Need dosing suggestion after a huge drop today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan and Timmy

Member Since 2017
Timmy's numbers started today at 553 and dropped almost 400 points throughout the day. PMPS was 376. I am not sure about his dose tonight. Should I even dose tonight? I have been testing a little over a week and today's numbers are worrisome for me.
 
Hi Susan--

How do you feel about monitoring tonight? My guess is that he's going to bounce again from those blues this afternoon and you won't have a problem with low numbers tonight, but of course I can't say that for sure.

Where he got to today was where you want him to be, but you are right, it was a pretty extreme drop. I'm wondering if getting to the mid-200's means it might be time to think about stepping the dose back slightly (even if he is likely to bounce tonight).

Are there any vetsulin people out there who can offer some specific dosing guidelines? I'm really not familiar enough with this insulin to do so.
 
Hi Susan--

How do you feel about monitoring tonight? My guess is that he's going to bounce again from those blues this afternoon and you won't have a problem with low numbers tonight, but of course I can't say that for sure.

Where he got to today was where you want him to be, but you are right, it was a pretty extreme drop. I'm wondering if getting to the mid-200's means it might be time to think about stepping the dose back slightly (even if he is likely to bounce tonight).

Are there any vetsulin people out there who can offer some specific dosing guidelines? I'm really not familiar enough with this insulin to do so.
I will monitor him and just expect the bounce tomorrow.
 
I am thinking 2 is fine as long as you can monitor a bit (catch a +3?). He wasn't really close to too low despite the steep drop.

If you are feeling uneasy and prefer to be cautious or can't check then is do 1.5.

I am feeling very cautious so I'm thinking 1.5 units tonight.
 
Hi Susan--

How do you feel about monitoring tonight? My guess is that he's going to bounce again from those blues this afternoon and you won't have a problem with low numbers tonight, but of course I can't say that for sure.

Where he got to today was where you want him to be, but you are right, it was a pretty extreme drop. I'm wondering if getting to the mid-200's means it might be time to think about stepping the dose back slightly (even if he is likely to bounce tonight).

Are there any vetsulin people out there who can offer some specific dosing guidelines? I'm really not familiar enough with this insulin to do so.

Thank you for your help. Bounce is a term that is brand new to me today. It was a very confusing day with Timmy's numbers. I know he is getting closer to where he needs to be, but the process is nerve racking for me. Everyone here is so patient and kind and so knowledgeable, it is such a blessing when you're trying to learn and understand what is happening.
 
@Susan and Timmy Susan, how are you and Timmy doing? Hope all is going well!
We are doing pretty good. Thank you for checking on us. Timmy is looking and feeling more like his old self. :D I took that picture last night. I have had Timmy at 1.5 units over the past 2 days, but with that dose he isn't hitting the blues long enough or low enough. I gave him 2 units this morning. Am I doing the right thing with moving his dosage? Also, both cats boycotted the dry the night before last, which was great, but this morning they got into the dry Glycobalance. So I have moved the dry into the garage so they can't sneak and get to it anymore, but that means tonight I will need to lower the PMPS dose again, but lower it to what? Ugh. He is moving in the right direction and I don't want to mess it up.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    18.6 KB · Views: 52
I don't usually give dosing advice, and I hope someone else comes along and offers another opinion, but I think you'll probably be okay with 1.5 units, just be prepared to monitor closely and deal with low numbers or a hypo, if necessary. Do you have a hypo kit? If not, it's a good idea to put one together and keep it handy; you never know when you might need it. If you're in doubt, it's okay to drop the dose back to 1 unit and work your way up to find the right dose for Timmy. :):):)
 
We are doing pretty good. Thank you for checking on us. Timmy is looking and feeling more like his old self. :D I took that picture last night. I have had Timmy at 1.5 units over the past 2 days, but with that dose he isn't hitting the blues long enough or low enough. I gave him 2 units this morning. Am I doing the right thing with moving his dosage? Also, both cats boycotted the dry the night before last, which was great, but this morning they got into the dry Glycobalance. So I have moved the dry into the garage so they can't sneak and get to it anymore, but that means tonight I will need to lower the PMPS dose again, but lower it to what? Ugh. He is moving in the right direction and I don't want to mess it up.

Hi Susan. Fellow Floridian here.

Timmy is cool looking. We are a dog family who just happened to adopt an untreated diabetic cat from animal control that had been brought in by a Good Samaritan to be euthanized. Now I see all these cool looking cats and say "I want one". :)

Our insulin is U40 insulin but we have switched to U100 syringes. You must use a conversion chart when dosing with them. The good thing is you can make smaller dosage changes so you can find the best dose. Instead of going from 2u to 1.5u you have 1.8, 1.6, etc. You can also eyeball 1.75u on your U40 syringes. I'm not giving a dosage recommendation as I'm not familiar with your insulin. I know others will help with that. I just wanted to mention the syringes.
 
Hi Susan. Fellow Floridian here.

Timmy is cool looking. We are a dog family who just happened to adopt an untreated diabetic cat from animal control that had been brought in by a Good Samaritan to be euthanized. Now I see all these cool looking cats and say "I want one". :)

Our insulin is U40 insulin but we have switched to U100 syringes. You must use a conversion chart when dosing with them. The good thing is you can make smaller dosage changes so you can find the best dose. Instead of going from 2u to 1.5u you have 1.8, 1.6, etc. You can also eyeball 1.75u on your U40 syringes. I'm not giving a dosage recommendation as I'm not familiar with your insulin. I know others will help with that. I just wanted to mention the syringes.
Thank you for the info on the different syringes, those would help a lot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top