? Need dosing Advice (again)

I will include the earlier post (below)for context but the whole thread is under new question in thread.. i used to do insulin injections for my friend's cat when they went away. He prefilled the needles and said that was ok. why didn't i do my research.? Thank you Mary and Jude and Corky! I'm really concerned that all my issues are tied to the fact that i pre-filled an entire week. and the one night he went low was because 1 of the 2 units was fresh. So, food is settled, he is on Glycobalance kibble for now (don't hate me). He was on 1 unit of Lantus 2 x a day, and then raised to 2. Should i go back to 1 now that i know for the last week i have probably been giving him unstable insulin?? I am sitting here sobbing because I knew deep down i shouldn't have prefilled (for that far in advance) and now I'm starting over. Iwill say when he went in for a check up 2 weeks after starting on 1 unit (+6 hrs) he was 318 on the acutrak 3. I just started the Libre friday for his curve and i just updated the spreadsheet

thread from last night
With a human Libre, he was over 400 since last night. And has spent the most of his month high also. Started the libre Friday morning. Vet raised him from 1unit of Lantus twice a day to 2 units of Lantus twice a day (he never got below 274 and only stayed there a minute and would go up. She told me to keep an eye on him (and so did all of you) and if he went low i could lower the dose to 1.5, but i should have asked what "low" is. He just went under 100 (on the human scale) just after snack time and i did slightly panic at the alarm and gave him some carby treats (i know, not smart but i panicked and in 20 minutes he's up to 140).
Update this morning: gave 2 units and numbers barely moved.... see above for the insulin issue
 
When following SGLS for dosing, you reduce if they go below 90, which sounds like he did not. And now he's bouncing. Here is the definition:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Perfectly normal but annoying to us. You just have to wait out these high numbers. When following SLGS for dosing, you stay with the same dose for 7 days, unless he goes below 90. In which case you'd reduce the dose by 0.25 units.
 
When following SGLS for dosing, you reduce if they go below 90, which sounds like he did not. And now he's bouncing. Here is the definition:

Perfectly normal but annoying to us. You just have to wait out these high numbers. When following SLGS for dosing, you stay with the same dose for 7 days, unless he goes below 90. In which case you'd reduce the dose by 0.25 units

. So many moving parts. He is not coming down, I am all over the place, sleep-deprived, amd sick myself. I am going to take advantage tonight of the high numbers and go to bed or I will be in the hospital and the cats will be alone
 
As Wendy said, he's very likely still bouncing from those blues he saw. It can take up to 6 cycles for a bounce to clear. It's just part of Tito getting used to the insulin. Hang in there!

And I hope you begin feeling better soon!
Getting very frustrated. He really isn't coming down. I can't update the sheet but he is still over 400, he got his 2 units amd came down to at least measurable 2 to 3 hours of 380ish then back to his 400 max. Will call the vet tomorrow if nothing changes tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
When following SGLS for dosing, you reduce if they go below 90, which sounds like he did not. And now he's bouncing. Here is the definition:

Perfectly normal but annoying to us. You just have to wait out these high numbers. When following SLGS for dosing, you stay with the same dose for 7 days, unless he goes below 90. In which case you'd reduce the dose by 0.2
 
Tonight or tomorrow morning would be the end of the six cycles of bouncing. To contribute to the higher numbers, you did a reduced dose a couple nights ago, which depleted the Lantus depot. That too takes time to rebuild.
 
Back
Top