Need Dosing Advice for PM Shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimmied

Member Since 2014
Sorry, it's not a 911 now but in 3 1/2 hours I have to give Hank his PM shot with DH out of town till Sunday night. So I'm on my own.
I already posted on Prozinc support group and decided to post here too because of more eyes to help me.

This morning at +3 1/2, Hank had a BG number of 48. If DH were in town and I were off work I wouldn't have panicked!

I checked his BG at a little after 9am and it was 71. I checked again before going out the door to work (45 min. later) and Hank was down to 48! S***!! Nobody at home (kids are grown), DH on his way to St. Louis, and I have to be to work in 15 min. (luckily I live 2 min. from my work)!!

I called work to tell them I would be late, then gave Hank 8 or more "kitty candy", gave wet food with gravy to him, put corn syrup on food, rubbed corn syrup on gums and then waited....

First time I checked it was 49! Arghhhhhh!!! I waited another 15 min. and checked and he was up to 58 so got ready to head out the door to work. I know, I probably shouldn't have left but he ate a lot and he was on the rise.

I worked a 4 hour shift today so went straight home and tested Hank...226. Not that high for all I gave him. Oh, that was at +8 too.

This morning I did give Hank his usual snack of wet food at about +2 1/2AM. He ate it all too. It was a Friskies Poultry Platter, 9% carbs. I've been giving Hank the lower than low carb wet food but decided to give him a higher one for his snack. Guess it didn't make a difference.

His AMPS number this morning was 221. I gave him 1.5u, same as last nights dose.

So my questions are: Should I have lowered it this morning to 1.25u or 1u.?

What about PM shot tonight? What dose should I give?

Can someone help me by being available for me to post at around 6:15pm (EST zone) his BG number? If that's not possible, can you advise if number is real high or not so high what to give?

Thank you. This was scary! Didn't like it. Like I said, I wouldn't have been so upset had I had DH home or I could've been home.

Kimmie
 
Hi

I can't give any advice about dosing as I'm a newbie and I know nothing of prozinc but just wanted to say that if no one has advised you in abit you may want to post a link to this thread in tight regulation as there tends to be more people posting there.

Best wishes

Sarah
 
Thanks Sarah,

But Hank is on ProZinc and I did post one first on that support group.

Kimmie
 
Am sure that someone will be along soon to help out. I just thought that maybe some of the more lantus users might also know about prozinc or maybe some of the principles about reductions were similar. I really don't know though :-D
 
Based on your SS, 1 1/2 units is too much since you are getting in the 70's beforetoday.
I would decrease to 1 1/4 or 1 .2 if yo are using U100 syringes
 
Hey, Kimmie. Looks like the wet food is really working for Hank! I would guess he will be pretty high by pmps - not only the extra goodies he got today but maybe a bounce.

I think reducing to 1.25 is a good idea. He dropped pretty good on 1.5 on a 296 last night, so even if he is in the 300s, 1.5 might be too much. What does your gut say? Can you do a before bed test to see how things look?
 
Wow! That wet food is making a difference! I agree with Sue...reducing sounds like a good idea. The last few days have given you some low numbers. I'd be interested to see what 1.25 would bring!
 
Yes, I can test before bed tonight.

Since DH is away, thought I'd have a wine and movie night so may be up late or later. :lol: drinking24

My gut is telling me 1.25u.

I'll post his PMPS tonight around 6-6:15pm here.

Thank you all.

Yeah, a couple 4 days ago, I was getting a lot of red and black and was wondering about the wet food. But since started feeding 4-5% carb only food...I'm in the GREENS!!!! WooHoo!!

Yes, Sue I'm excited! dancing_cat

Kimmie
 
Ok PMPS Number is...229! Not too high.

What do I do?

I don't want to pull an all nighter either!

Kimmie
 
This is good - no bounce - but kind of unexpected. Since he has been flat for the last third of the cycle, I think I'd be cautious. Maybe one unit and still plan to test. It may not be enough, but you can always give more the next time this happens. I think better try lower so you can sleep and you don't have a problem in the middle of the night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top