Need dosing advice ASAP

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Djamila @Kris & Teasel @Rachel @FurBabiesMama

(Reposting b/c it's blue????)

We are stalling with a PMPS of 124. (But yay for blue PMPS!)

She had a 38 +5 on Sunday -- out of the blue -- when she was given her regular 2 units. I don't have good data since then b/c we had to board her for four cycles, where she was given 1.5.

We've been giving 1.5 since. She's been in the blues. Her spread sheet is updated. (July 23 AM looked a lot like this cycle.)

Looks like something got shaken loose on Sunday and I DON'T want to stop this momentum. I have a tendency to get nervous and under-dose when her PS is lower than I expect.

Thoughts? I will post her PS number when her stall is up (in about 10 minutes)

EDIT: after 20 min stall, 113. Stalling again

Edit #2: 114 after another 20 minutes. Gave her 1u based on 7/23 cycle when she was also in the midst of 1.5 dosage.
 
Last edited:
Sorry no ones been around to answer you! I think you made the right call giving 1u. It doesn’t look like she went too low mid cycle, it looks like she just had a long cycle! Try to get a before bed tonight to see where she’s headed. Hopefully no steering will be required!
 
Thank you, SpotsMom! I will definitely get a before bed and report back. (Actually, I'm going to get a +2 in about an hour, just to see where that brings her as an indicator of where she might go.) Keeping my fingers crossed!
 
Oh gosh, Jenna! I'm so sorry! I have been so exhausted lately and I just completely fell asleep on the sofa! Yes, you did the right thing. Giving 1u on that was as good a guess as any of us could have made. What a fun surprise as a PMPS! Fingers crossed she holds nice and steady for you and you can both get some sleep!
 
No worries, Djamila! You’re certainly allowed to sleep, and it seems like you really needed it. :)

Of course, if she crashes again, I’m going to make you stay up with us! ;):D

I actually think she may have been having a long cycle, like SpotsMom says, plus she was hungry. We’re trying to ease her back to her regular meal/shot times. We are late now bc of the boarding, where she was dosed later than we typically dose her. (And now really late bc of the stalls. :banghead: )

P.S. I hope you have water again!
 
Of course, if she crashes again, I’m going to make you stay up with us! ;):D

Hahaha....good luck with that! This girl needs some serious sleep tonight. I am hoping to at least stay awake until your +2 though. No guarantees ;)

How late did her PM dose end up being? How many hours after her AM dose?
 
Crap. Her +2 is 99. :nailbiting:

Should I give her some more LC food now, preemptively? We only have LC and HC, nothing medium. We also have Temptations treats.

(Her shot was about 45 minutes later than it should have been. I had been trying to give 15 minutes early.)
 
Last edited:
Give her some low carb food. I’d leave some extra out for her overnight if she’ll eat it. That’s only a 24pt drop so not worrisome yet. How much longer will you be up? Long enough to get a +4?
 
Give her some low carb food. I’d leave some extra out for her overnight if she’ll eat it. That’s only a 24pt drop so not worrisome yet. How much longer will you be up? Long enough to get a +4?

I will stay up with her as long as I need to. Giving her 1/2 a can (so, giving 1.5 oz) of LC now.
 
I agree with @SpotsMom. Josie is okay right now. She's holding steady at +2. I'd say to get some sleep and set an alarm to grab another test in a couple of hours. Forgive me for not remembering, but can you leave food out for her? or will she scarf and barf? If you can leave her food, she'll likely steer herself if she needs anything between now and +4.
 
She only occasionally does the scarf and barf (when she thinks she’s starving), and I don’t think she would tonight bc she’s eaten quite a bit in the last 2.5 hours. (4.5 oz with the 1.5 I just fed her. She ate about 2/3 of that snack and then decided to eat the rest bc I brought her back to the bowl and sat with her ... and, of course, kept away the civvie bc he wanted a snack too!)

+3 is only 29 minutes from now. I might as well wait up for it now and see where she is.
 
70 at +3. Looks like her dose is kicking in. Gave her the rest of her LC (another 1.5 oz) and will recheck in an hour.

Please feel free to tell me if I should be doing something else/something different!!
 
53 at +4. :( I'm breaking out the gravy since she still has 2 hours until nadir. Gave her a teaspoonful.
 
Last edited:
Well I missed the PJ party! So sorry I wasn't here when you tagged Jenna...I know I usually am around early evening, but last night I went to bed early. I haven't been sleeping well lately and I just couldn't stay up last night. It looks like things were stressful but really nice overall!
 
Good job limiting her to just a tiny bit of gravy. Hopefully her AMPS will be reasonable.

For her dose this morning, are you home today, or working?
 
Hi there!

I just took her BG = 237. This is really +11 bc of the stalls.

I can’t sit with her today. If I shot now, I could check on her at what would be +4/ +4.5 but would have to leave again right at what would be +6.

I’m thinking that she would have been lime green were it not for intervention, so that’s another dose reduction, yes? Do you think 1.25? (She’s been at 1.5 since Monday am, a reduction down from 2.)
 
Last edited:
It's tough. Part of me wants to say to just do a small reduction - like 1.33-ish. However, since you aren't home today, I think 1.25 is probably best. Besides, she hasn't been on insulin all that long, so it's probably okay to be a little more cautious still. As for the +11, you have enough data to know that she's high enough and has been rising for several hours, so it's okay to shoot a little early and get yourselves back on schedule.
 
Yes, the main bad thing about the PJ Party is that I didn’t actually get to wear my PJs!:D..didn’t want to have to take the time to get dressed if we had to rush her to the ER vet (20 mins away).

Came home to check her, and she’s all flat today, numbers-wise, in the mid yellows. I think we now go back to our regularly scheduled 1.5 (assuming she doesn’t suddenly dip back into the blues for PMPS, which would just be weird of her).

Is that right? Or does the two-cycle trajectory from yesterday earn her a continued dose reduction to 1.25?
 
It's hard to say since last night was a little out of the ordinary for her, but I think I'd stick with 1.25u for a couple more cycles. Maybe a fat 1.25u. It's normal after an unusual low to stay high and flat for a few cycles. If she doesn't start showing better cycles tomorrow, then go back up, but I think i'd give this a chance to see if she can clear this and respond do the lower dose.
 
Got it! Gave her 1.25 and will hope for better cycles (but not dramatic ones! I'm too tired for that right now lol ).

Thanks, Djamila!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top