Need dosing advice for Zoe

Status
Not open for further replies.

zoe

New Member
Hi all,
I'm having problems getting tight regulation with Zoe. I'm not sure what to do...Her numbers were high at 2.0units so I tried increasing the dose to 2.5units and that proved to be too high. I brought her down to 2.25 but even at this dose her BG bounces around so much that I don't fee comfortable leaving the house in case she goes too low. I do feel that 2.25units is the correct dose for tight regulation but there are those odd times she goes too low. How can I avoid these odd lows? I'm feeding her half to 3/4 can of FF pate at each meal/shot with some extra during the day if she's still hungry. Please take a look at my SS.
 
Sorry I accidently logged into my other account which I should delete. You should be able to see it now. Thanks
 
so are you using lantus now? If so, you might want to note it on your ss.... where the switch is..... you can make a row across so we all see it
if you would please.
I see a mention of cannisulin one cycle and lantus the next.

If you are on lantus , then your dose is too high.
Dosing is determined by how low Zoe goes during a cycle. The reason you are seeing blacks is that Zoe is bouncing .
The body dumps hormones in response to those lows and bg goes way up.
Any time bg is lower than 50, Zoe earns a dose reduction.

If you were using lantus on 8/31, that 2.1 earned a reduction and you should be down to 2.0 u.

It's hard to learn to not react to those black numbers....
but you need to to keep Zoe safe.
Bounces are normal and part of this sugar dance.
It can take 6 cycles , sometimes more, to see what a dose is doing ( unless a reduction is earned)
 
any other tests today.... no where to go but down..... but the data of how much dropping is always helpful.

lots of drama on 8/23 pm.... gone from black to blue in 6 hours.

be sure to shoot no more than 2.0 u tonite.

watching for that pre shot test this evening.....
 
Are you following the Tight Regulation Protocol or Start Low Go Slow?

Regardless of your decision regarding which method, the 36 on 8/31 warranted a dose reduction. Further, you probably should have gotten an additional test after the 115 at +3 last night. I'm guessing that Zoe's numbers dropped considerably lower and that's why you're seeing a bounce at AMPS today. The bouncing is a normal reaction but you need to pay attention to when dose reductions are indicated.

Most of us do not give the majority of our kitty's food all at one time. For example, I split Gabby's food across 3 or 4 equally sized meals in one cycle. Spreading Zoe's food out more may help to even out her numbers.

There is no "right dose" for tight regulation. Holding a dose that is either too high or too low each presents it's own set of problems. You need to follow what your cat's numbers tell you and adjust the dose accordingly. That may mean thee are times when the dose is small and there are other times when you need to keep increasing in order to keep the numbers in a normal range. This is a dance where Zoe is leading -- not you.

 
Hi everyone,
I updated my sheet with today's number and I only gave Zoe 2.0 units for her PM shot.

So from now on, I'll try feeding her smaller meals throughout the day but how do I do this at night without an automated feeder? I'm also on mat leave right now, how would I feed smaller meals throughout the day when I'm back at work? I have 2 other kitties that would gobble up all the food even if I had an automated feeder.

Right now I feed her half a can of Friskies before her PM shot and another 1/4 can before I got to bed at around 10-10:30pm. Am I feeding her too much? She's hungry all the time and I don't want to starve her :(

I'll see what her numbers do tonight with 2units and report back tomorrow.

Thanks for all the help!
 
Right now I feed her half a can of Friskies before her PM shot and another 1/4 can before I got to bed at around 10-10:30pm. Am I feeding her too much? She's hungry all the time and I don't want to starve her :(
Try weighing her once a week and see how her weight is changing. Adjust the amounts as needed. When kitties are in very high numbers, they aren't getting the nutrition they need into their cells. That will change as she gets better regulated. Your first post said that she'd lost a lot of weight, so I presume you want her do increase a bit.

If you have multiple cats, would it be possible to keep Zoe in her own room with the feeder for a day? Or get multiple feeders. Some people will leave small dishes of food around the house for cats to graze on - but mine is a hoover so I have to use an auto-feeder. As for feeding at night, I presume you are up for a bit after her last shot of the day. I'm not sure how 10:30 relates to shot time, but maybe manually feed her half way between shot time and bed time, then again at bed time.
 
Not to add to your plate but have you ever tested Zoe for ketones? You can buy urine testing sticks at pharmacy called ketostix or I use a Precision Xtra blood ketone monitor and get the strips off eBay (around $30 for 10 strips). When BG's are this high and weight loss is involved ketones might be an issue. Is Zoe eating/drinking fine?

http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Ketones
http://www.amazon.com/Precision-Glu...id=1441243030&sr=8-1&keywords=precision+blood
http://www.ebay.com/itm/10-Strips-A...EXP-06-2016-/301591336490?hash=item46383e962a
 
Hi everyone,
I reduced her PM dose to 2 units last night but I didn't do any testing during the night now her AMPS is 163.8 (9.1). She's never had a pre-shot this low. What dose do I give her this morning???
 
Not to add to your plate but have you ever tested Zoe for ketones? You can buy urine testing sticks at pharmacy called ketostix or I use a Precision Xtra blood ketone monitor and get the strips off eBay (around $30 for 10 strips). When BG's are this high and weight loss is involved ketones might be an issue. Is Zoe eating/drinking fine?

http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Ketones
http://www.amazon.com/Precision-Glucose-Ketone-Monitoring-System/dp/B008UZVLM8/ref=sr_1_1?rps=1&ie=UTF8&qid=1441243030&sr=8-1&keywords=precision blood
http://www.ebay.com/itm/10-Strips-A...EXP-06-2016-/301591336490?hash=item46383e962a
I have wondered that many times if she had ketones but I haven't gotten around to buying the test strips. Also I'm not sure how easy it would be to catch her in the litter. She is drinking and eating fine now. When she was first diagnosed she was drinking a ton of water but things have improved now. What would a ketone positive test change for her treatment course?
 
Yes.
Anytime you shoot a lower number, you should get a +2. If there is a significant drop from the pre-shot , it might indicate an active
cycle where you will want to monitor more frequently.
the +2 test is always a good one to get....

Which protocol are you following? go slow or tight regulation....
 
I see that 2.3 today. If I'm right that's a 41.
Most likely this is the depot working still..... which shows he was definitely getting too much insulin before.


would you edit your first message on this thread... in the subject line.... dosing advice ...add a question mark....

I don't think you should go down again tonight unless he keeps going down But let's get other opinions.
Watching for your pm test at shot time......

I hope you fed that low number.
 
I ended up giving her a skinny 2units. Hopefully that was appropriate for her AMPS BG.
We don't dose Lantus based on the preshot number, but rather how low the dose can take the kitty. I still think she's on too high a dose, especially since you skinned this mornings dose. I might try a 1.75U dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top