Need Eyes-Pinky -Vet recommends PLI test for pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

ourboypinky

Member Since 2012
Our boy Pinky, diabetic 12 year old neutured male, part Burmese, has been seen by a pricey specialist on several occasions. In this case, an internal medicine specialist has told us that Pinkys next step, although he does not display symptoms, is to have a PLI test for pancreatitis. Within the PLI test, there is a sub-test for vitamins B9 and B12 (folic and cobalamin). We are wondering if a test for pancreatitis is warranted. Pinkys BG readings most recently were 170 at the nadir and 426 preshot on 3 to 3 1/2 u Prozinc 2 X daily. The wife said that I should post to this board and see if anyone has had any experience or guidance for us concerning testing for pancreatitis on a diabetic cat.
 
Re: Need Eyes-Pinky -Vet recommends PLI test for pancreatiti

Hi Richard,
You might find this link helpful:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Pancreatitis
Dianostics
The current blood test for pancreatitis in cats is the SPEC fPL blood test. If you or you veterinarian suspects pancreatitis, a SPEC fPL (sometime also called a PLI for feline PLI test) is highly recommended. This test is currently only performed by Idexx Laboratories and Texas A&M. The fTLI blood test is an unspecific test for feline pancreatitis and more representative of general inflammation of the cat's organs.
Bob never experienced pancreatitis, but from reading the experiences of others here, it's apparently painful and wreaks havoc on BG numbers. You said Pinky doesn't display symptoms, but there has to be some reason your vet suspects that it might be present? Did he specify?

Carl
 
Re: Need Eyes-Pinky -Vet recommends PLI test for pancreatiti

Hadn't thought of a wiki link. Good info and links. Thank you. Well, you know, our experience with certain vets has led to a bit of distrust with the profession so thought we'd run this by the board. The specialist we've been seeing seems to know her stuff, so the wife and I are pretty much in agreement that a test for pancreatitis is in order. It is not prohibitively expensive and does seem the logical next step.
Our chief concern with Pinky is that he has been a little lethargic. I am chalking it up to his numbers being a little high, along with his age. The wife, being anxious, is worried about a second complication with his health.
 
Re: Need Eyes-Pinky -Vet recommends PLI test for pancreatiti

I should mention that the vet recommended the PLI test for pancreatitis as a tool "leading to the process of elimination" causes of the cats diabetes.
 
Re: Need Eyes-Pinky -Vet recommends PLI test for pancreatiti

One thing that could be making him feel crummy is the jump between nadir and preshots. Have you tried food to make it a slower curve? Sometimes if you give him a snack before nadir, it softens the curve. Automatic feeders are great for this. Once you get less bouncing from high to low, you can raise the dose a little.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top