Need Dosing Advice for PM Shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimmied

Active Member
Sorry, it's not a 911 now but in 3 1/2 hours I have to give Hank his PM shot with DH out of town till Sunday night. So I'm on my own.

This morning at +3 1/2, Hank had a BG number of 48. If DH were in town and I were off work I wouldn't have panicked!

I checked his BG at a little after 9am and it was 71. I checked again before going out the door to work (45 min. later) and Hank was down to 48! S***!! Nobody at home (kids are grown), DH on his way to St. Louis, and I have to be to work in 15 min. (luckily I live 2 min. from my work)!!

I called work to tell them I would be late, then gave Hank 8 or more "kitty candy", gave wet food with gravy to him, put corn syrup on food, rubbed corn syrup on gums and then waited....

First time I checked it was 49! Arghhhhhh!!! I waited another 15 min. and checked and he was up to 58 so got ready to head out the door to work. I know, I probably shouldn't have left but he ate a lot and he was on the rise.

I worked a 4 hour shift today so went straight home and tested Hank...226. Not that high for all I gave him. Oh, that was at +8 too.

This morning I did give Hank his usual snack of wet food at about +2 1/2AM. He ate it all too. It was a Friskies Poultry Platter, 9% carbs. I've been giving Hank the lower than low carb wet food but decided to give him a higher one for his snack. Guess it didn't make a difference.

His AMPS number this morning was 221. I gave him 1.5u, same as last nights dose.

So my questions are: Should I have lowered it this morning to 1.25u or 1u.?

What about PM shot tonight? What dose should I give?

Can someone help me by being available for me to post at around 6:15pm (EST zone) his BG number? If that's not possible, can you advise if number is real high or not so high what to give?

Thank you. This was scary! Didn't like it. Like I said, I wouldn't have been so upset had I had DH home or I could've been home.

Kimmie
 
Ok PMPS Number is...229! Not too high.

What do I do?

I don't want to pull an all nighter either!

Kimmie
 
Hi Kimmie,I just looked at your SS and I would only give him the 1.00 unit...if it was me.My Whitey went down to 43 on the 12th when I had given him 1.25. He was around 200 at AMPS that day.Just sayin..go easy,better safe than sorry,and like Sue said,you won't have to be worried about it during the night.
 
Well, you now know that 1.5 units on a pre-shot near 200 is too much! Eeps!

The blue you got at +3 on 1 unit looks quite encouraging.
 
Yep, just got a 91 on a +5PM!

Another GREEN! :-D

I feel like all Hank's done is eat today!

Kimmie
 
You're doing well coping with it, congrats!

Maybe he's just tired of shots? :lol: Some kitties come off the juice quickly once they are eating right. Keeping fingers crossed for you.

My Lucian has been doing just the opposite, running higher than he has in several months, calling the vet tomorrow. He was due for his yearly tests this month, but I'm broke and was trying to wait until I could afford it, in the next month or 2, but looks like that won't happen.

Hope you had a great Thanksgiving! :YMHUG:
 
Thanks Deb. :-D

I'm so excited...Hank had his first no shot this morning! dancing_cat

Rachel said that she fed her sugar kitty the Friskies Special diet wet food because her sugar kitty was carb sensitive. So I decided to feed only wet food that was a 3-5% carb according to the food chart.

I'm mainly feeding Hank the 9 Lives wet food from the food chart. I really believe that's what is working for Hank.

I pray that Lucian is ok at vet check up.

Don't give up!

Kimmie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top