JessiLee
Member Since 2020
Hello,
Sorry in advance for the long post!
Beau was diagnosed with pancreatitis (again) and dka (first time) on 5/5. He was hospitalized for several days while they flushed out the ketones and monitored his blood sugar. Ever since, I've been having trouble getting a "nice" looking curve.
Prior to being hospitalized, he was on 2u regularly which was doing well for him. His preshot number was slowly coming down and his nadir was sitting just under 100 most days.
When the vet tried to switch him back to prozinc from the constant drip, they were having difficulty getting any response from the dosage and increased from 2u to 3u to 4u each shot. The day he came home he had received 4u. That seemed to work well to bring him down from the 600+ the vet said he was at AMPS to around 200 at +6. However, I was afraid to give him 4u at home when his preshot number was much lower than the 600 they saw at the vet. So I started him back on his 2u, but received literally no response (see spreadsheet). I've been increasing his dosage steadily ever since, but am a little afraid as this is a higher dosage than he has ever needed before -even when his PS numbers were higher.
My question is if this could be a result of his pancreatitis and if I'm doing the right thing increasing his dosage or if I should try and keep him at a steady value for a little while. I'm nervous about repeating his DKA diagnosis so I think I may be responding a little more aggressively than normal. An additional wrench in any plans is that I will be away for a week starting 5/24 and he'll be at a friend's house. I worry that if the dosage is unusually high because of his pancreatitis recovery, there may be a hypo situation in his future.
Thank you all in advance. This forum has been very informative as I navigate the joys (
) of feline diabetes.
Sorry in advance for the long post!
Beau was diagnosed with pancreatitis (again) and dka (first time) on 5/5. He was hospitalized for several days while they flushed out the ketones and monitored his blood sugar. Ever since, I've been having trouble getting a "nice" looking curve.
Prior to being hospitalized, he was on 2u regularly which was doing well for him. His preshot number was slowly coming down and his nadir was sitting just under 100 most days.
When the vet tried to switch him back to prozinc from the constant drip, they were having difficulty getting any response from the dosage and increased from 2u to 3u to 4u each shot. The day he came home he had received 4u. That seemed to work well to bring him down from the 600+ the vet said he was at AMPS to around 200 at +6. However, I was afraid to give him 4u at home when his preshot number was much lower than the 600 they saw at the vet. So I started him back on his 2u, but received literally no response (see spreadsheet). I've been increasing his dosage steadily ever since, but am a little afraid as this is a higher dosage than he has ever needed before -even when his PS numbers were higher.
My question is if this could be a result of his pancreatitis and if I'm doing the right thing increasing his dosage or if I should try and keep him at a steady value for a little while. I'm nervous about repeating his DKA diagnosis so I think I may be responding a little more aggressively than normal. An additional wrench in any plans is that I will be away for a week starting 5/24 and he'll be at a friend's house. I worry that if the dosage is unusually high because of his pancreatitis recovery, there may be a hypo situation in his future.
Thank you all in advance. This forum has been very informative as I navigate the joys (