Nancy and Scotty
Member Since 2014
I have been lurking around this board for several months and have finally decided I have to ask for help, my 11 year old male beige tabby cats was diagnosed the first week in January, thanks to a month of one of my females being diabetic 6 years ago all my cats were already on wet food and I knew about testing, my female Katie's diabetes were caused by steroids for allergies and her numbers came down so fast that the whole month I was scared too death she would hypo and was prepared for this to start all over again with Scotty, little did I know.
The vet started Scotty on 1 unit of PZI insulin, he dropped into the low 300's and started feeling better for a couple weeks and then climbed back into the high 400's and low 500's-we raised his insulin 1/2 unit and he dropped back to the 300's for a couple weeks and then back up-this went on and on, even though he had never used it my vet suggested Lantus but because I worked 13 hours a day and had no one to test for me while I was gone I was reluctant to try but finally in June when we were at 14 units of PZI twice a day and the neuropathy was so bad I decided that I had to do something or he would die of Hyperglacemia, I got my work to set up a 12 hour schedule for me and worked it out where I can go home and test at +6. I decided after reading everything I could that I would rather have Levemir and though the vet had never heard of it, he read up on it and wrote me a prescription.
We started at 2 units and I had slowly raised him up to 2.75, I had kept his blood sugar between 65 and 130 for 2 weeks, he was actually started to play and his legs were betting better then on Saturday morning last week he jerked as I was giving him the shot and lost about half of the insulin, the next day he was at 329 and he stayed between 300 and 330, I use a Relion Confirm but have an Alpha Trak my vet insisted on, since the numbers were so flat I check against the Alpha Trak a couple times and got 360 on it so pretty much 330 on a human meter, on Thursday I could tell he was starting to feel bad so I gave him 3 units for his evening shot and then 3 units Friday morning, I really did not know if this was the best thing to do but my internet connection at home was so slow I could not ask this board for help and my vet was off, on Friday morning, AMPS was 329 but by +3 he was at 86 and stayed in the 80's the rest of the night, I was a little concerned about the fast drop but went ahead and gave him the 3 units on his evening shot and watched the numbers until around 0400, then when I did his AMPS test I could not believe it but I got 343, is this a bounce? I really need some dosing help and apologize because I have not been able to do a spreadsheet, I have kept a notebook since starting the Levemir and can give you numbers, I realize that maybe no one is around to help me this weekend or everyone is busy but if anyone can help today, Monday anytime I will appreciate it, I am starting to feel like my baby will never get better and it is all my fault. Thank you.
The vet started Scotty on 1 unit of PZI insulin, he dropped into the low 300's and started feeling better for a couple weeks and then climbed back into the high 400's and low 500's-we raised his insulin 1/2 unit and he dropped back to the 300's for a couple weeks and then back up-this went on and on, even though he had never used it my vet suggested Lantus but because I worked 13 hours a day and had no one to test for me while I was gone I was reluctant to try but finally in June when we were at 14 units of PZI twice a day and the neuropathy was so bad I decided that I had to do something or he would die of Hyperglacemia, I got my work to set up a 12 hour schedule for me and worked it out where I can go home and test at +6. I decided after reading everything I could that I would rather have Levemir and though the vet had never heard of it, he read up on it and wrote me a prescription.
We started at 2 units and I had slowly raised him up to 2.75, I had kept his blood sugar between 65 and 130 for 2 weeks, he was actually started to play and his legs were betting better then on Saturday morning last week he jerked as I was giving him the shot and lost about half of the insulin, the next day he was at 329 and he stayed between 300 and 330, I use a Relion Confirm but have an Alpha Trak my vet insisted on, since the numbers were so flat I check against the Alpha Trak a couple times and got 360 on it so pretty much 330 on a human meter, on Thursday I could tell he was starting to feel bad so I gave him 3 units for his evening shot and then 3 units Friday morning, I really did not know if this was the best thing to do but my internet connection at home was so slow I could not ask this board for help and my vet was off, on Friday morning, AMPS was 329 but by +3 he was at 86 and stayed in the 80's the rest of the night, I was a little concerned about the fast drop but went ahead and gave him the 3 units on his evening shot and watched the numbers until around 0400, then when I did his AMPS test I could not believe it but I got 343, is this a bounce? I really need some dosing help and apologize because I have not been able to do a spreadsheet, I have kept a notebook since starting the Levemir and can give you numbers, I realize that maybe no one is around to help me this weekend or everyone is busy but if anyone can help today, Monday anytime I will appreciate it, I am starting to feel like my baby will never get better and it is all my fault. Thank you.