really bloated! His belly was so bloated looking, it scared me. I have a friend who at the time, had recently lost her cat to diabetes. He was in the beginning stages and she told me he filled up with water and they had to put him down, so I had that fear from what I was seeing in Morgan. My fear kept me from wanting to increase his dose if his weight was going to also increase.
But, you're right we have not raised his dose much since on ProZinc. We were up to 5 units, but that was the highest. He has been so healthy looking; eating well, active, happy, that we're starting to think maybe he's ok with high numbers and it will never change. I have been considering trying to raise his dose again. I really could not afford to buy a bottle of Lantus every month, but ProZinc is not out of the question for a monthly purchase.
Thank you for your feedback on the Pancreas booster. Your question on increasing was a very subtle nudge; one that I probably need! :blackeye::)
 
Your question on increasing was a very subtle nudge; one that I probably need! :blackeye::)
:cat: We all need some gentle nudges sometimes. Chuck is a high dose kitty (16.25 units lantus twice a day) so I have been through the frustration of "how is this possible that X units aren't doing anything?!?" Lantus is cheaper per month for me if bought through Mark's in Canada and my vet is ok with me getting it there. I've read that Levemir is cheaper there too. Did you try levemir? I'm not sure if it would give him the same reaction he got on lantus.
 
Thanks for the tip on Mark's in Canada! I never realized some cats were getting such high doses! Morgan has been on Lantus and now ProZinc so far. My vet has not mentioned Levemir, although he did once suggest combining two different insulin's, but then didn't seem to want to go that route. I guess for now, I'll start increasing again and see how high we need to go. I started updating my spreadsheet yesterday, getting only to the end of March, I think.
Thanks again for your help!
 
Was Morgan ever tested for resistance or Acro? If resistance, yes you keep raising dose and it can go high past 40u. However, eventually it breaks through then the come barreling down the dosing scale. They need as much as they need. Long term over 250 with damage the kidneys.
 
Well, that is something I have never heard before. I can't even imagine 40 units...... He was not tested for resistance or Acro but I will look into this.
Thank you!
 
Well, that is something I have never heard before. I can't even imagine 40 units...... He was not tested for resistance or Acro but I will look into this.
Thank you!

I couldn't imagine 5u myself. That's when the vet said they couldn't do anything more when Smokey hit 5u. That's when I went looking for answers. There are a few kitties here that have one or the other and some with both of these high dose conditions and are on high dose of insulin. They need what they need. If you know about it then you know why it's so high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top