need dosing advice after big bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Very Active Member
I need some guidance as to the insulin dose to give Murphy tonight - after dropping from 424 to 98 @ =+4 last night with 3 units (although only ate about half his food) - he bounced to 587 for amps this morning I should have tested him more today, but he's been in the pinks - I was shocked that his pmps was only 350 (and it was a good sized drop of blood) - he's eaten most of his food for tonight - not all but this is his usual pattern - he should go back and finish - so I am not up to giving him 3 units tonight - I'm actually thinking of a skinny 2.5 (even though I am using u40 and will need to eyeball. I have no handle on his numbers
 
I think a skinny 2.5 would be fine. Since you're using u40s, you MIGHT find it easier to do a fat 2...should be close to what a skinny 2.5 is and maybe easier to eyeball? Just a thought...it's been a minute but I do remember even doing half units was tough for me on those needles. So maybe thinking of it like fat 2 would help since that should give you something to focus on to make it easier?
 
Congratulations to Murphy for a nice cycle last night! William has started doing big plunges as of late. I have tried to hold his dose or adjust in .25 increments because It seems like it gives him a chance to settle in, but it's hard to get used to lower numbers after dealing with high ones for so long. I have to remind myself that I need to monitor him to see where he's going before I kill the lows with food. Its a bouncy ride.
 
Congratulations to Murphy for a nice cycle last night! William has started doing big plunges as of late. I have tried to hold his dose or adjust in .25 increments because It seems like it gives him a chance to settle in, but it's hard to get used to lower numbers after dealing with high ones for so long. I have to remind myself that I need to monitor him to see where he's going before I kill the lows with food. Its a bouncy ride.
Hi Vanessa - at 12:30 last night, seeing Murph's numbers nose dive, I wasn't thinking he was having a good cycle - I was desperately wanting him to come back up -- I know exactly what you mean - I am not ready for any greens (especially at night)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top