Need Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krisy & Janey Cat

Member Since 2020
Hello, I’m needing advice on if I should be lowering or raising her insulin. Lately Jane has had high pre shot numbers so I’m confused on which way to go.
 
[Edit: whoops! replied to a duplicate post (scanning the board for things with 0 replies). Main discussion is here: Need Dosing Advice]

Nice green numbers today! Lantus is dosed according the nadir, not pre-shot numbers, so that's what we'll pay the most attention to, but there's a lot going on in her spreadsheet overall.

What I'm seeing: it seems like Jane is a pretty bouncy girl these days, but seems to be starting to spend more time in good numbers. I think I'd wait to raise the dose, even with the amount of time she's spending in higher numbers, she just may need a little more time in the blues and greens to get used to them.

Are you following Tight Regulation (TR)? You definitely test enough for that. Here's what they say about increasing dose:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

Even though she was seeing a lot of green in the very beginning, right now I'd consider Jane new to nadirs under 100. You're at a bit more than 10 cycles now, but I think I'd give it a little more time yet (it does say "at least"!).

If you are following Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS), the dip under 90 would mean a reduction of 0.25U.

Which method you follow is really up to you, it's what you are most comfortable with and works for you. It can help give a structure to the dosing decisions.

Dosing methods explained: Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top