Need dosage HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenae

Member Since 2013
Managed to get in 3 BG's today. A record for us. Started Bubbles this am on halfcan FF Medley and halfcan FF Classic as I transition her to Classic alone. Got PMPS of 160, so I only gave 0.5u of insulin, instead of 2u. Is that OK? :?
 
I am not experienced at. Pzi but to be safe I would test at +2 to see where he is going.. And then if dropping, maybe set Alarm for a later test too,

Wendy
 
Thanks, Wendy! I am happy to see decent numbers, I think the change from dry food to FF has made a difference. But I understand the ReliOn Prime can run high? Still, I was afraid to give 2u. So I will test again at 1a. Should I keep her food half Medley and halfClassic for a couple of days more before I go over to completely Classic?
 
Did you get any more tests? Reducing the dose is a good idea if you are changing foods.. but you also need to get some mid cycle tests in as you need to know how low the blood sugar is going.
 
I am hoping you can look at Bubbles SS and tell me if what I am doing is OK? I don't really want to change her dosage, but I don't want her hypo. I just got a +7 of 141. Testing is still difficult, but I am having her eat a very little food while I grab the blood drop on my fingernail. Don't want to push my luck with the testing, even though I know how important it is. (2 days ago she was biting me).
Thank you!
 
I am not a PZI user but todays numbers look good so far - she is well away from hypo since normal cat levels are 50-130 . I would give it a day or two of this same dose to see how it does.

Do whatever you need to , to get blood from her. If it means she gets munchies than thats good too! Maybe even special munchies like grilled chicken only for this purpose? I usually recommend only 3-4 tests a day anyway - you dont need to go test crazy.

- always before the shot - this is mandatory as you don't want to shoot when too low. This number is reduced over time once you have the data to know if its safe. Yours is currently 150.
- mid cycle - 5-8 hours after morning shot depending on your schedule and insulin. This is to see how low she is going. The low point "nadir" is what you base dose changes on since you don't want her dropping too low (under 50).
- before bed (2-3hours after pm shot) to get an idea of what her overnight plans are. If this number is less than the pre shot test number you may want to set the alarm for a test a few hours later as this implies an active cycle.

Wendy
 
Thank you, Wendy! Her PMPS was 214, so I went back to 2u, because she is still drinking and urinating a lot. I will stay with the half Classic, half Medley for a few more days and see how her numbers go. Want to see some green!
 
Hi Wendy. Thanks, again. Bubbles is on PZI, and it's peak should be at 6-8 hours. I have a couple of numbers at around then, and we're still in the blue. I hope the 2u wasn't too much...ugh. Keeping an eye on her.
 
I am going to ask my vet about Lantus, he wants to do her first recheck later this week. She is on PZI since diagnosis, 9-4-13. THANK YOU so much for helping us!!! :-D
 
Bubbles is still drinking and peeing more than before this fun began. I went back to 2u PZI, still with halfcan FF Medley and halfcan Classic. Is there some trick with the ReliOn Prime? I am getting many Errors. And I have plenty of blood. Should I be sticking the strip in halfway before I get the blood? I am Not letting it "turn on," before I get the blood, so it is not "timimg out." And Bubbles is getting ticked at the multiple sticks. The meter and strips are cheap, but I am wasting so many. ugh. I know I need to have patience...just have to try hard to not get bitten. ;-)
 
Let's have you try sticking the test strip all the way in, then poking, and barely touch the tip of the test strip to the blood drop. See if that makes any difference. I personally found it easier to tilt the test strip at a bit of an angle so I could home in better on that blood drop.

I'm thinking, the test strip might not have had time to register before you go to sip up the blood drop.

Which specific meter error are you getting? There are many.
 
I tried sticking the strip all the way in first, and I didn't get "Error." Whew!
Because I am wrestling with Bubbles, I was getting the blood on my fingernail, first, then trying to push in the strip, and by the time I got to the drop, I'm not sure if I was smearing it, or what, I just kept getting errors, and I didn't bother to look up what for, just kept at it til I got a result. Poor Bubbles, I am very stubborn ;-) . I am going to try and hold her more firmly and get the drop from her ear, with the strip already pushed in...we'll see how that works. Thank goodness it worked tonight.
 
Yeah on no meter error! So glad that suggestion worked to put the strip in first. It does take a few seconds for the meter to register the test strip and show the flashing blood drop icon that indicates its's ready to accept the blood drop. Maybe that was the issue.

Wrastling matches huh? Well, here's hoping that with time, Bubbles will come to accept the testing better and she'll be calmer.

Remember, bribe and reward her with treats with the testing.
 
Yes, thank you! I got numbers on the first try both times today! Started her on Classic this morning. +8 was 129, let's see what PMPS is going to be...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top