? Need data on human vs. AlphaTrak meters

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ben&Squirrel

Member Since 2022
My vet is intractable about using AlphaTrak meters. I cannot afford to. Food, insulin, and vet care are already expensive. Alpha Trak would cost me something like $60-75 a month. I don't want to lose this vet as it took me a while to find one with any knowledge about feline diabetes.

I am meeting with her this morning to discuss Benny.

Does anyone have data about the two types of meters so I can bring this to her this morning?
 
A few people have kept track with both meters (same blood drop). The only one I can recall is Debra and Yoyo, but Debra hasn’t been here for almost two years. If you can search for her SS, there were some real time BG comparisons - look at 2019.
Best of luck with your vet!

You can also see when I changed meters in Oct or Nov 2019 from AT to Freestyle Lite.

Hope that helps somehow - nobody can give you direct BG comparisons between meters.
 
Last edited:
I would tell her exactly what you just said, you simply cannot afford it and if the alternative is no home testing at all, well that's not even a solution.

I know you are still going back and forth about dosing method, but TR was published in a scientific journal and it was based on human meters - https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/19592286/
 
You can also see when I changed meters in Oct or Nov 2019 from AT to Freestyle Lite.

Hope that helps somehow - nobody can give you direct BG comparisons between meters.

It does help, thank you!

I would tell her exactly what you just said, you simply cannot afford it and if the alternative is no home testing at all, well that's not even a solution.

I know you are still going back and forth about dosing method, but TR was published in a scientific journal and it was based on human meters - https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/19592286/

Melissa, that's just what I told her. I also mentioned that I had done a head to head comparison and that they were basically the same, with the human meter showing a lower, more conservative number at times. She said, "oh, okay, let's use the human meter then."

Thanks also for the link to the TR study; I'll save that. I gave her the written materials for each method and she will read and advise. She already advises me to use a version of SLGS anyway. She is actually fairly flexible; she just wants to talk things over and make changes slowly. The spreadsheet is invaluable; she wants to see it every time we talk.

Thanks for the responses, Jan and Melissa!
 
When the AlphaTrak first came out in 2006 one of the members here, Hope, did a comparison with several meters, including the AT. Her conclusion was that the AT was no better than a human meter and not worth the price. You can read about it here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/glucometer.htm
You can also use the search function to find other meter comparison discussions. Here's one: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/accuracy-of-human-meters-on-cats.36558/#post-384346

I've been at this since 2004 when there were no special pet glucometers. All of us here - and most vets - used the human ones. When a glucometer manufacturer became aware of this, they capitalized on it by 'creating' one specifically for animals, which actually was an AlphaTrak label stuck on a Freestyle meter. Seriously, the original label was underneath. Then they convinced vets that measuring glucose in blood was somehow different for animals, a clever marketing strategy.

I had the opportunity to compare my human meter (Contour) with my vet's AT a couple of years ago and there was a negligible 15 pt. difference.

1f1fa-1f1e6.png
1f33b.png
 
When the AlphaTrak first came out in 2006 one of the members here, Hope, did a comparison with several meters, including the AT. Her conclusion was that the AT was no better than a human meter and not worth the price. You can read about it here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/glucometer.htm

I've been at this since 2004 when there were no special pet glucometers. All of us here - and most vets - used the human ones. When a glucometer manufacturer became aware of this, they capitalized on it by 'creating' one specifically for animals, which actually was an AlphaTrak label stuck on a Freestyle meter. Seriously, the original label was underneath. Then they convinced vets that measuring glucose in blood was somehow different for animals, a clever marketing strategy.

It's so frustrating, because they know how much money can be made in the pet industry. Most people spend a lot on their pets and would spend everything they could to manage a pet's illness. A dollar a strip is just exploitation, in my view.

Thank you for the link to the glucometer article. I sent that to her as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top